Future, Googie Brothers Point – Macquarie Island, Antarctic

Share Button

Hut, Hut, Googie de Brothers Point


(Google Map)
The location




 


 

The initial impetus behind the creation of Futuro was the desire to create a lightweight ski cabin, portable and easy to heat that could be located in an opponent. It is clear that these criteria have Futuro at least one candidate for hosting some of the many expeditions and scientific bases that dot Antarctica and which probably has the coolest climate and most inhospitable of the planet.


Le «Googie» Hut, or simply "Googie" as it is often called was a modified Futuro made in Australia specifically for use in the Antarctic region. The most obvious difference was the reduced number of windows, but it retained most of Futuro design features, including sitting on a steel cradle. Bubble fiberglass, usually orange, which is mounted on a steel chassis..



Department of Environment and Energy Australian Antarctic Division



Station Macquarie Island


Macquarie Island is a sub-Antarctic island a World Heritage Site located in the Southern Ocean, halfway between Australia and Antarctica. “Macca” fact 34 km long and 5 km wide at its widest point. When the weather is nice, it takes about three days to reach the island from Hobart Macquarie. The initial impetus behind the creation of Futuro was the desire to create a lightweight ski cabin, portable and easy to heat that could be located in an opponent. It is clear that these criteria have Futuro at least one candidate for hosting some of the many expeditions and scientific bases that dot Antarctica and which probably has the coolest climate and most inhospitable of the planet.


HEARD AND MCDONALD ISLANDS, AUSTRALIA
From the Serie “UNESCO Sites famous in Australia”


The territory of the & rsquo; Heard Island and McDonald Islands is an Australian territory composed & rsquo; a volcanic group’ arid islands of Antarctica, about two thirds of the way between Madagascar and’ Antarctic. The overall size of the group is 372 square kilometers (144 square miles) and 101,9 km (63 my) next to. Discovered in the mid nineteenth century, the islands are an Australian territory since 1947 and contain the only two active volcanoes in the country . The top of the & rsquo; a, Mawson Peak, is higher than n & rsquo; any mountain on the Australian mainland. The islands lie on the Kerguelen Plateau in the & rsquo; Indian Ocean.

The islands are among the most remote places on Earth : They are located about 4 099 km south-west of Perth , at 4 845 km southwest of Cape Leeuwin , in Australia, at 4 200 km south-east South Africa, at 3 830 km southeast of Madagascar , at 1 630 km north of the & rsquo; Antarctic and 450 km southeast of Kerguelen. The islands are currently uninhabited. These islands are of volcanic origin that determines their rock structure. The archipelago has a harsh climate. For a significant part of the year, the island is covered with snow. The main representatives of the flora in its territory are lichens and mosses.

Heard and McDonald Islands, Australia Senior representatives of the fauna of the island are the penguins, pinnipeds and seabirds. Despite the meager flora and fauna, l & rsquo; Heard Island and & rsquo; McDonald Island represents a unique protected area. The general area of ​​the marine reserve occupies 65 000 km2. Several research camps and bases hosting scientists around the world are built on islands.

L & rsquo; archipelago was discovered in 1833. British Captain Peter Kemp became the first European to set foot on the territory of uninhabited islands. Thereafter, the earth has been constantly visited during 20 years, mainly for fishing purposes. A valuable fur seals, meat of elephant seals, penguin eggs and many other valuable resources attracted hunting expeditions. In the mid 19th century, Fishing was banned, and researchers have become the main guests in this corner. Today, some island areas are available for tourists, who can visit the archipelago in organized tours. These places are ranked high for their unique landscape.


Camp de la baie de Spit, île Heard.
Although the concept of the hut "Googie" as advanced model, bigger and stronger of the hut "apple" is about eight years, the former have been constructed that time last summer. One was placed on the island Berchervaise off Mawson and four are now at Heard Island.


The integrated glass fiber shell with a door and four or five windows weighs about 600 kg and increases 750 kg when fitted to a long-term accommodation. The shell of maximum diameter of five meters (at the height of the bench) contains an effective space of volume three times that of the hut "apple" of 3 meters in diameter. The shape is aerodynamically efficient, assisting air movement and preventing any snow accumulation.


The total height of 3 meters permits 2. 4 meters maximum height inside the ground covering a storage area 2 cubic meters floor heating with heat exchangers around the wall. internally, the space is divided into six segments (one of which serves as input) which can be arranged as needed with 'modules' standard, including a sofa (which is a bed of 2 m 90cm), a work bench and possibly showers and toilets . In comparison, huts "apple" of 3 m in diameter and a height of 2,1 m are a bit small for occupancy throughout the year and built in sections for easy transport are not as strong as the integrated unit.

 



 




Hägglunds vehicle (Photo: John Burgess)





A new cabin Googie “ for Béchervaise Island

8 September 2015In the first part of this story, the wooden platform for the new Googie was built, and solid anchors to secure it were placed in the rock. It was the 10 August Mawson, a clear windless place, ideal conditions to tow the huts panels and the floor of the island resort Béchervaise and assemble together. With a team of four volunteer workers, everything went well, the main challenge being to place and tighten the many small bolts and nuts holding the panels together. This is a tedious task in the best case, with the pre-drilled holes in fiberglass not always aligned exactly.


Weather conditions were ideal for the month of August but with a temperature of -25 ° C, bolts and nuts were impossible to manipulate with gloves. This problem was solved by using a heat gun to blow hot air on the fingers of the person working with bare hands. At the end of the day, the cabin was in position and anchored temporarily with ratchet straps. During the following week, when time permitted, the Googie Béchervaise Island was finished: ceiling vents were positioned, board joints were sealed, stainless steel shrouds were fixed and furniture were installed. The cabin has been tested in several blizzards with winds up to 90 nodes and performed flawlessly. It will undoubtedly refuge for many years scientists studying Adélie penguins in the summer and shippers Mawson seeking a day or two away from the resort during winter.





Assemble panels, working of the door in the direction of clockwise. (Photo: John Burgess)

At lunch time, the time was still in place and the floor and half of the panels were in place. (Photo: John Burgess)

With the temperature about -25 ° C, the use of a heat gun makes it possible to apply and tighten the many bolts and nuts holding the panels together, bare fingers.(Photo: John Burgess)


Peter Lecompte, Charlie Howell et Peter Layt – a happy team at the end of a busy day. The ratchet straps securing the hut anchors were temporary and were later replaced by stainless steel guy wires. (Photo: John Burgess)


(Photo: John Burgess)


The laboratory googie hut Bechervaise Island, with the new hut behind Googie. (Photo: John Burgess)







CABIN & rsquo; IGLOO Satellite


Exhibition organized by the American Museum of Natural History, New York: MUSEUM , in collaboration with the Confluence Museum and the Royal BC Museum, Victoria, Canada.

Conception : American Museum of Natural History (New York, USA) in collaboration with the Confluence Museum and the Royal BC Museum (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada)





Igloo satellite booths at Law-Racoviță station, Antarctic


L & rsquo; shelter Bubble Googie on a sled (Photo Vicki Heinrich)


Bubble Googie and polar pyramid tent - Field Camp, île Macey, Mawson, Antarctic (South)



THE TRUE FUTURO de Matti Suuronen



Googie “Hut”





The old cabin Googie (fabricated 1983) Mawson was towed and dismantled in the main store. It will be returned to Australia. (Photo: John Burgess)


Bivouac of Rhineland-Palatinate on the Wassertalkogel, Geigenkamm, Öztaler alps, Tirol, Austria.

A bivouac is a prefabricated shelter for hikers or climbers 4 at 12 beds.




The golf ball, hosting the GOES satellites, and the Skynet.


The Rawin cabin and radome building at Davis station in 1962. The Rawin building was built in Heard Island 1953. He was moved to Mawson 1955 after the closure of the station ANARE on & rsquo; Heard Island and later transferred to Davis. The oldest building on aujourd & rsquo station; hui, its conservation status is undisputed. (Photo: J. springs (YOU))







The project manager Halley VI Karl Tuplin stands next to the completed unit.

© British Antarctic Survey


Korea will be a second base in Antarctica


The Asian country is the & rsquo; forward with the construction of the modules that form the Jang Bogo station. He will begin to assemble in Antarctica before the end of the & rsquo; year and begin operating 2014. The station, that s & rsquo; call Jang Bogo , will be located in Terra Nova Bay and promises & rsquo; be a modern construction, respectful of & rsquo; environment and capable of & rsquo; welcome 60 people . Jang Bogo will be built in front of the Italian base Mario Zuchelli in an area near McMurdo bases, United States, and Scott from New Zealand, about 1700 km. South Pole. Its construction will take place in phases between December 2012 and March 2014, with an investment of 107 millions of dollars. The basic structures are built in Korea and then moved to Antarctica to be assembled during the months & rsquo; summer. The scientific program of the new base will focus on climate change in the sector & rsquo; & rsquo in Antarctica, Pacific Ocean . With its open throughout the & rsquo; year, Korea plans to monitor glaciers long term, sediments, l & rsquo; atmosphere and ecosystems of the region.






Welcome To Antarctica

LUXURY HOTEL in Antarctic






There is a track of the & rsquo; airport in Antarctica that is made entirely of ice !




 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “Future, Googie Brothers Point – Macquarie Island, Antarctic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Futuro Hut, Googie – Antarctique, ÎLE Macquarie, Barth Australe

Share Button

Cabane, Hut, Googie de Brothers Point


(Google Map)
L’Emplacement
 



L’impulsion initiale derrière la création du Futuro était le désir de créer une cabine de ski légère, portable et facile à chauffer qui pourrait être située dans un terrain adverse. Il est clair que ces critères ont fait du Futuro au moins un candidat pour l’hébergement de certaines des nombreuses expéditions et bases scientifiques qui parsèment l’Antarctique et qui a probablement le climat le plus froid et le plus inhospitalier de la planète.


Le «Googie» Hut, ou tout simplement «Googie» comme on l’appelle souvent était un Futuro modifié fabriqué en Australie spécifiquement pour une utilisation dans la région antarctique. La différence la plus évidente était le nombre réduit de fenêtres, mais il a conservé la plupart des caractéristiques de conception du Futuro, y compris être assis sur un berceau en acier. Bulle en fibre de verre, généralement de couleur orange, qui est monté sur un châssis en acier..



Département de l’environnement et de l’énergie Division australienne de l’Antarctique



Station Macquarie Island


L’île Macquarie est une île subantarctique inscrite au patrimoine mondial située dans l’océan Austral, à mi-chemin entre l’Australie et l’Antarctique. « Macca » fait 34 km de long et 5 km de large à son point le plus large. Par beau temps, il faut environ trois jours pour atteindre l’île Macquarie depuis Hobart. L’impulsion initiale derrière la création du Futuro était le désir de créer une cabine de ski légère, portable et facile à chauffer qui pourrait être située dans un terrain adverse. Il est clair que ces critères ont fait du Futuro au moins un candidat pour l’hébergement de certaines des nombreuses expéditions et bases scientifiques qui parsèment l’Antarctique et qui a probablement le climat le plus froid et le plus inhospitalier de la planète.


ÎLES HEARD ET MCDONALD, AUSTRALIE
De la série « Sites UNESCO célèbres en Australie »


Le territoire de l’île Heard et des îles McDonald est un territoire australien composé d’un groupe volcanique d’ îles arides de l’Antarctique, à environ deux tiers du chemin entre Madagascar et l’ Antarctique. La taille globale du groupe est de 372 kilomètres carrés (144 milles carrés) et a 101,9 km (63 mi) de côte. Découverts au milieu du XIXe siècle, les îles sont un territoire australien depuis 1947 et contiennent les deux seuls volcans actifs du pays . Le sommet de l’un, Mawson Peak, est plus élevé que n’importe quelle montagne sur le continent australien. Les îles se trouvent sur le plateau de Kerguelen dans l’océan Indien.

Les îles sont parmi les endroits les plus reculés de la Terre : elles sont situées à environ 4 099 km au sud-ouest de Perth , à 4 845 km au sud-ouest du cap Leeuwin , en Australie, à 4 200 km au sud-est du sud Afrique, à 3 830 km au sud-est de Madagascar , à 1 630 km au nord de l’Antarctique et à 450 km au sud-est des îles Kerguelen. Les îles sont actuellement inhabitées. Ces îles sont d’origine volcanique qui détermine leur structure rocheuse. L’archipel présente un climat rigoureux. Pendant une partie importante de l’année, l’île est couverte de neige. Les principaux représentants de la flore sur son territoire sont les lichens et les mousses.

Îles Heard et McDonald, Australie Les principaux représentants de la faune de l’île sont les pingouins, les pinnipèdes et les oiseaux de mer. Malgré la maigre flore et la faune, l’île Heard et l’île McDonald représentent une aire protégée unique. Le territoire général de la réserve marine occupe 65 000 km2. Plusieurs camps de recherche et bases accueillant des scientifiques du monde entier sont construits sur des îles.

L’archipel a été découvert en 1833. Le capitaine britannique Peter Kemp est devenu le premier Européen à mettre le pied sur le territoire des îles inhabitées. Par la suite, la terre a été visitée en permanence pendant 20 ans, principalement à des fins de pêche. Une fourrure précieuse de phoques, de la viande d’éléphants de mer, des œufs de manchots et de nombreuses autres ressources précieuses ont attiré des expéditions de chasse. Au milieu du 19ème siècle, la pêche a été interdite, et les chercheurs sont devenus les principaux invités de ce coin. Aujourd’hui, certaines zones insulaires sont disponibles pour les touristes, qui peuvent visiter l’archipel lors des visites organisées. Ces endroits sont classés haut pour leur paysage unique.


Camp de la baie de Spit, île Heard.
Bien que le concept de la hutte «googie» en tant que modèle avancé, plus spacieux et plus fort de la hutte «pommier» soit d’environ huit ans, les premiers n’ont été construits qu’à temps pour l’été dernier. L’un a été placé sur l’île Berchervaise au large de Mawson et les quatre autres sont maintenant à Heard Island.


La coque en fibre de verre intégrée avec une porte et quatre ou cinq fenêtres pèse environ 600 kg et augmente à 750 kg lorsqu’elle est aménagée pour un hébergement à long terme. La coquille de diamètre maximum de cinq mètres (à la hauteur du banc) renferme un espace efficace de volume trois fois supérieur à celui de la hutte «pomme» de 3 mètres de diamètre. La forme est aérodynamiquement efficace, aidant le mouvement aérien et empêchant toute accumulation de neige.


La hauteur totale de 3 mètres permet un 2. 4 mètres de hauteur maximum à l’intérieur avec le sol couvrant une zone de stockage de 2 mètres cubes plus chauffage au sol avec des échangeurs de chaleur autour du mur. En interne, l’espace est divisé en six segments (dont l’un sert d’entrée) pouvant être aménagé au besoin avec des «modules» standard, y compris un canapé (qui fait un lit de 2 m sur 90cm), un banc de travail et éventuellement des douches et des toilettes . En comparaison, les huttes «pommiers» de 3 m de diamètre et d’une hauteur maximale de 2,1 m sont un peu petites pour l’occupation toute l’année et construites en sections pour faciliter le transport ne sont pas aussi fortes que l’unité intégrée.


 




un véhicule Hägglunds (Photo: John Burgess)





Une nouvelle cabane «  Googie «  pour l’île Béchervaise

8 septembre 2015Dans la première partie de cette histoire, la plate-forme en bois pour le nouveau Googie a été construit, et des ancrages solides pour la sécuriser ont été placés dans la roche. C’était le 10 août à Mawson, un endroit clair et sans vent, des conditions idéales pour remorquer les panneaux de huttes et le plancher de la station à l’île Béchervaise et les assembler tous ensemble. Avec une équipe de quatre ouvriers volontaires, tout s’est bien déroulé, le principal défi étant de placer et de serrer les nombreux petits boulons et écrous qui maintiennent les panneaux ensemble. C’est une tâche fastidieuse dans le meilleur des cas, avec les trous pré-percés dans la fibre de verre pas toujours alignés exactement.


Les conditions météorologiques étaient idéales pour le mois d’août mais avec une température de -25 ° C, les boulons et les écrous étaient impossibles à manipuler avec des gants. Ce problème a été résolu en utilisant un pistolet thermique pour souffler de l’air chaud sur les doigts de la personne travaillant à mains nues. À la fin de la journée, la cabane était en position et ancrée temporairement avec des sangles à cliquet. Au cours de la semaine suivante, lorsque le temps le permettait, le Googie Béchervaise Island était terminé: les évents de plafond étaient positionnés, les joints du panneau étaient scellés, les haubans en acier inoxydable étaient fixés et les meubles étaient installés. La cabane a été testée dans plusieurs blizzards avec des vents allant jusqu’à 90 nœuds et réalisée sans faille. Il servira sans aucun doute de refuge pendant de nombreuses années aux scientifiques qui étudient les manchots Adélie durant l’été et aux expéditeurs de Mawson qui cherchent un jour ou deux à l’extérieur de la station pendant l’hiver.


Assembler les panneaux, en travaillant de la porte dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre.
(Photo: John Burgess)

À l’heure du déjeuner, le temps était encore en place et le sol et la moitié des panneaux étaient en place. (Photo: John Burgess)

Avec la température d’environ -25 ° C, l’utilisation d’un pistolet thermique permet de poser et de serrer les nombreux boulons et écrous qui maintiennent les panneaux ensemble, doigts nus. (Photo: John Burgess)

Peter Lecompte, Charlie Howell et Peter Layt – une équipe satisfaite à la fin d’une journée bien remplie. Les sangles à cliquet fixant la hutte aux ancres étaient temporaires et ont été remplacées plus tard par des haubans en acier inoxydable. (Photo: John Burgess)


(Photo: John Burgess)


La cabane de googie de laboratoire Bechervaise Island, avec la nouvelle hutte Googie derrière.  (Photo: John Burgess)







CABINE D’IGLOO Satellite


Exposition organisée par l’American Museum of Natural History, New York: MUSEUM  , en collaboration avec le musée des Confluences et le Royal BC Museum, Victoria, Canada.

Conception : American Museum of Natural History (New York, USA) en collaboration avec le musée des Confluences et le Royal BC Museum (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada)





Cabines satellites Igloo à la station Law-Racoviță, Antarctique


L’abri Bulle Googie sur un traîneau (Photo  Vicki Heinrich)


Bulle Googie et tente pyramidale polaire à Anare Field Camp, île Macey, Mawson, Antarctique (Sud)



 LA VRAIE FUTURO  de Matti Suuronen



LA Googie « Hut » 





L’ancienne cabane Googie (fabriquée en 1983) a été remorquée à Mawson et démantelée dans le magasin principal. Il sera retourné en Australie. (Photo: John Burgess)


Bivouac de Rhénanie-Palatinat sur le Wassertalkogel, Geigenkamm, Öztaler alps, Tirol, Autriche.

Un bivouac est un abri préfabriqué pour randonneurs ou grimpeurs de 4 à 12 lits.




La balle de golf, qui héberge les satellites GOES et Skynet.


La cabane Rawin et le bâtiment du radôme à la station Davis en 1962. Le bâtiment Rawin a été construit à Heard Island en 1953. Il a été déplacé à Mawson en 1955 après la fermeture de la station ANARE sur l’île Entendu et plus tard transféré à Davis. Le plus ancien bâtiment sur la station aujourd’hui, son statut de conservation est incontesté. (Photo: J. Molle (AAD))



 




Le chef de projet Halley VI Karl Tuplin se tient à côté du module complété.

© British Antarctic Survey


La Corée aura une deuxième base en Antarctique


Le pays asiatique va de l’avant avec la construction des modules qui formeront la station de Jang Bogo. Il commencera à les assembler en Antarctique avant la fin de l’année et commencera à fonctionner en 2014. La station, qui s’appellera Jang Bogo , sera située dans la baie Terra Nova et promet d’être une construction moderne, respectueuse de l’environnement et capable d’accueillir 60 personnes . Jang Bogo sera construit en face de la base italienne Mario Zuchelli dans une zone près des bases McMurdo, les États-Unis, et Scott de la Nouvelle-Zélande, environ 1700 km. du pôle Sud. Sa construction se déroulera en différentes phases entre décembre 2012 et mars 2014, avec un investissement de 107 millions de dollars. Les structures de base sont construites en Corée et ensuite déplacées en Antarctique pour être assemblées pendant les mois d’été. Le programme scientifique de la nouvelle base se concentrera sur le changement climatique dans le secteur de l’Antarctique dans l’océan Pacifique . Grâce à son ouverture tout au long de l’année, la Corée prévoit de surveiller à long terme les glaciers, les sédiments, l’atmosphère et les écosystèmes de la région.






Welcome To Antarctica

HOTEL de LUXE en ANTARCTIQUE






Il y a une piste de l’aéroport en Antarctique qui est faite entièrement de glace !





 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Un commentaire sur “Futuro Hut, Googie – Antarctique, ÎLE Macquarie, Barth Australe

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *