Jan Kaplický The Bull Ring (2003)

Share Button

Jan Kaplický (1937-2009)

Czech architect who has spent most of his career in the UK.

Future Systems is a firm of architectural and design created 1982, based in London and headed by the couple Jan Kaplický and Amanda Levete with as associate directors Andrea Morgante and John O'Mara.

The Bull Ring is a shopping district in Birmingham in England.

birmingham24

It has been an important feature of Birmingham since the Middle Ages, where this place served as a market place. It has since been converted into a shopping center twice : in the years 1960 then over the years 2000. The current shopping center opened its doors on 4 September 2003 and houses, inter alia, one of the four Selfridges stores (the others being in London, Manchester and Trafford) and the second largest branch of Debenhams, which spans 4 floors. Therefore, the mall is a huge success, attracting businesses from around the world, including New York signs. It has a very innovative architecture recognized internationally, work by the architectural firm Future Systems , it extends over a surface of 110 000m², greater than the surface of 26 football fields and hosts each year on average 36.5 million visitors. Finally, it has a glass roof with an area of ​​7000m². This is the & rsquo; one of the cities buildings and amazing houses Selfridges in the Bull Ring. Birmingham Selfridges is a building, dressed 15.000 aluminum discs shimmery. It has been an important feature of Birmingham since the Middle Ages, when the market d & rsquo; first held. Two shopping centers were built in the region, in the years 1960, then in 2003. In the Bullring, the work done by Kaplicky associated with Amanda Levete in the agency Future System, is only the Selfridge and date of 2003. The rest of the mall, which has a much more classical architecture, it’s been done in stages over the years 50 or 60.

The facade includes 15.000 anodised aluminum mounted on a blue background discs.

birmingham02

birmingham21

The site is located on the edge of the crest of the city sandstone leading to the steep gradient towards Digbeth. The slope descends around 15 meters (49 feet) New Street in & rsquo; St. Martin's Church. The existing shopping center is the busiest in the UK 2004 with 36,5 million visitors. It houses the & rsquo; one of the four Selfridges, the fourth largest and the first Debenhams store Forever 21 in Europe. Therefore, the center was a huge success, attracting custom from all over the world, including New York. The Selfridges building is a landmark building in Birmingham , England. The building is part of the Bullring and Selfridges Department Store houses. The building was completed in 2003 at a cost of £ 60 million and designed by the firm & rsquo; architecture Future Systems. It has’ a steel frame with a projected concrete facade. Since its construction, the building became an iconic architectural landmark and seen as a major contribution to the regeneration of Birmingham.

Architecture

The firm & rsquo; architecture Future Systems
were appointed by Selfridges and CEO, Vittorio Radice, design only the third store outside London. Although Selfridges has been physically integrated to the mall Bullring the client wanted a distinct design approach that would set the store apart from the rest of the development and become an instantly recognizable sign for the brand. The front of the & rsquo; building is curved, wrapping around the corner of Moor Street and Park Street.

8193920098385753
birmingham03
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-28-07
birmingham06
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-25-33


birmingham07
metalocus-jan-kaplicky-16-1180_0
6837495909_95fc0dae4a_b
birmingham08
birmingham22

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-34-11
birmingham10
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-22-36
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-21-01

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-21-48

selfridges_sun27

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-33-12
birmingham04

Selfridges Building Exterior

birmingham15

Cleaning the d & rsquo record; silver Selfridges Building (above)

12549879233_6dbc6faa6c
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-24-29
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-24-47
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-25-20
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-27-58

dc229adb1845aae3315d86258558e583
3f12cde0441d8ef7ad24bb0c5328cd16

birmingham13

279-b18

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-34-42

birmingham18



© 2011 Brno inaugurated a new bus stop

© 2011 Brno inaugurated a new bus stop

© 2011 Brno inaugurated a new bus stop


Brno inaugurated a new bus stop, reminiscent of a striking design unrealized gain for the National Library in Prague since late Jana Kaplického. Pepsi paid the construction company as part of their campaign and donated to the city of Brno-Sever.


Project Jan Kaplický of the National Library in Prague



1431477-135859

Jan Kaplicky Netwest Media Center

The first Investec Test match between England and New Zealand now beginning to Lord's Cricket Ground and the world press will be on the lookout for its Media Center, Award winning building designed by Future Systems Stirling // Future Systems is a firm of architectural and design created 1982, based in London and headed by the couple Jan Kaplický and Amanda Levete with as associate directors Andrea Morgante and John O'Mara.

The objective of the design of the Media Center was to respect and enjoy the essential nature of Lord's while providing a building that announced the new millennium when it would be completed in 1999 and would provide the most elegant and modern media center in the world. It captured the public imagination with its form and function, transforming a brief generic an elegant solution, made possible by the marriage of conceptual creativity with technical inventiveness. First semi-monocoque all-aluminum building in the world, it represents a breakthrough, not only in the creation of a new three-dimensional aesthetic, but in its construction method. This building was built and furnished not by the construction industry but by a shipyard, Using the latest advances boat building technical matters. raised in 15 meters above the ground, building aerodynamic contours reflect the scanning of the ground plane with the envelope formed by skin a smooth shell, white and transparent. The windows facing west is inclined to avoid glare or reflections, offering stunning views of the game for the media worldwide.




Jan Kaplicky Druidstone
Wales, Grande-Bretagne United Kingdom. "Malator" is an organic house located in Wales to Druidstone, on the coast of Pembrokeshire. With its large windows on each side, it overlooks the sea and the surrounding hills but remains hidden under the grass covering the roof. It is 150m2 and was designed by the architectural firm Future system.


279-tx
279-bb0

f09d05071d9d8c34e787cd71a94208c5


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Jan Kaplický The Bull Ring (2003)

Share Button

Jan Kaplický (1937-2009)

Architecte Tchèque ayant passé l’essentiel de sa carrière au Royaume-Uni.

Future Systems est un cabinet d’architecture et de design créé en 1982, installé à Londres et dirigé par le couple Jan Kaplický et Amanda Levete avec comme directeurs associés Andrea Morgante et John O’Mara.

Le Bull Ring est un quartier commerçant de Birmingham en Angleterre.

birmingham24

Il est une caractéristique importante de Birmingham depuis le Moyen Âge, où ce lieu servait de place de marché. Il a depuis été transformé en centre commercial deux fois : dans les années 1960 puis au cours des années 2000. L’actuel centre commercial a ouvert ses portes le 4 septembre 2003 et abrite, entre autres, un des quatre magasins Selfridges (les autres se trouvant à Londres, Manchester et Trafford) et la deuxième plus grande succursale de Debenhams, qui s’étale sur 4 étages. Par conséquent, le centre commercial est un énorme succès, attirant les commerces du monde entier, comprenant des enseignes de New York. Il possède une architecture très innovante reconnue internationalement, œuvre du cabinet d’architecture Future Systems , il s’étend sur une surface de 110 000m², supérieur à la surface de 26 terrains de football et accueille chaque année en moyenne 36.5 millions de visiteurs. Enfin, il possède un toit en verre d’une superficie de 7000m². Ceci est l’une des villes les bâtiments et les maisons étonnantes Selfridges dans le Bull Ring. Birmingham de Selfridges est d’un bâtiment, vêtu de 15.000 disques en aluminium shimmery. Il a été une caractéristique importante de Birmingham depuis le Moyen Age, lorsque le marché a d’abord été tenue. Deux centres commerciaux ont été construits dans la région, dans les années 1960, puis en 2003. Dans le Bullring, le travail fait par Kaplicky associé à Amanda Levete dans l’agence Future System, n’est que le Selfridge et date de 2003. Le reste du centre commercial, qui a une architecture beaucoup plus classique, c’est fait en plusieurs étapes depuis les années 50 ou 60.

La façade comprend 15.000 disques en alu anodisé montés sur un fond bleu.

birmingham02

birmingham21

Le site est situé sur le bord de la crête de la ville de grès qui se traduit par le gradient raide vers Digbeth. La pente descend environ 15 mètres (49 pieds) de New Street à l’église Saint-Martin. Le centre commercial actuel est le plus achalandé au Royaume-Uni en 2004 avec 36,5 millions de visiteurs. Il abrite l’un des quatre grands magasins Selfridges, le quatrième plus grand Debenhams et le premier magasin Forever 21 en Europe. Par conséquent, le centre a été un énorme succès, attirant personnalisé de partout dans le monde, y compris New York. Le bâtiment Selfridges est un bâtiment emblématique dans Birmingham , Angleterre. Le bâtiment fait partie du centre commercial Bullring et de maisons Selfridges Department Store. Le bâtiment a été achevé en 2003 à un coût de £ 60 millions et conçu par le cabinet d’architecture Future Systems. Il dispose d’ un cadre en acier avec une façade en béton projeté. Depuis sa construction, le bâtiment est devenu un point de repère architectural emblématique et vu comme une contribution majeure à la régénération de Birmingham.

Architecture

Le cabinet d’architecture Future Systems 
ont été nommés par Selfridges puis chef de la direction, Vittorio Radice, concevoir seulement le troisième magasin à l’extérieur de Londres. Bien que Selfridges a été physiquement intégré au centre commercial Bullring le client voulait une approche de conception distincte qui établirait la boutique à part du reste du développement et de devenir un panneau instantanément reconnaissable pour la marque. La façade de l’édifice est incurvée, enroulant autour le coin de la rue Moor et Park Street. 

8193920098385753
birmingham03
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-28-07
birmingham06
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-25-33


birmingham07
metalocus-jan-kaplicky-16-1180_0
6837495909_95fc0dae4a_b
birmingham08
birmingham22

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-34-11
birmingham10
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-22-36
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-21-01

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-21-48

selfridges_sun27

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-33-12
birmingham04

Selfridges Building Exterior

birmingham15

Nettoyage des disques d’argent sur Selfridges Building (ci-dessus)

12549879233_6dbc6faa6c
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-24-29
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-24-47
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-25-20
capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-27-58

dc229adb1845aae3315d86258558e583
3f12cde0441d8ef7ad24bb0c5328cd16

birmingham13

279-b18

capture-decran-2016-10-19-21-34-42

birmingham18



© 2011 à Brno a inauguré un nouvel arrêt de bus

© 2011 à Brno a inauguré un nouvel arrêt de bus

© 2011 à Brno a inauguré un nouvel arrêt de bus


Brno a inauguré un nouvel arrêt de bus, qui rappelle d’une manière frappante la conception de gain non réalisé pour la Bibliothèque nationale à Prague depuis la fin Jana Kaplického. Pepsi a payé la société de construction dans le cadre de leur campagne et a fait don à la ville de Brno-Sever.


Projet de Jan Kaplický  de la Bibliothèque Nationale de Prague



1431477-135859

Jan Kaplicky Netwest Media Center

Le premier match d’essai d’Investec entre l’Angleterre et la Nouvelle-Zélande commence aujourd’hui à Lord’s Cricket Ground et la presse mondiale sera à l’affût de son Media Center, le bâtiment primé par Stirling conçu par Future Systems // Future Systems est un cabinet d’architecture et de design créé en 1982, installé à Londres et dirigé par le couple Jan Kaplický et Amanda Levete avec comme directeurs associés Andrea Morgante et John O’Mara.

L’objectif de la conception du Centre des médias était de respecter et de savourer la nature essentielle de Lord’s tout en lui apportant un bâtiment qui annonçait le prochain millénaire lorsqu’il serait achevé en 1999 et fournirait le centre des médias le plus élégant et le plus moderne au monde. Il a capturé l’imagination publique avec sa forme et sa fonction, transformant un brief générique en une solution élégante, rendue possible par le mariage de l’inventivité conceptuelle avec l’inventivité technique. Premier bâtiment semi-monocoque entièrement en aluminium au monde, il représente une percée, non seulement dans la création d’une nouvelle esthétique tridimensionnelle, mais dans sa méthode de construction. Ce bâtiment a été construit et aménagé non pas par l’industrie de la construction mais par un chantier naval, utilisant les toutes dernières avancées en matière de technique de construction de bateaux. Élevé à 15 mètres au-dessus du sol, les contours aérodynamiques du bâtiment reflètent le balayage du plan du sol avec la peau enveloppante formée par une coque lisse, blanche et transparente. Le vitrage orienté vers l’ouest est incliné pour éviter tout éblouissement ou reflets, offrant une vue imprenable sur le jeu pour les médias du monde entier.




Jan Kaplicky Druidstone
Pays de Galles, Grande-Bretagne United Kingdom. « Malator » est une maison organique qui se trouve en Pays de Galle à Druidstone, sur la côte de Pembrokeshire. Avec ses grandes baies vitrées de chaque coté, elle a vue sur la mer et les collines environnantes mais reste cachée sous l’herbe qui recouvre son toit. Elle fait 150m2 et a été conçu par le cabinet d’architecte Future système.


279-tx
279-bb0

f09d05071d9d8c34e787cd71a94208c5


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.