Erwin Wurm Augsburg, Austria

Share Button

ERWIN WURM ARTWORKS

Artists and artists "I am an enemy of the heroic in art because I believe that pathos makes people small”, Erwin Wurm said at the start of his exhibition in Frankfurt. His work is one of the most interesting, funniest and brightest contemporary artists.


One Minute Sculptures

https://thebass.org/art/erwin-wurm-beauty-business/

Erwin Wurm is a sculptor born in Austria 1954. He lives and works in Vienna, in Austria. Erwin Wurm has been very influenced, in his early years at the Art Academy of Vienna, by approaches the Fluxus artists. In the mid 90, he designed a series of "One Minute Sculptures", where he asks himself or models with unexpected positions, cluttered with everyday objects, prompting the viewer to question the very definition of sculpture. It seeks to use the "shortest path" to the creation of a sculpture, a quick and clear form, sometimes humorous. Like his sculptures are ephemeral and temporary, they are captured photo or video.

Guggenheim merger 2005
Acrylic, acrylic paint 45 x 136 x 99 cm © Pretty, Vienna 2013
Photo credit: Mischa Nawrata, Vienna


Austrian sculptor born living in Vienna, which is famous for its humorous approach to formalism. What does it mean? Fundamentally, it addresses everyday objects with the eye of an artist, using humor to seduce and surprise the audience. Everyday objects, like cars. His famous series "Fat Car 'is puffy real cars, obese, sized with polyurethane foam and polystyrene foam covered with lacquer. Some said that the work is intended to criticize consumer culture in western society, but what is much more fun to think too hard about the meaning of life, is looking for some amazing sculptures Fat Car Wurm.

“Grease” is carefully molded polyurethane foam and polystyrene foam into natural shapes that we are more likely to see on a human body than on a car body.. Finished with a coat of lacquer, these Fat Cars seem to be on the verge of breaking the limits of their bodywork. In 2004, Wurm launched the “Fat Convertible” ; two years later, l'”UFO”, a car without wheels.

Erwin Wurm Convertible Fat Car (Porsche) 24 Mars – 23 Avril 2005

BIOGRAPHY :

Wurm's work is part of the transformation of everyday objects into sculptures with absurd appearance that make the audience laugh. The creation of a work is then to Wurm an emancipation process : is freeing objects from their familiar context and make sense out of joint. It is also a challenge everyday objects process. Despite his vis-à-vis distancing of the movement "Fluxus", his work retains the major inspiration of this movement, which urges us to explore ” art ” in the course of daily life and in the conditions of individual existence of the common object.

2010 – His sculptures distort the world Erwin Wurm is a joyful cynical companion who at the same time brings the enigmatic despair of everyday life to express. Aspects of the cultural program (ZDF) un portrait de Erwin Wurm.

Taking the issue of obesity, Wurm probe the link between power, the richness and body weight. He also wants to offer a scathing critique of our current value system, the advertising world asks us to stay slim , but consume more.


Erwin Wurm, one of the most important sculptors of international renown Austria, was concerned about the expansion of the concept of sculpture since the 1980. Wurm is primarily a sculptor, and sculptural traditional concerns such as the relationship between the object and the base, the function of the seriousness, fixing the form, and handling the volume, play through all his work.


increasing, remodeling or removing volume the usual interests of many a sculptor – are given a new twist in the work of Wurm. Volume and volume’ add are treated as matters sociocrital. In 1993, Erwin Wurm wrote a book’ instructions on how to win two dress sizes in eight days. Eight years later, he made his first “Fat Car” by plumping an existing car with Styrofoam and fiberglass, which lead to, a pitiful chubby version of the original model sportsy.


Fat Bus Model Resin, Acrylic paint 52 x 124 x 70 cm 2016



The Making of … “curry Bus” Erwin Wurm 1:08 (mute)

Volkswagen Curry Bus a sausage named Combi

Before the door’ entrance is a sculpture of the spectacular setting awaits visitors in the museum. Erwin Wurm (born in 1954), to’ internationally for his "One Minute Sculptures" as he is known for his “gras” and deformed objects presented in Wolfsburg, the motor city, in “sausage grease position” VW (Erwin Wurm). Of the “curry Bus” is at the noon show – Volkswagen sold Currywurst – original of course. With its bizarre twisted deformed cars like the Renault 25, which apparently put himself in the curve or, Volkswagen bus “telekinetic” curve, the sculptor made his idiosyncratic, humorous popular philosophical view in everyday objects.




Volkswagen trainees and retirees built at the same time the artist Erwin Wurm and the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg in the VW ( vintage connoisseurs speak of van T2b) an art Currywurstbude.


You do not dream, it’s a house overturned on the roof of a building.. Rest assured, this is not a photo montage. It is a full-size detached house that has been built into the roof of the Museum Museum of Modern Art (Mumok) Vienna in Austria !

Who had this strange idea ?
This artist, who willingly plays on the absurd, and explained his idea to the press: “The house is a symbol of nostalgia narrow and conservative, colliding with the museum, institutionalized temple of the muses”. It took four giant cranes to hoist Erwin Wurm home 24 meters tall and he had to use ten tonnes of cement and steel to achieve “House attack” (the attack on the house).
Sadly, you can not currently see this reversed unusual house on the roof of the building Mumok. Indeed, she stayed only during the duration of exposure “Keep a cool head” (Keeping carefree) of 27 October 2006 to February 2007.


For the artist who swallowed the world (Hatje Cantz) Erwin Wurm says : I am interested in the daily life. All materials around me might be useful, and objects, the subjects involved in contemporary society. My work speaks of the entity as a whole human being : physics, the spiritual, psychological and political.


Erwin Wurm is known for his humorous approach to formalism. About the use of humor in his work, Erwin Wurm said in an interview :
If you approach things with a sense of humor, people immediately assume that you are not taken seriously. But I think the truth about society and human existence can be approached in different ways. You do not always have to be serious, sarcastic : humor can help you see things in a lighter way. More recently, Erwin Wurm has worked on a series of "big sculptures cars" that are swollen, obese, sculptures grandeur nature. His latest works jostle consumerism.
His sculptures are distorted visions of the world ... but not necessarily false.


Erwin Wurm Retrospective at Deichtorhallen Hamburg. full length, version remasterisée 2007 VernissageTV video With more than 400 drawings, videos, photographs and sculptures, Erwin Wurm retrospective at Deichtorhallen Hamburg – Germany shows the largest show of the artist's work to date. “

La Fat House (2003) videotaped questions : "Am I the art because I'm fat ? »


For his one-minute-sculptures had the opportunity to work in the Lille metropolis. For the occasion, fried booth to more 8 tons strangely shaped, as fondues. This aspect is reminiscent of his research on sculpture and plastic forms.. He works for the destruction of the form, deforming to obesity or anorexia, and more recently, making her literally melt. for Euralille, he revisits a strong marker of identity North, the chip stand. Freed from its original form, the volume of the house gives the impression of a soft, creamy mass. This gesture, Erwin Wurm allows the house to become sculptural work. Here the form plays with function, it questions and surprises.


Erwin Wurm – When everyday objects become work ...

Between Lille Europe station and the shopping center Euralille


Sculptures – Erwin Wurm's inflated Flat cars

Fat Car Convertible – 2005
Polyester, money / rose 105 x 63 x 31 cm © VBK, Vienna 2011 Photo Credit: Atelier Wurm, Vienna

Erwin Wurm Contemporary Art Museum at MAC LYON

View of the exhibition «Erwin Wurm, Retrospective »Photo Blaise Adilon © Adagp, Paris, 2020



Exposition “Wear Me Out ” (Wear me out) by Erwin Wurm in Antwerp Midelheim.


2019 – SUMMER in Le Havre : ERWIN WURM

The Fat Car is parked in the grounds of the Hotel Dubocage de Bléville, old mansion transformed into a museum, located in the historic heart of Le Havre, Saint-François district. It occupies the courtyard of the building, where are also located 26 chairs made by Quebec sculptor Michel Goulet.
Magician of Forms, volumes and proportions, Austrian artist Erwin Wurm has given this car shapes that place it somewhere between exacerbated pride… and daddy-beard ! His fat car has all the finery of a real vehicle, with a gray body, metallic, similar to the most common models in circulation. But her obese curves and chubby seats, flesh-colored, express the excessiveness of industrial societies where man seems to exist through overconsumption ...


Building Fat coulant, silver and / or rubber


Fat House, 2003.


2013a short presentation of the exhibition and performance of Erwin Wurm,
"Wittgenstein's Grammar of Physical Education"
until June 1st 2013 at Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, paris Pantin.
Video by Nikolai Saoulski.

GALERIE Thaddaeus Ropac © 2013


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “Erwin Wurm Augsburg, Austria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Erwin Wurm Augsbourg, Autriche

Share Button

ERWIN WURM ARTWORKS

Les artistes et les artistes «Je suis un ennemi de l’héroïque dans l’art parce que je crois que le pathos rend les gens petit”, Erwin Wurm a dit au début de son exposition à Francfort. Son travail de l’un des plus intéressant, le plus drôle et les plus brillants artistes contemporains.


One Minute Sculptures

https://thebass.org/art/erwin-wurm-beauty-business/

Erwin Wurm est un artiste sculpteur autrichien né en 1954. Il vit et travaille à Vienne, en Autriche. Erwin Wurm a été très influencé, dès ses premières années d’études à la Kunstakademie de Vienne, par les démarches des artistes Fluxus. Au milieu des années 90, il conçoit une série de « One minute sculptures », où il pose lui-même ou les modèles avec des positions inattendues, encombrés d’objets du quotidien, incitant le spectateur à s’interroger sur la définition même de la sculpture. Il cherche à utiliser le « plus court chemin » de la création d’une sculpture, une forme claire et rapide, parfois humoristique. Comme ses sculptures sont éphémères et temporaire, elles sont capturées en photo ou en vidéo.

Guggenheim fusion 2005
Acrylique, peinture acrylique 45 x 136 x 99 cm © Pretty, Vienne 2013
Crédit photo: Mischa Nawrata, Vienne


Sculpteur autrichien né vivant à Vienne, qui est célèbre pour son approche humoristique de formalisme. Qu’est-ce que ça veut dire? Fondamentalement, qu’il aborde les objets du quotidien avec l’œil d’un artiste, en utilisant l’humour pour séduire et surprendre le public. Les objets usuels, comme les voitures. Sa célèbre série «Fat Car ‘représente bouffis vraies voitures, obèses, grandeur nature à l’aide de mousse de polyuréthane et la mousse de polystyrène recouvert de laque. Certains ont dit que les travaux sont destinés à critiquer la culture de consommation dans la société occidentale, mais ce qui est beaucoup plus amusant que de penser trop dur sur le sens de la vie, est à la recherche de certains des étonnantes sculptures Fat voitures de Wurm.

La « graisse » est de la mousse de polyuréthane et de la mousse de polystyrène soigneusement moulée dans les formes naturelles que nous sommes plus susceptibles de voir sur un corps humain que sur une carrosserie de voiture. Fini avec une couche de laque, ces Fat Cars semblent être sur le point de sortir des limites de leur carrosserie. En 2004, Wurm a lancé le « Fat Convertible » ; deux ans plus tard, l'”OVNI”, une voiture sans roues.

Erwin Wurm Convertible Fat Car (Porsche) 24 Mars – 23 Avril 2005

BIOGRAPHIE :

L’œuvre de Wurm s’inscrit dans la transformation des objets banals en sculptures ayant une apparence absurde qui font éclater de rire les spectateurs. La création d’une œuvre est alors pour Wurm une procédure d’émancipation : c’est libérer les objets de leur contexte familier et leur donner un sens hors de commun. C’est aussi un processus de remise en question des objets du quotidien. Malgré sa mise à distance vis-à-vis du mouvement «Fluxus», son travail conserve l’inspiration majeure de ce mouvement, qui nous sollicite à explorer ” l’art ” dans le déroulement du quotidien et dans les conditions de l’existence singulière de l’objet banal.

2010 – Ses sculptures déforment le monde Erwin Wurm est un joyeux compagnon cynique qui apporte en même temps le désespoir énigmatique de la vie quotidienne à exprimer. Des aspects du programme culturel (ZDF) un portrait de Erwin Wurm.

En prenant la question de l’obésité, Wurm sonde le lien entre la puissance, la richesse et le poids corporel. Il veut aussi offrir une critique acerbe de notre système de valeur actuelle, le monde de la publicité nous demande de rester mince , mais à consommer de plus en plus.


Erwin Wurm, l’un des sculpteurs les plus importants et de renommée internationale de l’Autriche, a été préoccupé par l’élargissement du concept de la sculpture depuis les années 1980. Wurm est avant tout un sculpteur, et les préoccupations sculpturales traditionnelles telles que la relation entre l’objet et le socle, la fonction de la gravité, la fixation de la forme, et la manipulation du volume, jouer à travers toute son œuvre.


L’augmentation, le remodelage ou la suppression de volume les intérêts habituels de beaucoup un sculpteur – sont donné une nouvelle tournure dans le travail de Wurm. Volume et le volume d’ ajouter sont traités comme des questions sociocrital. En 1993, Erwin Wurm a écrit un livre d’ instructions sur la façon de gagner deux tailles de vêtements en huit jours. Huit ans plus tard, il a fait son premier “Fat Car” par repulpant une voiture existante avec styromousse et fibre de verre, ce qui a entraîné, une version pitoyable chubby du modèle sportsy originale.


Fat Bus Modèle Résine, Peinture acrylique 52 x 124 x 70 cm 2016



The Making of … “Curry Bus” von Erwin Wurm 1:08 (muet)

Volkswagen Curry Bus une saucisse nommée Combi

Avant la porte d’ entrée a une sculpture de la mise en scène spectaculaire qui attend les visiteurs dans le musée. Erwin Wurm (né en 1954), à l’ échelle internationale pour ses «One Minute Sculptures» comme il est connu pour son “gras” et les objets déformés présentés à Wolfsburg, la ville de l’automobile, dans une “position de graisse de saucisse” VW (Erwin Wurm). De la “Curry Bus” est lors de l’exposition à midi – vendu Volkswagen Currywurst – bien sûr originale. Avec ses voitures déformées bizarres comme le tordu Renault 25, qui a apparemment se mettre dans la courbe ou, bus Volkswagen “telekinetic” courbe, le sculpteur a fait son idiosyncrasique, humoristique vue philosophique populaire dans les objets du quotidien.




Les stagiaires et retraités de Volkswagen construit en même temps l’artiste Erwin Wurm et le Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg dans un VW ( les connaisseurs vintages parlent du van T2b) à un Currywurstbude art.


Vous ne rêvez pas, c’est bien une maison renversée sur le toit d’un immeuble.. Rassurez-vous, ce n’est pas une photo-montage. C’est une maison individuelle grandeur nature qui a été encastrée sur le toit du musée Musée d’art moderne (Mumok) de Vienne en Autriche !

Qui a eu cette idée curieuse ?
Cet artiste, qui joue volontiers sur l’absurde, a expliqué ainsi son idée à la presse: “La maison est un symbole de nostalgies étriquées et conservatrices, qui entrent en collision avec le musée, temple institutionnalisé des muses”. Il a fallu quatre grues géantes à Erwin Wurm pour hisser la maison à 24 mètres de hauteur et il a du utiliser une dizaine de tonnes de ciment et d’acier pour réaliser “House attack” (l’attaque de la maison).
Malheureusement, vous ne pourrez plus voir actuellement cette maison insolite renversée sur le toit de l’immeuble du Mumok. En effet, elle n’est restée que durant la durée de l’exposition “Keep a cool head” (Garder l’esprit léger) du 27 octobre 2006 à février 2007.


Pour L’artiste qui a avalé le monde (Hatje Cantz) Erwin Wurm explique : Je suis intéressé par la vie quotidienne. Tous les matériaux qui m’entourait pourrait être utile, ainsi que les objets, les sujets impliqués dans la société contemporaine. Mon travail parle de l’entité dans son ensemble de l’être humain : la physique, le spirituel, le psychologique et le politique.


Erwin Wurm est connu pour son approche humoristique au formalisme. A propos de l’utilisation de l’humour dans son travail, Erwin Wurm dit dans une interview :
Si vous aborder les choses avec un sens de l’humour, les gens immédiatement suppose que vous n’êtes pas à prendre au sérieux. Mais je pense que la vérité sur la société et l’existence humaine peuvent être abordées de différentes façons. Vous n’avez pas toujours besoin d’être très sérieux, sarcastique : l’humour peut vous aider à voir les choses d’une façon plus légère. Plus récemment, Erwin Wurm a travaillé sur une série de « grosses voitures sculptures » qui sont gonflées, obèses, sculptures grandeur nature. Ses derniers travaux bousculent la société de consommation.
Ses sculptures sont des visions déformées du monde… mais pas forcément fausses.


Erwin Wurm Rétrospective au Deichtorhallen Hamburg. Pleine longueur, version remasterisée 2007 vidéo VernissageTV Avec plus de 400 dessins, vidéos, photographies et sculptures, la rétrospective Erwin Wurm au Deichtorhallen Hamburg – Allemagne montre le spectacle le plus large du travail de l’artiste à ce jour. “

La Fat House (2003) filmée en vidéo s’interroge : « Suis-je de l’art parce que je suis grosse ? »


Pour ses one-minute-sculptures a eu l’occasion de travailler dans la Métropole lilloise. Pour l’occasion, une baraque à frite de plus de 8 tonnes aux formes étranges, comme fondues. Cet aspect n’est pas sans rappeler ses recherches sur la sculpture et les formes plastiques. Il travaille à la destruction de la forme, la déformant jusqu’à l’obésité ou l’anorexie, et plus récemment, la faisant littéralement fondre. Pour Euralille, il revisite un marqueur fort de l’identité du Nord, la baraque à frites. Libéré de sa forme originelle, le volume de la baraque donne l’impression d’une masse molle et fondante. Par ce geste, Erwin Wurm permet à la baraque de devenir oeuvre sculpturale. Ici la forme se joue de la fonction, elle interroge et surprend.


Erwin Wurm – Quand les objets du quotidien deviennent œuvre…

Entre la gare Lille Europe et le centre commerciale Euralille


Sculptures – voitures gonflées Flat d’Erwin Wurm

Convertible de voiture Fat – 2005
Polyester, argent / rose 105 x 63 x 31 cm © VBK, Vienne 2011 Photo Crédit: Atelier Wurm, Vienne

Erwin Wurm Musée d’Art Contemporain au MAC LYON

Vue de l’exposition « Erwin Wurm, Rétrospective » Photo Blaise Adilon © Adagp, Paris, 2020



Exposition “Wear Me Out ” (Portez moi dehors) par Erwin Wurm à Anvers Midelheim.


2019 – ÉTÉ au Havre : ERWIN WURM

La Fat Car est stationnée dans l’enceinte de l’Hôtel Dubocage de Bléville, ancien hôtel particulier transformé en musée, situé dans le cœur historique du Havre, quartier Saint-François. Elle occupe la cour du bâtiment, où sont également implantées 26 chaises réalisées par le sculpteur québécois Michel Goulet.
Magicien des formes, des volumes et des proportions, l’artiste autrichien Erwin Wurm a donné à cette automobile des formes qui la situent quelque part entre l’orgueil exacerbé… et la barbe-à-papa ! Sa voiture grasse possède tous les atours d’un véritable véhicule, avec une carrosserie grise, métallisée, semblable aux modèles les plus communs en circulation. Mais ses courbes obèses et ses sièges joufflus, couleur chair, expriment la démesure des sociétés industrielles où l’homme semble exister par la surconsommation…


Building Fat coulant, argenté et / ou caoutchouc


Fat House, 2003.


2013une courte présentation de l’exposition et de la performance d’Erwin Wurm,
«wittgensteinienne Grammaire de l’éducation physique»
jusqu’au 1er Juin 2013 à la Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris Pantin.
Vidéo par Nikolai Saoulski.

GALERIE Thaddaeus Ropac © 2013


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Un commentaire sur “Erwin Wurm Augsbourg, Autriche

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.