Wall Sculpture (2013) Clarina Bezzola, New-York

Share Button


Clarina Bezzola


A fireplace transformed into a sculpture & surrealist.


Bezzola brought the macabre, Lynchian aesthetic of his art to the architecture of his Brooklyn home. Clarina Bezzola was born in Switzerland. She lives and works in New York. Clarina Bezzola is a performance artist, sculptor, painter and classical singer by training. My work studies human consciousness. With the emergence of awareness and self-identification, humans began to feel isolated – hence the fear and the feeling of vulnerability. Each of us has our own way of dealing with the inconvenience of feeling isolated and alone in the world.. Some of us protect ourselves with physical armor or walls while others wear masks or uniforms to deceive. Through performance, sculpture – installation, painting and drawing and sometimes photography, I investigate the struggle of the individual to try to find his place in society.



An artist has created a worthy chimney of the house Barbapapas, in which it is to curl as in a nest. To give substance to this idea, Clarina Bezzola therefore demolished his old fireplace, to replace it with an incredible wooden structure, metal and cement, all in roundness, that evokes the house Barbapapas. Inside, several smaller niches allow the family to hide. One reaches the highest climbing inside. In 2013, while renovating his house, this New York artist imagine what it would become if she was beginning to grow uncontrollably. “A bit like an undesirable growth of our body, walls swell up and invade the space” Materials: The structure made of wood and metal, Application of the cement to form the wall. The artist asked a professional to secure the hearth of the fireplace.



A collaboration between Clarina Bezzola et Raad Studio






Before The Works !


Start of transformation :
After removing the outer layers of the old fireplace, the team began assembling the first pieces of the artist's installation, baptized "the bubble". The latter therefore includes the fireplace, but also a relaxation area out of sight, storage for logs and access to the top floor. Installation required meticulous engineering, a role assumed by James Ramsey. Various materials were used : large metal nails, refractory bricks, wood, cement, light insulating plaster, putty and foam.

Materials: metal posts, wood, concrete, structolite, compound, foam. 11,5 x 3,5 x 11ft. The structure made of wood and metal. © Clarina Bezzola

Application of the cement to form the wall. © Clarina Bezzola




There is a crawl space hidden inside the gout, with a seat cushion and a small television.




The inside of the chimney… The Bubble, FIRE © Clarina Bezzola




Using all spaces. 2013 © Clarina Bezzola


© Clarina Bezzola

© Clarina Bezzola





 
Avatar

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mur Sculpture (2013) Clarina Bezzola, New-York

Share Button


Clarina Bezzola


Une cheminée transformée en Sculpture & surréaliste.


Bezzola a apporté l’esthétique macabre et lynchienne de son art à l’architecture de sa maison de Brooklyn. Clarina Bezzola est née en Suisse. Elle vit et travaille à New York. Clarina Bezzola est une artiste de performance, sculpteur, peintre et chanteuse classique de formation. Mon travail étudie la conscience humaine. Avec l’apparition de la conscience et l’identification de soi, les humains ont commencé à se sentir isolés – d’où la peur et le sentiment de vulnérabilité. Chacun de nous a sa propre façon de gérer les désagréments liés au fait de se sentir isolé et seul au monde. Certains d’entre nous se protègent avec des armures physiques ou des murs tandis que d’autres portent des masques ou des uniformes pour tromper. Par le biais de la performance, de la sculpture – installation, de la peinture et du dessin et parfois de la photographie, j’enquête sur la lutte de l’individu pour tenter de trouver sa place dans la société.



Une artiste a imaginé une cheminée digne de la maison des Barbapapas, dans laquelle on peut se lover comme dans un nid douillet. Pour donner corps à cette idée, Clarina Bezzola a donc démoli son ancienne cheminée, pour la remplacer par une incroyable structure en bois, métal et ciment, toute en rondeurs, qui évoque la maison des Barbapapas. À l’intérieur, plusieurs petites niches permettent à la famille de se cacher. On accède aux plus hautes en grimpant à l’intérieur. En 2013, alors qu’elle rénove sa maison, cette artiste new-yorkaise imagine ce que celle-ci deviendrait si elle commençait à grandir de façon incontrôlable. « Un peu comme une croissance indésirable de notre corps, les murs enfleraient et envahiraient l’espace » Matériaux: La structure faite de bois et de métal, Application du ciment pour constituer la paroi. L’artiste a sollicité un professionnel pour que le foyer de la cheminée soit sécurisé.



Une Collaboration entre Clarina Bezzola et Raad Studio 






Avant Les Travaux !


Début de la transformation :
Après avoir déposé les couches extérieures de l’ancienne cheminée, l’équipe a commencé l’assemblage des premières pièces de l’installation de l’artiste, baptisée « la bulle ». Cette dernière comprend donc la cheminée, mais aussi un espace détente à l’abri des regards, un rangement pour les bûches et un accès à l’étage du dessus. L’installation nécessitait une ingénierie méticuleuse, un rôle pris en charge par James Ramsey. Divers matériaux ont été utilisés : gros clous en métal, briques réfractaires, bois, ciment, plâtre léger isolant, mastic et mousse.

Matériaux: poteaux en métal, bois, béton, structolite, composé, de la mousse. 11,5 x 3,5 x 11ft. La structure faite de bois et de métal. © Clarina Bezzola

Application du ciment pour constituer la paroi. © Clarina Bezzola




Il y a un vide sanitaire caché à l’intérieur de la goutte, avec un coussin d’assise et une petite télévision.




L’intérieur de la cheminée… The Bubble, La Cheminée © Clarina Bezzola




Utilisant tous les espaces. 2013 © Clarina Bezzola


© Clarina Bezzola

© Clarina Bezzola





 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *