Temple Santiago Bahá'i Hariri Pontarini Architects, Chili

Share Button

Hariri Architects


Temple Santiago Bahá’i

TED

Hariri Pontarini Architects The Bahá’ís – Temple Santiago, Chili

A translucent marble shell front of Santiago del Chile is the new Bahá'í Temple of South America, designed by Canadian studio Hariri Pontarini Architects. Surrounded by reflective pools and a landscape of native grasses, the temple is a dome-shaped structure and light that echoes the rolling topography of the Andes while appearing to 30 meters above the ground. Baha'is believe in the critical role of volunteerism to increase their prayer and reflection. His nine monumental glass mats form an open and accessible space of worship, where up 600 visitors can be accommodated on seats curved walnut and leather. Looking at the central oculus at the top of the dome, visitors can experience a light transfer from outside the cast glass to an inner translucent Portuguese marble. At sunset, the light captured in the dome from white and silver with ocher and purple. The Bahá'í temples are designed to reflect the ideal of universal cult where women, men and children can come together as equals.

Siamak Hariri: how do you build a sacred space?

Video courtesy of TED

L’interview : d’ Haiiri Pontarini

In response, Hariri Pontarini architects used different qualities of light to guide the design process. "The inspiration was drawn from a myriad of sources", say architects. "The magic of stained sun under a canopy of trees, interwoven strands of Japanese bamboo baskets and fragmentation of broken glass ". The scheme has been widely developed through sketches in hand, physical models and digital technologies. Siamak Hariri , founding partner of architects Hariri Pontarini, explains the design process in more detail in the new video TED.


The first marble covering panel was installed on site in Santiago


A BAHA’I TEMPLE MADE FROM TRANSLUCENT MATERIALS




 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Temple Santiago Bahá’i Hariri Pontarini Architectes, Chili

Share Button

Hariri Architectes


Temple Santiago Bahá’i

TED

Hariri Pontarini Architects The Bahá’í – Temple Santiago, Chili

Une coquille de marbre translucide face à Santiago del Chile est le nouveau temple Bahá’í de l’Amérique du Sud, conçu par le studio canadien Hariri Pontarini Architects. Entouré de piscines réfléchissantes et d’un paysage de graminées indigènes, le temple est une structure en forme de dôme et lumineuse qui fait écho à la topographie roulante des Andes tout en apparaissant à 30 mètres au dessus de la terre. Les bahá’ís croient au rôle critique du bénévolat pour accroître leur prière et leur réflexion. Ses neuf voiles de verre monumentaux forment un espace de culte ouvert et accessible, où jusqu’à 600 visiteurs peuvent être logés sur des sièges en noyer courbé et en cuir. En regardant l’oculus central au sommet du dôme, les visiteurs peuvent expérimenter un transfert de lumière de l’extérieur du verre coulé vers un intérieur de marbre portugais translucide. Au coucher du soleil, la lumière capturée dans le dôme passe du blanc et de l’argent à l’ocre et au pourpre. Les temples bahá’ís sont conçus pour refléter un idéal de culte universel où les femmes, les hommes et les enfants peuvent se rassembler comme égaux.

Siamak Hariri: comment construisez-vous un espace sacré?

Vidéo avec gracieuseté de TED

L’interview : d’Hairi Pontarini

En réponse, les architectes Hariri Pontarini ont utilisé différentes qualités de lumière pour guider le processus de conception. «L’inspiration a été tirée d’une myriade de sources», disent les architectes. «La magie du soleil taché sous un canopée d’arbres, les brins entrelacés de paniers de bambou japonais et la fragmentation du verre brisé». Le schéma a été largement développé grâce à des croquis à la main, des modèles physiques et des technologies numériques. Siamak Hariri , partenaire fondateur des architectes Hariri Pontarini, explique le processus de conception plus en détail dans la nouvelle vidéo TED.


Le premier panneau de revêtement de marbre a été installé sur place à Santiago du Chili


UN TEMPLE BAHA’I FABRIQUÉ À PARTIR DE MATÉRIAUX TRANSLUCIDES




 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.