Jorn Utzon, Opéra (1963-1973) Sydney, Australia

Share Button

Construction (1963-1973)
Architect Jørn (Oberg) Utzon



Sydney Opera, World Heritage by UNESCO as ” one of the major architectural works of the twentieth century”.

 

He need 10 years of work by 1963 at 1973 . And today is a major tourist attraction in the city.

Copenhagen (1918-2008) is a famous Danish architect for designing the Sydney Opera House which has become the symbol of this city and a symbol of Australia's best-known world.


The Sydney Opera House was designed by the Danish Utzon and constructed of 1959 at 1973.



Utzon became internationally known 1957 when he won, surprisingly, International Competition for Opera building Sydney, one of the most famous and distinctive buildings of the twentieth century , and declared in 2007 a World Heritage Site . His visionary project, which included a roof formed by shells of concrete up to 60 m high, like the sails of a sailboat, open the port, convinced the jury against 232 other proposals, because come in an opera concept that would be able to become one of the most extraordinary buildings in the world.


The impressive building located on a small island in the bay, opposite the city, was built between 1959 and 1973. Summer complex and everything works throughout the critique of Utzon construction process for the delays and high cost of labor has not prevented. He was under a lot of pressure to get him to leave the management of work, until finally 1966 found no other way out and resigned, returning to Denmark with his family. Utzon made many trips and many international works, who realized a few projects in his homeland: a few – one of the first residential complexes (in the sixties), to’ église Bagsvaerd (in 1977) and furniture design Paustian (in 1987), located in the northern port of Copenhagen. His legacy in Denmark will continue with two of his three children, as architects.


 

Jørn Utzon with Engineers



 


It is without doubt one of the most remarkable buildings in the world. this documentary, we conducted interviews with archival research supreme engineering Ove Arup, which the company managed to turn the seemingly impossible vision aclaimed Danish architect Jorn Utzen in historical reality !


SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE
undisputed icon of the city of Sydney and the emblem of all Australia, the mythical building of the Opera is, with its unique profile that evokes large marine shells overlapping sailing ships or orange, one of the most important buildings of the twentieth century and even, in architectural history, so that, in 2007, has been declared “World Heritage”. 40, in 1973, the main hall of the Opera was inaugurated, From its way to the iconic status it has now appreciated. Situated on Bennelong Point peninsula, the magnificent Sydney Harbour, it was designed by the Danish Jorn Utzon in 1957 and its construction was dotted with various structural problems constructive, techniques and even policies that forced the author to modify some aspects of the original design.


Anecdotes of disagreements between Utzon and the British engineering firm Ove Arup, and in particular between Utzon and Australian politicians are many and varied. So, whereas in the former case is still debated who attributed the success of the geometric solution that has become the constructive resolution of the vaults, the second would involve the separation of work in hostile terms 1965, when he faces defining within. Australian Peter Hall would be responsible for replacing, reorganizing some acoustic spaces and solve the problems of the main room.


As for the Opera, the outstanding feature, without a doubt, indoor complex. Designed as a superposition of arches that create a dramatic effect, its realization involved more of a challenge. The need to define its geometry was the first step; for over six years, the design team studied different possibilities (parables, circular ribs and ellipsoids) and finally, in 1961, found a solution: All shells are sections of the same sphere, who is, in simple geometric form and easy to control. This allowed the calculation and allowed the use of precast concrete ribs which were based on, also prefabricated and of the same material.


The Opera (183 meters in length and 120 meters at its widest) has an area of 1,8 hectare. It is supported by 580 concrete pillars that sink up 25 meters below sea level. Its equivalent electrical needs those of a city 25 000 inhabitants. The current is distributed by 645 kilometers of power cables. It is the form of the Opera that makes its originality and notoriety particularly. It is mainly organized in two series of three large "shells" which partially overlap each other.


The roof is composed of 1.056.006 White ceramic tiles self-cleaning ! Utzon has designed the opera but 1966, 3 years after the start of work, he decided not to participate in the site after a dispute with the new government of New South Wales. The building was completed by a group of local architects.



60 years of history, an iconic building to celebrate the community, storytelling and creative spirit.

 

 

 

 


A film about the Sydney Opera House, in Australia, Ten years after the start of its construction, in 1967, at the end of the second phase of construction, with the base and the finished roof. It explains the problems with the original design and demonstrates architecte.Il foundations and base, the hulls of the design challenges, and how they are built and tile roofs white and how they are attached. The film also highlights the different places to be in the building at the end.




A short documentary on the Sydney Opera engineering created for Arup – the engineering company that worked on the original project in Australia 1963.
Video produced by Hill & Knowlton. Producer and Writer: Steve Cropper. Director: Steve Griffiths.






 


 

 



 


1973 Sydney Opera House a brief history of its design and construction
This video shows rare footage of design, construction and grand opening ceremony of the Sydney Opera House in October 1973 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.
20 October 1973. Queen Elizabeth II officially opens the new Sydney Opera House, designed by Danish architect Joern Utzon's. (Photo Keystone)

 

 

 

 

 

 



Aerial view of the Sydney Opera House !



Sydney Opera House is a World Heritage-listed masterpiece of human creative genius. Recognized as an arts center of the world-class spectacle, the building is also famous for its innovative use of tense and strengthen concrete post as an important architectural element.




A 360 ° experience capturing one of the busiest performing arts centers in the world between acts – to wake up, in rehearsal and at rest – featuring excellent young Australian soprano Nicole Car, cellist and director of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra of Artistic Planning, Benjamin Schwartz and Sydney Symphony Orchestra him – even under the direction of David Robertson, head of’ Conductor and Artistic Director.



Vivid Sydney 2016 and Timelapse



duration 15:51 – Australia, Sydney light show 2016 VIVID LIGHT Full time projection performance on Opéra House. Full HD 50 FPS




Vivid SYdneY 2017


Vivid Sydney en 2017 : Illuminations around the harbor with the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, MCA, in botanical gardens and other small lights.


Vivid Sydney is the most spectacular outdoor lighting festival, music and ideas of Sydney and the biggest of its kind in the southern hemisphere.

Vivid Sydney 2017, Sydney Opera House, Lighting of The Sails Audio Creatures 24/5/2017.


 


 


 


hats & Sydney Opera House for Fashion



Pamela hat for a carnival dance



All white and architectural !


Sydney Opera House gets a facelift.
A new visual identity for a monument that has not aged.

Jorn Utzon – awarded to Sydney Opera House


LEGO – SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jørn Utzon, Opéra (1963-1973) Sydney, Australie

Share Button

Construction (1963-1973)
Architecte Jørn (Oberg) Utzon



L’Opéra de Sydney, classé au patrimoine mondial par l’Unesco comme  » l’une des œuvres architecturales majeures du XXe siècle ».

 

Il a nécessité 10 ans de travaux de 1963 à 1973 . Et est aujourd’hui une attraction touristique majeure de la ville.

Copenhague (1918-2008) est un architecte danois célèbre pour avoir conçu l’Opéra de Sydney qui est devenu le symbole de cette ville et l’un des symboles de l’Australie les plus connus au monde.


L’Opéra de Sydney a été imaginé par le Danois Jørn Utzon et construit de de 1959 à 1973.



Utzon est devenu internationalement connu en 1957 quand il a gagné, de façon surprenante, la compétition internationale pour la construction de l’Opéra de Sydney, l’un des bâtiments les plus célèbres et distinctifs de la XXe siècle , et a déclaré en 2007 un site du patrimoine mondial . Son projet visionnaire, qui comprenait un toit formé par des obus de béton jusqu’à à 60 m de haut, comme les voiles d’un voilier, ouvert au port, a convaincu le jury contre 232 autres propositions, puisque viendront dans un concept d’opéra qui serait en mesure de devenir l’un des bâtiments les plus extraordinaires dans le monde.


L’impressionnant bâtiment situé sur une petite île dans la baie, en face de la ville, a été construit entre 1959 et 1973. L’été des œuvres complexes et tout au long de la critique du processus de construction Utzon pour les retards et le coût élevé du travail n’a pas empêché. Il était sous beaucoup de pression pour l’amener à quitter la direction des travaux, jusqu’à ce que finalement en 1966 n’a trouvé aucune autre façon hors et résigné, en revenant au Danemark avec sa famille. Utzon a fait beaucoup de voyages et de nombreuses œuvres internationales, qui ont réalisé un peu de projets dans son pays natal: quelques – uns des premiers complexes résidentiels (dans les années soixante), à l’ église Bagsværd (en 1977) et la création de mobilier Paustian (en 1987), situé dans le port nord de Copenhague. Son héritage au Danemark va continuer avec deux de ses trois enfants, aussi des architectes.


 

Jørn Utzon avec ses Ingénieurs 



 


Il est sans aucun doute l’un des bâtiments les plus remarquables du monde. Ce documentaire, nous avons fait des recherches interviews d’archives avec suprême d’ingénierie Ove Arup, dont la société a réussi à transformer la vision apparemment impossible de aclaimed architecte danois Jorn Utzen dans une réalité historique !


SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE  
icône incontestée de la ville de Sydney et de l’emblème de toute l’Australie, le bâtiment mythique de l’Opéra est, avec son profil unique qui évoque de grands marins coquilles qui se chevauchent à la voile navires ou d’orange, l’un des bâtiments les plus importants du siècle XX et même, dans l’histoire de l’architecture, au point que, en 2007, a été déclarée « patrimoine mondial ». 40, en 1973, le hall principal de l’Opéra a été inauguré, à partir de son chemin vers le statut d’icône il y a actuellement apprécié. Situé sur la péninsule de Bennelong Point, sur le magnifique port de Sydney, il a été conçu par le danois Jorn Utzon en 1957 et sa construction a été parsemée de divers problèmes constructifs structurelles, techniques et même politiques qui ont forcé l’auteur à modifier certains aspects de la conception original.


Anecdotes sur les désaccords entre Utzon et le cabinet de génie civil britannique Ove Arup, et en particulier entre Utzon et les politiciens australiens sont nombreux et variés. Ainsi, alors que dans le premier cas est encore débattue qui a attribué le succès de la solution géométrique qui est devenu dans la résolution constructive des voûtes, la seconde impliquerait la séparation du travail en termes hostiles en 1965, quand il fait face la définition de l’intérieur. Australian Peter Hall serait responsable du remplacement, réorganisant certains espaces acoustiques et résoudre les problèmes de la pièce principale.


Quant à l’Opéra, la caractéristique remarquable est, sans aucun doute, un complexe intérieur. Conçu comme une superposition de voûtes qui créent un effet dramatique, sa réalisation a impliqué plus d’un défi. La nécessité de définir sa géométrie représentait la première étape; pendant plus de six ans, l’équipe de conception a étudié différentes possibilités (paraboles, nervures circulaires et ellipsoïdes) et enfin, en 1961, a trouvé une solution: toutes les coquilles seraient sections de la même sphère, qui est, dans la forme géométrique simple et facile à contrôler. Cela a permis le calcul et a permis l’utilisation d’éléments préfabriqués en béton qui reposaient sur des nervures, également préfabriqués et du même matériau.


L’Opéra (183 mètres de longueur et 120 mètres au niveau de sa plus grande largeur) a une superficie de 1,8 hectare. Il est supporté par 580 piliers de béton qui s’enfoncent jusqu’à 25 mètres au-dessous du niveau de la mer. Ses besoins électriques équivalent ceux d’une ville de 25 000 habitants. Le courant est distribué par 645 kilomètres de câbles électriques. C’est la forme de l’Opéra qui fait particulièrement son originalité et sa notoriété. Elle s’organise principalement en deux séries de trois grands « coquillages » qui se recouvrent partiellement les uns les autres.


La toiture est composée de 1.056.006 tuiles de céramique blanche auto-nettoyantes ! Utzon avait conçu cet opéra mais en 1966, 3 ans après le début des travaux, il décida de ne plus participer au chantier à la suite d’un différend avec le nouveau gouvernement de Nouvelle-Galles du Sud. L’édifice fut terminé par un groupe d’architectes locaux.



60 ans d’histoire, un bâtiment emblématique pour célébrer la communauté, la narration et l’esprit créatif.

 

 

 

 


Un film sur l’Opéra de Sydney, en Australie, dix ans après le début de sa construction, en 1967, à la fin de la deuxième phase de construction, avec la base et les toits terminé. Il explique les problèmes liés à la conception initiale et l’architecte.Il montre les fondations et la base, les difficultés de conception des coques, et comment ils sont construits et les toits blancs carreaux et comment ils sont attachés. Le film souligne également les différents lieux qui seront dans le bâtiment à la fin.




Un court documentaire sur l’ingénierie de l’Opéra de Sydney créé pour Arup – la société d’ingénierie qui a travaillé sur le projet de départ en Australie 1963.
Vidéo produite par Hill & Knowlton. Producteur et Scénariste: Steve Cropper. Réalisateur: Steve Griffiths.






 


 

 



 


1973  Sydney Opera House un bref historique de sa conception et de la construction
Cette vidéo présente des images rares de la conception, la construction et la grande cérémonie d’ouverture de l’Opéra de Sydney en Octobre 1973 par Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II.
20 octobre 1973. La reine Elizabeth II ouvre officiellement la nouvelle Opéra de Sydney, conçue par l’architecte danois Joern Utzon. (Photo Keystone)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Vue aérienne de l’opéra de Sydney !



Sydney Opera House est un chef-d’œuvre classé au patrimoine mondial du génie créateur humain. Reconnu comme un centre des arts du spectacle de classe mondiale, le bâtiment est également célèbre pour son utilisation novatrice de renforcer et post tendue en béton comme un élément architectural important.




Une expérience à 360° capturer l’un des centres d’arts du spectacle les plus fréquentés du monde entre les actes – se réveiller, en répétition et au repos – mettant en vedette l’excellent jeune soprano australienne Nicole Car, violoncelliste et directeur de l’Orchestre symphonique de Sydney de la planification artistique, Benjamin Schwartz et Sydney Symphony Orchestra lui – même sous la direction de David Robertson, chef d’ orchestre et directeur artistique.



Vivid Sydney 2016 en Timelapse



Durée 15:51 – Australia, Sydney light show 2016 VIVID LIGHT Full time projection performance on Opéra House. Full HD 50 FPS




Vivid Sydney 2017


Vivid Sydney en 2017 : Illuminations autour du port avec le Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, MCA, dans les jardins botaniques et d’autres petites lumières. 


Vivid Sydney est le festival le plus spectaculaire d’éclairage extérieur, de musique et d’idées de Sydney et le plus grand de son genre dans l’hémisphère sud.

Vivid Sydney 2017, Sydney Opera House, Lighting of The Sails Audio Creatures 24/5/2017.


 


 


 


Chapeaux & Mode pour Sydney Opéra House



Pamela chapeau pour une danse de carnaval



Tout blanc et architectural !


L’opéra de Sydney se refait une beauté.
Une nouvelle identité visuelle pour un monument qui n’a pas pris une ride.

Jørn Utzon – attribué à Sydney Opera House  


LEGO – SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE



 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *