June Ludowici (1896-1983) The Ball House – Kugelhaus (1958)

Share Button


Boule Ball House

Ryanpanos ball house 1928 by retronaut the ball house Dresden was the first spherical building in the world, He had six levels and an elevator described in the press.

Mercure Leeds (1929) "Spherical houses, which is said to be very healthy, Dresden under construction are, Germany.

Johann Wilhelm Ludowici (1896-1983) was a German producer of bricks and Nazi official. After 1945, Ludowici designed spherical houses, obtained prototypes are in Jockgrim and Neupotz . A written several scientific articles on the construction and thermodynamics.

A Sphere Kugelhaus in the streets of London. (1958)


The Roundhouse in the picture a small spherical house invented by Juni Ludowici be towed on the Thames, in London, in 1958.



The Round House

Innovation is the key to any architectural project, but to develop buildings that are startling and, designers do not always need to look to the future. To help spark creative ideas, we found fascinating images of a futuristic house concept 1959, known under the name of The Roundhouse , and or " The Round House ».


Designed by architect Juni Ludowici, Das Rundhaus is a prefabricated spherical structure developed as a creative solution to the problem of overcrowding and limited space for new buildings in urban centers.

Despite shoehorning standard square furniture difficulties in a circular room, round houses have a few advantages over cube-shaped houses. They lock up the most volume for a given surface, making the most of a small plot of land. Furthermore, air flows more easily around their exterior walls, making them safer in storms and easier for homeowners to heat. A 4,5 meters in diameter and 15,9 square meters at its widest point, Das Rundhaus is certainly compact, but just look at what the architect has managed to fit inside!

A kitchen lounge, a bathroom, bedroom and hallway with large windows to let in the maximum possible light. The method of delivery of the building to its final destination is pretty impressive too.


Kugelhaus / home ball.
builder: Johann Wilhelm Ludowici
photographs from “Science and Mecanics” – January 1961


1959 The house, June Ludowici roundhouse

(Restoring a Kugelhaus) at Jockgrim – Germany

JOCKGRIM

Home up – photos credits : gsharald






The Daily Mail unearths a publication dating from 1934. In the Everyday Science and Mechanics magazine this time, inventors imagined that homes “in 80 years” (So in the years 2000) are giant spheres that could pull in moving.

While the concept may seem ingenious, the magazine does not say what happens to the furniture in the house during the relocation of the “home-sphere” which is rolled. The Daily Mail also says that many inventions shown in the Everyday Science and Mechanics magazine have never emerged…

And you ? What do you think of the house-sphere..

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Juni Ludowici (1896-1983) The Ball House – Kugelhaus (1958)

Share Button


Boule Kugelhaus

Ryanpanos maison de balle 1928 par retronaut la maison de balle Dresden a été le premier bâtiment sphérique dans le monde, il avait six niveaux et un ascenseur décrit par la presse.

Le Mercure Leeds (1929) « maisons sphériques, que l’on dit être très pratique et en bonne santé, sont en cours de construction à Dresde, Allemagne.

Johann Wilhelm Ludowici (1896-1983) était un Allemand producteur de briques et dignitaire nazi. Après 1945, Ludowici a conçu des maisons sphériques, des prototypes obtenus se trouvent dans Jockgrim et Neupotz .  A écrit plusieurs articles scientifiques sur la construction et de la thermodynamique.

Une Sphère Kugelhaus dans les rues de Londres. (1958)


Das Rundhaus sur la photo une petite maison sphérique inventée par Juni Ludowici être remorquée sur la Tamise, à Londres, en 1958.



The Round House

L’innovation est la clé de tout projet architectural, mais de développer des bâtiments qui sont saisissants et, les concepteurs ne sont pas toujours besoin de se tourner vers l’avenir. Pour aider à susciter des idées créatives, nous avons trouvé des images fascinantes d’une maison concept futuriste de 1959, connu sous le nom Das Rundhaus , et/ou « The Round House ».


Conçu par l’architecte Juni Ludowici, Das Rundhaus est une structure sphérique préfabriquée développée comme une solution créative au problème de la surpopulation et de l’espace restreint pour les nouveaux bâtiments dans les centres urbains.

Malgré les difficultés de shoehorning mobilier carré standard dans une salle circulaire, les maisons rondes ont quelques avantages par rapport aux maisons en forme de cube. Ils enferment le plus de volume pour une surface donnée, ce qui rend le plus d’une petite parcelle de terrain. De plus, l’air circule plus facilement autour de leurs murs extérieurs, les rendant plus sécuritaires dans les tempêtes et plus facile pour les propriétaires à la chaleur. A 4,5 mètres de diamètre et 15,9 mètres carrés à son point le plus large, Das Rundhaus est certainement compact, mais il suffit de regarder ce que l’architecte a réussi à adapter à l’intérieur!

Un salon-cuisine, une salle de bains, chambre et couloir avec de grandes fenêtres pour laisser entrer le maximum de lumière possible. La méthode de livraison du bâtiment jusqu’à sa destination finale est assez impressionnant aussi.


Kugelhaus / maison boule.
Constructeur: Johann Wilhelm Ludowici
photos tirées de « Science and Mecanics » – Janvier 1961


1959 Das Haus, Juni Ludowici Rundhaus  

(Restauration d’une Kugelhaus) à Jockgrim – Allemagne

JOCKGRIM

La maison en place – photos crédits : gsharald






Le Daily Mail déterre une publication datant de 1934. Dans le magazine Everyday Science and Mechanics de cette époque, des inventeurs avaient imaginé que les maisons « dans 80 ans » (donc dans les années 2000) seraient des sphères géantes que l’on pourrait tracter lors des déménagements.

Si le concept peut paraître ingénieux, le magazine ne dit cependant pas ce qui arrive aux meubles de la maison pendant le déménagement de la « maison-sphère » qui est roulée. La DailyMail précise également que de nombreuses inventions illustrées dans le magazine Everyday Science and Mechanics n’ont jamais vu le jour…

Et vous ? Que pensez-vous de la maison-sphère..

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *