Arthur Quarmby – Yorkshire, England

Share Button

The British architect Arthur Quarmby

Arthur Quarmby is deeply linked to the French architectural scene of postwar. In 1965, he joined and then collaborated with the Habitat evolutif association with Pascal Häusermann, Antti Knight et chanéac. In 1974, it reports news of international research on the plastic in the book The Plastics Architect. During the years 1980-1990, he will regularly collaborate in several architectural journals ...

Underground Villa by Arthur Quarmby Underhill 1970, designed by Arthur Quarmby in Holme, in West Yorkshire.

Architect Arthur Quarmby in front of his underground house near Huddersfield, 1981.

An architect retired West Yorkshire sells unique home he designed it over there 41 years. Arthur Quarmby, Huddersfield, created his Underhill home over 18 months and was hailed as one of the most amazing houses of the country.





Quarmby Arthur Emergency

From the late 1950, Arthur Quarmby experimenting, in line with the architect Ionel Schein met 1959, new architectural solutions of plastics, both in modular, light and transportable. After an initial order for English railways (Relay Room System, 1959-61), it applies its principles to certain extreme situations requiring temporary housing, as scientific expeditions or emergency shelter (Emergency Mass Housing Units, 1962) but also to everyday life.

In 1968, Arthur Quarmby declines three architectural proposals for the Brighton marina, testifying to the structural research he was conducting at the time : Rigid Domes is a circular geodesic structure, a suspended structure consisting of a frame covered with stretched fabrics. A pneumatic structure that unfolds like inflatable cells around a core. The principles and forms of these structures seem to be inspired by natural forms, like fruit, flowers or shells.

FRAC CENTER – Project Brighton Marina, 1968.

FRAC Centre (Archives)

Arthur Quarmby


The Touchables


Made by Pakamac, the dome was designed by Arthur Quarmby, an architect very enthusiastic about the possibilities offered by the combination of plastic and pneumatics. Building with these materials and technologies had the potential to free designers from some of the constraints that previously determined the formal and aesthetic properties of a building., and made possible some of the most playful ovoid / spherical designs that have emerged over the years 1960. Showing that the phrase explode had more than one meaning at the time, Quarmby had developed in 1964 a prototype of an inflatable chair – a type of furniture that, like paper dresses and cardboard seats, spoke of modernity and disposable of a certain type of fashion of the years 60.


Several years later, Quarmby recalled that the dome desired by director Robert Freeman was an inherently problematic shape : “A three-quarter-sphere is quite a suspicious shape from a pneumatic point of view - the conditions of pressure and uplift vary around it and a difficult concentration of stress develops on top of it.’ In short, the dome looked beautiful, but was prone to wind damage. It was a problem that would haunt the production, especially since the filming of the film did not start until September. 1967 – just in time for windier fall weather. Indeed, concerns about weather conditions and the rising cost of using the dome have persuaded producers to change filming locations from a location in the Lake District to Surrey, calmer meteorologically.

Following various "misadventures", Film Designs has taken delivery of four different domes, each costing 2 400 £. Daily progress reports compiled by production manager John Oldknow provide insight into issues encountered :

On Monday 6 November : « [Third] Dôme arrived on site at 8:30 am »

Thusday 9 November 1967 : "Dome successfully inflated.

Saturday 11 November 1967 : ‘The dome was totally destroyed at 12:15 a.m.’

The production team finally took a fatalistic stance towards this capricious plastic god : "It is obviously impossible to predict what will happen with these domes, even if based on past experience, it seems unlikely that we will finish filming without further disasters ”.


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Arthur Quarmby – Yorkshire, Angleterre

Share Button

L’architecte britannique Arthur Quarmby

Arthur Quarmby est profondément lié à la scène architecturale française de l’après-guerre. En 1965, il adhère et puis collabore à l’association Habitat évolutif avec Pascal Häusermann, Chanéac et Antti Lovag. En 1974, il rend compte de l’actualité des recherches internationales sur le plastique dans l’ouvrage The Plastics Architect. Durant les années 1980-1990, il collaborera régulièrement à plusieurs revues d’architecture…

Villa souterraine d’Arthur Quarmby Underhill 1970, conçue par Arthur Quarmby à Holme, dans l’ouest du Yorkshire.

Architecte Arthur Quarmby devant sa maison souterraine près de Huddersfield, 1981.

Un architecte à la retraite à West Yorkshire vend la maison unique qu’il a conçue il y a plus de 41 ans. Arthur Quarmby, de Huddersfield, a créé sa maison Underhill sur une période de 18 mois et a été salué comme l’une des maisons les plus étonnantes du pays.





Quarmby Arthur Emergency

Dès la fin des années 1950, Arthur Quarmby expérimente, dans la lignée de l’architecte Ionel Schein rencontré en 1959, de nouvelles solutions architecturales en matières plastiques, à la fois modulables, légères et transportables. Après une première commande pour les chemins de fer anglais (Relay Room System, 1959-61), il applique ses principes à certaines situations extrêmes nécessitant un habitat temporaire, comme les expéditions scientifiques ou l’abri d’urgence (Emergency Mass Housing Units, 1962) mais aussi à la vie quotidienne.

En 1968, Arthur Quarmby décline trois propositions architecturales pour la marina de Brighton, témoignant des recherches structurales qu’il mène à l’époque : Rigid Domes est une structure géodésique circulaire, une  structure en suspension se composant d’une armature recouverte de tissus tendus. Une Structure en pneumatique qui se déploie comme des alvéoles gonflable autour d’un noyau. Les principes et les formes de ces structures semblent inspirés de formes naturelles, comme les fruits, les fleurs ou les coquillages.

FRAC CENTRE – Project Brighton Marina, 1968.

FRAC Centre (Archives)

Arthur Quarmby 


The Touchables


Fabriqué par Pakamac, le dôme avait été conçu par Arthur Quarmby, un architecte très enthousiasmé par les possibilités offertes par la combinaison du plastique et de la pneumatique. Construire avec ces matériaux et technologies avait le potentiel de libérer les concepteurs de certaines des contraintes qui avaient auparavant déterminé les propriétés formelles et esthétiques d’un bâtiment, et a rendu possible certaines des conceptions ovoïdes/sphériques les plus ludiques qui ont émergé au cours des années 1960. Démontrant que l’expression exploser avait plus d’un sens à l’époque, Quarmby avait développé en 1964 un prototype de chaise gonflable – un type de mobilier qui, comme les robes en papier et les sièges en carton, parlait de la modernité et du jetable d’un certain type de la mode des années 60.


Quelques années plus tard, Quarmby a rappelé que le dôme souhaité par le réalisateur Robert Freeman était une forme intrinsèquement problématique : « une sphère aux trois quarts est une forme assez louche du point de vue pneumatique – les conditions de pression et de soulèvement varient autour d’elle et une concentration difficile de contraintes se développe à la couronner.’ En bref, le dôme avait l’air magnifique, mais était sujet aux dommages causés par le vent. C’était un problème qui hanterait la production, d’autant plus que le tournage du film n’a commencé qu’en septembre 1967 – juste à temps pour un temps d’automne plus venteux. En effet, les inquiétudes concernant les conditions météorologiques et le coût croissant de l’utilisation du dôme ont persuadé les producteurs de changer de lieu de tournage d’un site du Lake District à Surrey, plus calme sur le plan météorologique.

À la suite de diverses « mésaventures », Film Designs a pris livraison de quatre dômes différents, chacun coûtant 2 400 £. Les rapports d’avancement quotidiens compilés par le directeur de production John Oldknow donnent un aperçu des problèmes rencontrés :

Lundi 6 novembre : « [Troisième] Dôme est arrivé sur place à 8h30 »

Jeudi 9 novembre 1967 : « Dôme gonflé avec succès.

Samedi 11 novembre 1967 : ‘Le dôme a été totalement détruit à 00h15’

L’équipe de production a finalement adopté une attitude fataliste envers ce dieu plastique capricieux : « Il est évidemment impossible de prédire ce qui se passera avec ces dômes, même si d’après l’expérience passée, il semble peu probable que nous terminions le tournage sans autres catastrophes ».


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.