Manuel Herz (2004-2017) Germany

Share Button

 

Legal / Illegal / (2004) Manuel Herz – Architect


Bayenthal, 50968. Cologne The site 5,50 m wide and 25 m deep, associated with all standards, rules, fire regulations, building laws, municipal development plan and building rules near historic buildings, results in a very clearly defined and unambiguous volume. Form follows law ! This starting position constitutes the first volume of the building: a transparent volume (as transparent as the law, as Kafka said) et orthogonal, standing out from history by a meter and thus reacting to the limit of the municipal building. In the back part of the site, a complete construction covering the entire site is obviously not authorized in accordance with the development plan, a reduction in volume is created by terraces on each level. This is the appropriate volume of the building, which is formulated according to all laws and binds to rules : Volume “legal”.


The second volume is the challenging volume. How many rules can be ignored in a place dominated and strangled by rules? The whole volume is not allowed to exist, because its total area exceeds the maximum area authorized in the urban master plan. Therefore, the volume per se is illegal. Each surface of its faceted volume casts a “shadow zone” on neighboring sites, prohibited by German planning law.
Fire regulations are ignored or only respected indirectly and the main mass of the volume crosses the municipal construction line, passing the historic monument of the door, in the street. Not a single exterior wall is standing perpendicular to the vertical and the differentiation between the wall, the roof and the ground, the main categories of building elements in architecture, is dissolved.


It took two years of negotiation with the local planning authority to get the plans approved. The fact that the building violates certain rules has never been hidden. In fact, the title of the project "Legal / Illegal ”was printed on each submitted plan. Instead of a subversive approach that hides deviations from the rules and attempts to use loopholes in the law, the architect chose a very frank approach consisting in openly confronting the administration with the digressions. The project thus tries to reveal the absurdities of the surplus of planning regulations rather than to work its way around it. The project also tries to create unique spaces to live and work in a neglected site.






© Boris Becker



MANUEL HEART



Plan North West – Variations of balconies


the building contains five residences in a residential area in central Zurich, architect Manuel Herz designed a house with a striking facade comprising functional horizontal and vertical louvers. Manuel Herz, Ballet Mecanique is the nickname given to this urban villa in the residential district of Seefeld, in Zurich.



Although the scale and organization of the design of Manuel Herz are comparable to other residential structures in the neighborhood, the appearance of the building takes on a very different character. The geometrically simple shape of the structure contrasts with its dynamic facade, which gives its name to the project: "Mechanical Ballet".




The diagram includes horizontal and vertical louvers of rounded triangular shape which unfold to become accessible balconies with corresponding roofs. vertical louvers darken rooms when closed, or offer privacy and privacy when open. The adaptable nature of the design means that a series of temporary spaces can be created and used depending on the time of day or season.
using a hydraulic mechanism, four different types of façade elements were installed: a mobile element with a ramp that can be deployed to become an accessible balcony; a mobile component without railing serving as a shading device; a static element which provides permanently accessible balconies and sections of static closed walls having the same shape as the other elements.
the building has a uniform tone of champagne color and slightly metallic. However, the interior sides of the shutters have a spectrum of colors varying between red and blue. This means that when the facade is open, a rainbow of red and blue enlivens the otherwise monochrome facades of the building.





the shutters can be closed to ensure privacy and darkness !






design includes functional horizontal and vertical louvers.



© yuri palmin

© yuri palmin
© yuri palmin



Location : zurich – seefeld
use : housing (five apartments)
Client private : completion: July 2017.
Surface : env. 800 m2 (incl. Subsoil)
volume : env. (Incl. Under – sol) 2650 m3
Architect : Manuel de Herz, basel
Teams : stefan schoch (Project Manager), penny alevizou
Customer representative : Odinga Picenoni hagen AG, zürich
Construction management Bühler & Oettli AG, zürich
Structural engineers, façade : dr. lüchinger + Meyer construction engineers AG, zurich
HVAC and sanitation planning : / MAS engineering gmbh,
Glattbrugg building physics , Acoustic / Gartenmann engineering AG, zürich
Construction brute : jenny & co AG, ennenda, glarus
Balcony facade : SFL technologies, stallhofen, Austria
Carpenter : johann rasshofer carpentry, gmund, Germany
Metal construction : schneebeli metallbau, zürich
Floor : a1 industrial fines, zürich.


MANUEL HEART


source: http://www.manuelherz.com/legal-illegal-cologne

source: https://www.archdaily.com/133678/legal-illegal-manuel-herz-architects

source: https://www.designboom.com/architecture/manuel-herz-ballet-mechanique-housing-zurich-switzerland-08-22-2018/

source: https://www.wallpaper.com/architecture/ballet-mecanique-manuel-herz-zurich



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Manuel Herz (2004-2017) Allemagne

Share Button

 

Legal / Illegal (2004) Manuel Herz – Architecte


Bayenthal, 50968. Cologne Le site de 5,50 m de large et 25 m de profondeur, associé à toutes les normes, règles, réglementations anti-incendie, lois sur la construction, plan de développement municipal et règles de construction à proximité de bâtiments historiques, se traduit par un volume très clairement défini et non ambigu. La forme suit la loi ! Cette position de départ constitue le premier volume du bâtiment: un volume transparent (aussi transparent que la loi, comme l’a dit Kafka) et orthogonal, se détachant de l’histoire par un mètre et réagissant ainsi à la limite du bâtiment municipal. Dans la partie arrière du site, une construction complète couvrant l’ensemble du site n’étant évidemment pas autorisée conformément au plan de développement, une réduction du volume est créée par des terrasses à chaque niveau. C’est le volume approprié du bâtiment, qui est formulé selon toutes les lois et se lie aux règles : Le volume “légal”.


Le deuxième volume est le volume défiant. Combien de règles peuvent être ignorées dans un lieu dominé et étranglé par des règles? Le volume dans son ensemble n’a pas le droit d’exister, car sa superficie totale dépasse la surface maximale autorisée dans le plan directeur urbain. Par conséquent, le volume en soi est illégal. Chaque surface de son volume à facettes jette une “zone d’ombre” sur les sites voisins, interdite par la loi allemande sur la planification.
Les réglementations anti-incendie sont ignorées ou seulement respectées indirectement et la masse principale du volume traverse la ligne de construction municipale, en dépassant le monument historique de la porte, dans la rue. Pas un seul mur extérieur n’est debout perpendiculairement à la verticale et la différenciation entre le mur, le toit et le sol, les principales catégories d’éléments de construction dans l’architecture, est dissoute.


Il a fallu deux ans de négociation avec l’administration de la planification locale pour faire approuver les plans. Le fait que le bâtiment viole certaines règles n’a jamais été caché. En fait, le titre du projet «Legal / Illégal» a été imprimé sur chaque plan soumis. Au lieu d’une approche subversive qui cache des écarts de règles et des tentatives d’utilisation de failles dans la loi, l’architecte a choisi une approche très franche consistant à confronter ouvertement l’administration aux digressions. Le projet tente ainsi de révéler les absurdités du surplus des réglementations de planification plutôt que de se frayer un chemin autour de lui. Le projet tente également de créer des espaces uniques pour vivre et travailler dans un chantier négligé.






© Boris Becker



MANUEL HERZ



Plan Nord Ouest – Variations des Balcons


le Bâtiment contient cinq résidences dans un quartier résidentiel du centre de Zurich, l’architecte Manuel Herz a conçu une maison à la façade frappante comprenant des persiennes horizontales et verticales fonctionnelles. Manuel Herz, Ballet Mecanique est le surnom donné à cette villa urbaine dans le quartier résidentiel de Seefeld, à Zurich.



Bien que l’échelle et l’organisation du design de Manuel Herz soient comparables aux autres structures résidentielles du quartier, l’apparence du bâtiment revêt un caractère très différent. La forme géométriquement simple de la structure contraste avec sa façade dynamique, qui donne son nom au projet: «Ballet Mécanique».




Le schéma comprend des persiennes horizontales et verticales de forme triangulaire arrondie qui se déplient pour devenir des balcons accessibles avec des toits correspondants. les persiennes verticales assombrissent les pièces lorsqu’elles sont fermées, ou offrent intimité et intimité lorsqu’elles sont ouvertes. La nature adaptable de la conception signifie qu’une série d’espaces temporaires peut être créée et utilisée en fonction du moment de la journée ou de la saison.
en utilisant un mécanisme hydraulique, quatre types d’éléments de façade différents ont été installés: un élément mobile avec une rampe pouvant se déployer pour devenir un balcon accessible; un composant mobile sans garde-corps servant de dispositif d’ombrage; un élément statique qui fournit des balcons accessibles en permanence et des sections de murs fermés statiques ayant la même forme que les autres éléments.
le bâtiment présente un ton uniforme de couleur champagne et légèrement métallique. Cependant, les côtés intérieurs des persiennes présentent un spectre de couleurs variant entre le rouge et le bleu. Cela signifie que lorsque la façade est ouverte, un arc-en-ciel de rouge et de bleu anime les façades autrement monochromes du bâtiment.





les persiennes peuvent être fermées pour assurer l’intimité et l’obscurité !






la conception comprend des persiennes horizontales et verticales fonctionnelles.



© yuri palmin

© yuri palmin
© yuri palmin



Emplacement : zurich – seefeld
Utilisation : logement (cinq appartements)
Client privé : achèvement: juillet 2017.
Superficie : env. 800 m2 (incl. Sous-sol)
volume : env. (Incl. Sous – sol) 2650 m3
Architecte : Manuel de Herz, basel
Equipes : stefan Schöch (chef de projet), penny alevizou
Représentant du client : Odinga Picenoni hagen AG, zürich
Gestion de la construction Bühler & Oettli AG, zürich
Ingénieurs de structure, façade : dr. lüchinger + meyer bauingenieure AG, zurich
HVAC et planification de l’assainissement : / MAS engineering gmbh,
Physique du bâtiment glattbrugg , Acoustique / gartenmann engineering AG, zürich
Construction brute : jenny & co AG, ennenda, glarus
Façade du balcon : SFL technologies, stallhofen, autriche
Menuisier : johann rasshofer schreinerei, gmund, deutschland
Metal construction : schneebeli metallbau, zürich
Plancher : a1 industrieböden, zürich.


MANUEL HERZ


source: http://www.manuelherz.com/legal-illegal-cologne

source: https://www.archdaily.com/133678/legal-illegal-manuel-herz-architects

source: https://www.designboom.com/architecture/manuel-herz-ballet-mechanique-housing-zurich-switzerland-08-22-2018/

source: https://www.wallpaper.com/architecture/ballet-mecanique-manuel-herz-zurich



 

 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.