Museum (2001-2003) Kunsthaus, Graz Austria

Share Button

Museum of Modern Art of Kunsthaus Graz
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Austria


HOUSE " Haus » d’ART « art »
is the art museum in the Austrian city of Graz.


The Studio CRAB
(Cook Robotham Architectural Bureau)

Sir Peter Cook and Colin Fournier
Kunsthaus Graz opened in 2003


The Downtown is classified world cultural heritage since 1999, in 2003 Graz was chosen by the European Union as the cultural capital of Europe. This Austrian Guggenheim will host exhibitions of photographs.. Located in the historic heart of the Austrian city of Graz, on the west bank of the river Mur, Kunsthaus is an art center whose organic and strange architecture earned it the nickname "alien kind". This structure is a bridge between the historical and the modern, it is important for the city and offers more 2 500 m2 of space generously arranged for exhibitions of contemporary art and various events. Its amorphous blue bubble background in the protected heritage and even wife buildings that surround it. This bubble is composed of 1 288 panels of semi-transparent acrylic and photovoltaic units. A daring integration for a unique design ...


blob15


Map of Cross Section
In total, there is 11 100 m² usable space on four floors and underground parking, shared with a store, for 146 vehicles.



23a7faee9dbfd00f435111de68978cf5

 

 


Kunsthaus Graz – Light body




The building skin covered with BIX provides a unique fusion of architecture and new media, based on a concept of architects and artists from Berlin. The BIX wall concept, neologism formed from Big and PIXEL, is an acrylic glass surface on the front of the building looking at the wall and the city center. It has an enormous urban screen that serves as support for artistic productions. The BIX project accompanies different exhibitions and is not transported to the public area, also the direct environment is defined and built.

BIX media facade designed by Berlin designers realities


Constitutes a unique fusion of architecture technology and media. Indeed a large screen in the middle of the city, it acts as a communication tool of the & rsquo; s.

The surprising and refined form of the building that is radically different from the usual type of d & rsquo places; exposure, most of the time faithful to the modernist tradition of the "white cube". The team of architects chose an innovative architectural expression in the movement of what is called the architecture blob which they immerse in a twentieth century architectural context of the outskirts of the Mur river.


This large building called Friendly Alien by its authors Peter Cook (d’Archigram) and Colin Fournier, contrast voluntarily by its shape and materials of the landscape surrounding baroque roof, with their red clay tiles, but however it retains a molten facade 1847 d & rsquo building; origin.

blob01

blob25



blob04




The French architect Colin Fournier stands on the roof of the new modern art museum Graz.


But it has also become a milestone in the & rsquo; urban identity of the city of Graz. As a center d & rsquo; exhibition & rsquo; contemporary art, Kunsthaus presents & rsquo; Austrian and international art from 1960. The museum was built for cultural events 2003 when the city was European Capital of Culture, and since the & rsquo; one of the main monuments of the city. Its programming is specialized in & rsquo; contemporary art of the last four decades. installed 2003 the banks of the Mur River, the museum hosts temporary exhibitions & rsquo; multidisciplinary art, combining design, new media, videos, etc…

blob19

La communicating outer skin (communicating the outer coating) also offers the possibility of a very powerful trading platform for art projects, allowing them a dialogue with the environment around the Cultural Center. 930 fluorescent rings 40 watts each are located in 900 square meter of the outer skin, with an intensity variation from 0 at 100 % bearingless. Each light ring functions as a pixel which can be connected to a central computer. A novelty is the design of 1500 plastic panels of different shape of the backlit façade, which can be used as a media wall.

blob06

blob14

blob16 blob17

blob24

blob20

blob09

The Kunsthaus coating the lights become the pixels of a giant projection screen !


Photo Credits Peter Cook and Colin Fournier.



http://realities-united.de/#PROJECT,69,1
http://blog.visualarq.com/2015/09/03/floating-architecture/

http://www.journal-du-design.fr/architecture/kunsthaus-par-sir-peter-cook-et-colin-fournier-31827/
https://www.inexhibit.com/case-studies/kunsthaus-graz/
https://www.arch2o.com/kunsthaus-graz-peter-cook-and-colin-fournier/


+ BONUS +


Mur Island, an island-building

l'ile sure the Wall from Vito Acconci 2003

Architect Vito Acconci Studio, de New York.


Type : Amphitheater, coffee and playground

The Studio has modeled an artificial floating island on the Mur River. Run by an anchor, the measure building 47 m long and is stabilized by two plots which connect it to the bank. The twist of the reticular structure filled steel glass forms a bowl in conjunction with a dome. The bowl functions as public outdoor amphitheater, which when not in use, acts as a place connecting a ride around the river Mur. The dome works as a cafe / restaurant where tables and chairs are taking shape in the initial form. This game between dome and bowl, ultimately form a wave of steel and glass that cut the river. The building is fully traversable day and night, functioning as a public space open to the city.


Modelization :

Starting from a triple function (theater, café, playground), a dome, which becomes a coffee and twisting and deformation of the resulting space, we obtain a playground. One enters under a canopy that twists down to create seated around the coffee. Spaces are defined by a progressive form created through digital continuum.

Materialization & Materials : steel, glass, rubber, asphalt

There is no additional information findable on the making of the project but construction is thought regardless of the form, it can be assumed that the structure is a steel bar assembly allowing reaching wavelike, with a cast floor concrete and a thin steel structure for furniture covered by a blue rubber gauge. The coating of the bridge, turning into corridor within the structure, is asphalt, allowing continuity with the public ground.



Coffee Murinsel, island in the river Mur, designed by the architect Acconci, Graz, Styria, Austria



The New York artist Vito Acconci designed a steel structure grid-shaped semi-open shell.

The open portion – an amphitheater for performances but also a resting place for sun lovers. The covered part – a very trendy cafe. The island also functions as a bridge between the two banks of the river Mur.






 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Musée (2001-2003) Kunsthaus, Graz Autriche

Share Button

Musée d’Art Moderne de Kunsthaus Graz
Lendkai 1, 8020 Graz, Autriche


MAISON « Haus » d’ART « Kunst »
est le musée d’art de la ville autrichienne de Graz.


The Studio CRAB
(Cook Robotham Architectural Bureau)

Sir Peter Cook et Colin Fournier
Le Kunsthaus Graz a ouvert ses portes en 2003


Le Centre-Ville est classé patrimoine mondial culturel depuis 1999, en 2003 Graz a été choisi par l’Union européenne comme la capitale culturelle de l’Europe. Ce Guggenheim Autrichien accueillera des expositions de photographies.. Situé en plein cœur historique de la ville autrichienne de Graz, sur la rive ouest de la rivière Mur, le Kunsthaus est un centre d’art dont l’architecture organique et étrange lui a valu le surnom de « gentil alien ». Cette structure est un véritable pont entre l’historique et le moderne, il joue un rôle important pour la ville et offre plus de 2 500 m2 d’espace généreusement disposés pour des expositions d’art contemporain et divers événements. Sa forme de bulle bleue amorphe se fond dans le patrimoine protégé et épouse même les immeubles qui l’entourent. Cette bulle est composée de 1 288 panneaux de verre acrylique semi-transparent et d’unités photovoltaïques. Une intégration osée pour une conception unique…


blob15


Plan de la Coupe transversale
Au total, il y a 11 100 m² d’espace utilisable répartis sur quatre étages et un parking souterrain, partagé avec un grand magasin, pour 146 véhicules.



23a7faee9dbfd00f435111de68978cf5

 

 


Kunsthaus Graz – Lichtkörper




La peau du bâtiment recouverte de BIX procure une singulière fusion entre l’architecture et les nouveaux médias, basée sur un concept des architectes et artistes berlinois. Le concept de parois BIX, néologisme formé à partir de Big et PIXEL, est une surface en verre acrylique sur la façade est du bâtiment regardant la Mur et le centre-ville. Elle présente un écran urbain démesuré qui sert de support pour des productions artistiques. Le projet BIX accompagne différentes expositions et ne sont pas transportée dans la zone publique, aussi l’environnement direct est défini et construit.

BIX médias façade conçue par Berlin designers réalités


Constitue une fusion unique de la technologie de l’architecture et des médias. En effet un grand écran au milieu de la ville, il agit comme un instrument de communication de l’art.

La forme surprenante et épurée du bâtiment qui diffère radicalement de la typologie habituelle des lieux d’exposition, la plupart du temps fidèle à la tradition moderniste du « cube blanc ». L’équipe d’architectes a choisi une expression architecturale innovante dans la mouvance de ce qu’on appelle le blob architecture qu’ils plongent dans un contexte architectural du xxième siècle des faubourgs de la rivière Mur.


Ce grand bâtiment appelé Friendly Alien par ses auteurs Peter Cook (d’Archigram) et Colin Fournier, contraste volontairement par sa forme et ses matériaux avec le paysage de toits baroques alentour, avec leur tuiles en argile rouge, mais cependant il conserve une façade en fonte de 1847 du bâtiment d’origine.

blob01

blob25



blob04




L’architecte français Colin Fournier se dresse sur le toit du nouveau musée d’art moderne Graz.


Mais il est aussi devenu un jalon essentiel dans l’identité urbaine de la ville de Graz. En tant que centre d’exposition d’art contemporain, le Kunsthaus présente l’art autrichien et international à partir de 1960. Le musée a été construit en vue des manifestations culturelles de 2003 alors que la ville était capitale européenne de la culture, et est depuis l’un des principaux monuments de la ville. Sa programmation est spécialisée dans l’art contemporain de ces quatre dernières décennies. Installé en 2003 au bord de la rivière Mur, le musée accueille des expositions temporaires d’art multidisciplinaire, mariant design, nouveaux médias, vidéos, etc…

blob19

La communicating outer skin (le revêtement externe communiquant) offre aussi la possibilité d’une plate-forme d’échange très percutante pour des projets artistiques, leur permettant un dialogue avec l’environnement autour du Centre culturel. 930 anneaux fluorescents de 40 watts chacun sont implantés dans les 900 m² de la peau extérieure, avec une variation d’intensité allant de 0 à 100 % sans palier. Chaque anneau lumineux fonctionne comme un pixel pouvant être relié à un ordinateur central. Une nouveauté est la conception de 1500 panneaux en plastique de forme différente de la façade rétro-éclairée, qui peut être utilisé comme un mur de médias.

blob06

blob14

blob16 blob17

blob24

blob20

blob09

Les lumières du revêtement du Kunsthaus deviennent des pixels d’un écran de projection géant !


Crédits Photos de Peter Cook et Colin Fournier.



http://realities-united.de/#PROJECT,69,1
http://blog.visualarq.com/2015/09/03/floating-architecture/

http://www.journal-du-design.fr/architecture/kunsthaus-par-sir-peter-cook-et-colin-fournier-31827/
https://www.inexhibit.com/case-studies/kunsthaus-graz/
https://www.arch2o.com/kunsthaus-graz-peter-cook-and-colin-fournier/


 + BONUS +


Mur Island, un bâtiment-île

l’ile sur la Mur de Vito Acconci  2003

Architecte Vito Acconci Studio, de New York.


Type : Amphithéâtre, café et aire de jeux

Le Studio a modélisé une île flottante artificielle sur le Mur River. Tenu par une ancre, le bâtiment mesure 47 m de long et est stabilisée par deux parcelles qui le relient à la berge. La torsion de la structure réticulaire en acier remplie de verre forme un bol en relation avec un dome. Le bol fonctionne comme amphithéâtre extérieur public, qui lorsqu’il n’est pas utilisé, agit comme une place reliant une balade autour de la rivière Mur. Le dome fonctionne comme un café/restaurant où les tables et les chaises prennent forme dans la forme initiale. Ce jeu entre dome et bol, forme finalement une vague d’acier et de verre qui coupe la rivière. Le bâtiment est donc entièrement traversable de jour et de nuit, fonctionnant comme un espace public ouvert à la ville.


Modélisation :

En partant d’une triple fonction (théâtre, café, aire de jeux), un dôme, qui devient un café et avec la torsion et la déformation de l’espace résultante, on obtient un playground. On entre sous une canopée qui se tord vers le bas pour créer des assises autour du café. Les espaces sont définit par une forme évolutive créée grâce au continuum numérique.

Matérialisation & Matériaux : acier, verre, caoutchouc, asphalte

Il n’y pas d’informations supplémentaires trouvables sur la fabrication du projet mais la construction étant pensée indépendamment de la forme, on peut supposer que la structure est un assemblage de barres d’acier permettant une grande portée en forme de vague, avec un sol coulé en béton et une structure fine en acier pour le mobilier recouvert par une épaisseur de caoutchouc bleu. Le revêtement de la passerelle, se transformant en couloir à l’intérieur de la structure, est en asphalte, permettant une continuité avec le sol public.



Café à Murinsel, île de la rivière Mur, conçu par l’architecte Vito Acconci, Graz, Styrie, Autriche



L’artiste New-Yorkais Vito Acconci a conçu une structure en grille d’acier en forme de coquillage semi-ouvert.

La partie ouverte – un amphithéâtre pour les performances mais aussi un lieu de repos pour les amateurs de soleil. La partie couverte – un café très branché. L’île fonctionne également comme un pont entre les deux rives de la rivière Mur.






 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *