Oscar Niemeyer Sphere (2017) Leipzig, Germany

Share Button

Architectural legend Oscar Niemeyer (1907-2012)


In a factory in Leipzig-Plagwitz for Oscar Niemeyer. The man from 104 years at the time had promised him a design which he had also delivered in 2012 a coffee / bar and lounge in a concrete ball sliced ​​above the cobblestones on the Kirow site. “Oscar Niemeyer Sphere” is carried out by Harald Kern Architekturatelier, Leipzig, in partnership with Jair Valera, Rio de Janeiro. Valera had been a friend and right-hand man in Niemeyer's studio since the mid-years 1970 and therefore knew the architect of the century very well.


The concrete ball, whose two large openings are closed by geodesic steel frames made of glass ball segments, measured 12 m in diameter and is made of white concrete (exposed concrete class SB 4). The concrete skin of the sphere has a thickness of 200 mm over its entire surface and is insulated on the inside. The sphere itself protrudes into the street from a red reinforced concrete well at a height of about 8 m. The Sphere has three floors: a lower floor, which is mainly used to accommodate building services, a coffee level / bar central (about 45 m²) and the living room (about 91 m²), whose ground is level the equatorial plane of the sphere is located. The service is hidden by a tiled partition on which a drawing by Oscar Niemeyer will be seen. The company is the same that set up the mansions in Dessau for BFM Architects (DBZ 09 | 2014).

The realization of the Geodesic Sphere which began at the end of April 2017, and commissioning is scheduled for these months it will provide space for approximately 50 guests..

The sphere was developed in 3D (roughing in formwork including SHK), the Concrete worker had 2D plans in hand.

There were delays in the construction process, in particular due to the manufacture of the glass elements, that two companies have failed. In the meantime, a metallurgist has been found, confident in production and able to prove it in model buildings. Merck responds to excessive heat input with Liquid Crystal Windows liquid crystal technology (LCW) she developed. The crystals are electrically aligned so that the glass surfaces can be switched from transparent to opaque. Furthermore, LCW technology allows color change, from a very transparent light gray to almost black.



 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Oscar Niemeyer Sphère (2017) Leipzig, Allemagne

Share Button

La légende architecturale Oscar Niemeyer  (1907-2012)


La réalisation de la Sphère Géodésique qui a commencé fin avril 2017, et la mise en service est prévue pour ces mois-ci elle offrira un espace pour environ 50 invités..


Dans une usine de Leipzig-Plagwitz pour Oscar Niemeyer. L’homme de 104 ans à l’époque lui avait promis un design qu’il avait également livré en 2012 un café / bar et un lounge dans une boule de béton tranchée au-dessus des pavés sur le site de Kirow. « Oscar Niemeyer Sphère » est réalisée par Harald Kern Architekturatelier, Leipzig, en partenariat avec Jair Valera, Rio de Janeiro. Valera était une amie et bras droit dans l’atelier de Niemeyer depuis le milieu des années 1970 et connaissait donc très bien l’architecte du siècle. 


La société est la même qui a mis en place les maisons de maîtres à Dessau pour BFM Architects (DBZ 09 | 2014).


La boule de béton, dont les deux grandes ouvertures sont fermées par des cadres en acier géodésique en segments de boule de verre, mesure 12 m de diamètre et est constituée de béton blanc (béton apparent classe SB 4). La peau de béton de la sphère a une épaisseur de 200 mm sur toute sa surface et est isolée à l’intérieur. La sphère elle-même fait saillie dans la rue à partir d’un puits en béton armé rouge à une hauteur d’environ 8 m. La Sphère a trois étages: un étage inférieur, qui est principalement utilisé pour accueillir les services du bâtiment, un niveau café / bar central (environ 45 m²) et le salon (environ 91 m²), dont le sol est de niveau le plan équatorial de la sphère est localisé. Le service est caché par une cloison carrelée sur laquelle un dessin d’Oscar Niemeyer sera vu.


La sphère a été développée en 3D (ébauche au coffrage y compris SHK), le Bétoniste avait des plans 2D en main.

 

Il y a eu des retards dans le processus de construction, notamment en raison de la fabrication des éléments en verre, que deux sociétés ont échoué. Entre-temps, un métallurgiste a été trouvé, confiant dans la production et capable de le prouver dans des bâtiments modèles. Merck réagit à un apport de chaleur excessif grâce à la technologie à cristaux liquides Liquid Crystal Windows (LCW) qu’elle a développée. Les cristaux sont électriquement alignés de sorte que les surfaces en verre peuvent être commutées de transparent à opaque. De plus, la technologie du LCW permet de changer la couleur, d’un gris clair très transparent à presque noir.












 





 



 

 


 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *