Roger Dean & Martyn – Ashford, England

Share Button

ROGER DEAN

ANAMORPHIC ARCHITECTONIC ARCHITECTURE

ROGER DEAN

Tectonic architecture with Roger Dean and his brother Martyn Dean.


“Roundabout” by the Group YES _ Year : 1972 &  Album : Fragile

duration: 52:09 is the third studio album by English progressive rock band YES.

Roger Dean, born the 31 August 1944 Ashford, is an English artist.
It is probably the best known of the artists involved in the progressive rock and illustration thanks logos and covers he designed soon 1971 for the group YES and then to Asia and Greenslade. Dean's paintings and album covers are known worldwide, and futuristic style was much imitated. The mythical beasts and the dazzling clarity of light and color are its hallmark, but at the heart of much of his work are the wonderful buildings that mushroom in his cobalt skies. Fantastic, because they can watch, this are structures of architecture designs which can be constructed.





 Armchairs and Pods from Kubrick's Clockwork Orange Film

Capsule – I POD Dean Retreat Pod

The “Under” designer chair that was featured in the movie ” A Clockwork Orange “

Le Retreat pod is equipment, according to its designer, Martin Dean, in which we can manage to cut ourselves off from the world. There is adequate air conditioning. To counter possible claustrophobia, the door remains closed by its own weight, so no latch is needed. The inside of the Pod is lit by hundreds of tiny orange Philips neon bulbs, that look like glowworms.

PODS


One of his inventions was the "chair urchin.” foam, who, though appearing spherical, would be in the custody of’ children, that could get a sitting position variable angles. Later, a request was made to design a similar “landscape” of seats for


Roger Dean– sydney village project


Roger Dean designed an artistically beautiful new millennium home, kind of environment, but cheap and quick to build. It started as a college project to design the bed of a child and grew up in a radically new form of architecture for a global awakening to the damage caused by the post-war housing and office development.

The key to Roger Dean architecture is the strategic control of space. To be comfortable in a house, it should make you feel at home. This led Dean to design its parts as the uterus which can be arranged in clusters to form house, apartments, hotels, office towers, or entertainment centers of several million pounds. Its buildings are environmentally friendly in their use of materials and designed to enhance rather than mess around: in some cases, it would be appropriate to lock them in the land. Although he sees the spin off of the environment as secondary, Dean has strong views on the role of its structures in the environment.


Strength comes when steel rods and gunite are added, with pumice beads for isolation. A team of three to four people could "build" such a house in a day, adding vents ceramic, chimneys and arrows to taste. L’infrastructure, however, takes about three to four weeks to heal. The cost of producing a Dean house compares favorably with conventional units of similar specification. The process could save 10-20 percent on the only materials. Text © Evadne Lucas.





Currently the most famous designers to explore this type of design are the brothers Roger and Martyn Dean, Eugene Tsui, Kendrick Kellog, Antti Knight, Luigi Colani, et Peter Vetsch.

Artist Roger Dean joined forces with younger brother Martyn to produce the Maison Tectonic

Bungalo Suite Concept Hotel by Roger Dean developed for Brighton Marina UK development project,
later used for international Ideal Home Exhibition, Birmingham UK 1981.

Roger Dean Mushroom House
Techtonic: Roger's House and Martyn Dean
Data for May : 1981
Lieu : Birmingham
Designers : Roger et Martyn Dean

Concept complex Sudbud, Darling Harbour, Sydney by Roger Dean.

It evolved from two previous projects, drawings of Roger Dean for a bed, and later a bedroom, who feel safe and friendly for children, and the design of his brother for “Pension pod ", who played in the Stanley Kubrick film A Clockwork Orange. It was designed to be “comfortable on the most instinctive and archetypal level”, to be built more cheaply and to last. While the prototype was built fiberglass, the real thing is made of concrete, sprayed on a series of modular inflatable forms to create an organic network of nested chambers.. Even more surprising, I discovered that they had actually prototyped its buildings with this unusual architecture, which they call "tectonic architecture", using simple fiberglass and planned to make a wide variety of these buildings based on the use of a form of sprayable concrete called "shotcrete" and a system of modular inflatable forms.



Roger Dean – Alliance International MoonBase


HOME FOR LIFE


A free form organic interior system based on multi-density foam structures covered with Roger Dean fabric

Roger Dean design retailer beginning construction. First step is the excavation of the site and the installation of the foundation slab. Ensuite, inflation balloon shapes for bedrooms. Ensuite, gunite is sprayed on the forms and, when set, carved interior details. Finale, filling in the lower portions of quality, more surface treatments to cover the conduits utilities, and removing forms.


Floor plan for the structure from left to right on the ground, ground floor and entrance, the top floor below the.

Their designs are monolithic rigid shells that mainly rely entirely on the strength of the shell material, a common approach from organic designs for years 60 and 70. Gunite, a sprayable concrete, is the main building material for structures of Deans but they also used fiberglass to prototype their designs and a variety of other materials are possible-nothing with the necessary structural strength that can be sprayed on forms.

The construction technique is simple and based on the use of inflatable forms for individual rooms in a system similar to the monolithic construction method Domes, but on the basis of reinforcing fibers rather than welded rebar.


A system of forms of segmented glass fiber is also used. The forms are deleted when the gunite is still not yet fully able to support the structure so that the manual finishing can be done to smooth the seams brands, to mold the stairs and similar features with small scale molds, and hand-carve the very small retail items. The drawings using an external infrastructure where electric cables, ventilation ducts, etc. are mounted outside the room covered in shells and compliant materials and housing projected on additional or hidden under secondary roofing structures.





A number of these insights album covers featured very fanciful buildings designed with a non-Euclidean geometry sensual, buildings that alludes to a fantastic Biorganic Technology capable of growing structures like plants or animals.



Close To The Edge 


RESEMBLANCE / COMPARISON OF ITS DRAWINGS ROGER DEAN
Floor plan for the structure from left to right on the ground ” AVATAR “

Dean's image is on the left – Avatar is on the right.

This painting is very famous and was part of the multi-gatefold album “Yes” songs.” Agreed that there is a mountain and is a tree. But the shape of the tree and the mountain almost duplicate each other, up to the size and shape of the gap in the structure right half – tree path.

Also, look at the placement of images
within the frame. Also, Floor plan for the structure from left to right on the ground




And the corresponding image of the Avatar Film ! 


Dean's image is on the left. Avatar is on the right. Floor plan for the structure from left to right on the ground, and Dean are bare. 20 However, the – of the, the composition of both many similarities:
1) floating blocks
2) the block beginning at the right position, then turns left
3) a large tree in the middle of the frame and 4) another large floating mass appears in the upper left quadrant. This suggests that the work of Dean has been copied and modified, which would make a derivative work, that would require the permission of Dean.

Scientists have put together the story of Pandora, this tree would be the first its kind, he would grow in a natural volcanic crater that is gradually cooled. This shaft is of the same species as the shaft of the voice, he develops a huge electrochemical networks to survive the magnetic fields of the arches where there are unobtanium. It is the oldest tree specimen on Pandora.



ROGER DEAN

Original drawing

DETAILS OF FLOATING ISLANDS

Heaven & Earth is the twenty-first studio album of the English progressive rock band, First published 16 July 2014. It is their first album with singer Jon Davison in the line-up of the group.


YES Tales from Topographic Oceans (full album)


YES
C
onfidente and creator of the fantastic, Roger Dean on his artistic legacy and the shape of things to come..
Roger Dean holds strong opinions on how his art is represented and displayed. The main concern of Dean in recent years has been that his work is reproduced with the integrity with which it was originally created.



Page Officiel Facebook Roger Dean


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

2 thoughts on “Roger Dean & Martyn – Ashford, England

  1. I loved Roger Dean’s architectural ideas as a young man in the 70s, designed one for an architecture contest in HS. I still feel that houses should have the basic ideas and features he’s elucidated, but in a rectilinear form, so that furniture can be easily built and applied to it. But the ideas i feel should remain, such as how beds should be designed, and their carryover into bathrooms, lavatories still matter. Presently lavatories are designed to create stress.
    Times change, and now
    homes look toward recycling, end of use, factory built modular low CO² emmitting construction, etc. Unfortunately, organic designs fail at these. Mr Dean’s psychological insights, however remain quite sound I think. And i still would love to be able to live in one of his designs, especially co-existing with some other animals, or some exotic pets.

     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Roger Dean & Martyn – Ashford, Angleterre

Share Button

ROGER DEAN 


ARCHITECTURE  ANAMORPHIQUE ARCHITECTONIQUE



ROGER DEAN


L’architecture Tectonique avec Roger Dean et son frère Martyn Dean.






« Roundabout » par le Groupe YES _ Année : 1972 &  Album : Fragile


Durée: 52:09 Est le troisième album studio du groupe de rock progressif anglais YES.


Roger Dean, né le 31 août 1944 à Ashford, est un artiste anglais. Il est sans doute le plus connu des artistes impliqués dans l’illustration du rock progressif et ceci grâce aux logos et aux pochettes qu’il conçut dès 1971 pour le groupe YES et ensuite pour Greenslade et Asia. Les peintures de Dean et pochettes d’albums sont connus dans le monde entier, et son style futuriste a été beaucoup imité. Les bêtes mythiques et la clarté éblouissante de la lumière et la couleur sont sa marque de fabrique, mais au cœur d’une grande partie de son travail sont les bâtiments merveilleux qui champignons dans ses ciels de cobalt. Fantastique, car ils peuvent regarder, ce sont des dessins d’architecture de structures qui peuvent être construits.






 Fauteuils et Pods du Film Clockwork Orange de Kubrick 


L’une de ses inventions était la «chaise d’oursin. » en mousse, qui, quoique paraissant sphérique, serait conforme à la garde d’ enfants, qui pourrait obtenir une position assise des angles variables. Plus tard, il a été demandé de concevoir un «paysage» de sièges similaire pour
La « retraite pod » chaise design a été présenté dans le film A Clockwork Orange.

Capsule – I POD Dean Retreat Pod


Roger Dean – projet du village de Sidney




Roger Dean a conçu une maison pour le nouveau millénaire artistiquement beau, genre de l’environnement, mais pas cher et rapide à construire. Il a commencé comme un projet d’université pour concevoir le lit d’un enfant et a grandi dans une forme radicalement nouvelle de l’architecture pour un réveil mondial pour les dommages causés par le logement d’après-guerre et le développement de bureau.



La clé de l’architecture de Roger Dean est ce contrôle stratégique de l’espace. Pour être à l’aise dans une maison, il doit vous faire sentir à la maison. Cela a conduit Dean à concevoir ses pièces de l’utérus comme qui peuvent être disposés en grappes pour former maison, appartements, hôtels, tours de bureaux, ou des centres de divertissement de plusieurs millions de livres. Ses bâtiments sont également écologique dans leur utilisation de matériaux et conçu pour améliorer plutôt que de gâcher les environs: dans certains cas, il serait approprié de les enfermer dans la terre. Bien qu’il voit le spin off de l’environnement comme secondaire, Dean détient des vues fortes sur le rôle de ses structures dans l’environnement.


La force vient quand les tiges et gunite acier sont ajoutés, avec des perles de pierre ponce pour l’isolation. Une équipe de trois à quatre personnes pourrait «construire» une telle maison dans un jour, en ajoutant des évents en céramique, des cheminées et des flèches au goût. L’infrastructure, cependant, prend environ trois à quatre semaines pour guérir. Le coût de production d’une maison Dean se compare favorablement avec les unités classiques de spécification similaire. Le processus pourrait économiser 10-20 pour cent sur les matériaux seuls. Texte © Evadne Lucas.








À l’heure actuelle les designers les plus connus d’explorer ce type de conception sont les frères Roger et Martyn Dean, Eugene Tsui, Kendrick Kellog, Antti Lovag, Luigi Colani, et Peter Vetsch.

L’artiste Roger Dean a uni ses forces avec son frère cadet Martyn pour produire la Maison Tectonic

Hôtel Concept de suite Bungalo par Roger Dean développé pour Brighton Marina projet de développement au Royaume-Uni,
plus tard utilisé pour international Ideal Home Exhibition, Birmingham UK 1981.

Roger Dean Mushroom House
Techtonic : Maison de Roger et Martyn Dean
Date de mai : 1981
Lieu : Birmingham
Designers : Roger et Martyn Dean

Concept complexe Sudbud, Darling Harbour, Sydney par Roger Dean.


Il a évolué à partir de deux projets antérieurs, les dessins de Roger Dean pour un lit, et plus tard une chambre à coucher, qui se sentir en sécurité et convivial pour les enfants, et la conception de son frère pour un « pod de retraite», qui a joué dans le film de Stanley Kubrick Orange mécanique. Il a été conçu pour être « à l’aise sur le niveau le plus instinctif et archétypale », destiné à être intégré à moindre coût et pour durer. Alors que le prototype a été construit en fibre de verre, la vraie chose serait faite de béton, pulvérisé sur une série de formes gonflables modulaires pour créer un réseau organique de chambres imbriquées.. Encore plus surprenant, je découvris qu’ils avaient effectivement prototypé ses bâtiments avec cette architecture inhabituelle, dont ils appelle «architecture tectonique», en utilisant de la fibre de verre simple et prévu de réaliser une grande variété de ces bâtiments basée sur l’utilisation d’une forme de béton pulvérisable appelé «béton projeté» et un système de coffrages gonflables modulaires.





Roger Dean – Alliance Internationale MoonBase



HOME FOR LIFE 


Une Forme libre système intérieur organique à base de structures en mousse multi-densité recouverts de tissu de Roger Dean

Début de conception Roger Dean détaillant la construction. Première étape est l’excavation du site et l’installation de la fondation de la dalle. Ensuite, l’inflation des formes de ballon pour les chambres. Ensuite, gunite est pulvérisé sur les formes et, lorsqu’il est réglé, les détails intérieurs sculptés. Finale, remblayage à des parties inférieures de qualité, plus de traitements de surface pour couvrir les services publics conduits, et l’élimination des formes.


Plan d’étage pour la structure ci-dessus de gauche à droite: sol, rez-de-chaussée et entrée, au dernier étage sous le niveau.

Leurs conceptions sont des coquilles monolithiques principalement rigides qui reposent entièrement sur la force de ce matériau de la coque, une approche commune parmi les designs organiques des années 60 et 70. Gunite, un béton pulvérisable, est le principal matériau de construction pour les structures des doyens mais ils ont également utilisé la fibre de verre pour prototyper leurs conceptions et une variété d’autres matériaux sont possibles-rien avec la résistance structurelle nécessaire qui peut être pulvérisé sur les formes.

La technique de construction est simple et repose sur l’utilisation de formes gonflables pour les chambres individuelles dans un système similaire à la méthode de construction monolithiques Dômes, mais sur la base de renfort de fibres plutôt que des barres d’armature soudée.

Un système de formes de fibre de verre segmenté est également utilisé. Les formes sont supprimées lorsque la gunite est toujours pas encore pleinement mis en mesure de soutenir la structure de telle sorte que la finition manuelle peut être fait pour lisser les marques de coutures, pour mouler des escaliers et des caractéristiques similaires avec de petits moules à grande échelle, et à la main-sculpter la très petits éléments de détail. Les dessins utilisent une infrastructure externe où les câbles électriques, des conduits de ventilation, etc. sont montés à l’extérieur des coquilles de chambre et couverts dans des logements conformes et matériaux projetés sur supplémentaires ou cachés sous des structures de toiture secondaires.








Un certain nombre de ces couvertures d’album aperçus en vedette des bâtiments très fantaisistes conçus avec une géométrie non-euclidienne sensuelle, des bâtiments qui fait allusion à une Technologie Biorganique fantastique capable de pousser des structures comme des plantes ou des animaux.

 



Close To The Edge 


RESSEMBLANCE // COMPARAISON DE SES DESSINS de ROGER DEAN
avec  Le Film  » AVATAR « 

L’image de Dean est sur la gauche // Avatar de l’est sur la droite.

Cette peinture est très célèbre et a fait partie de l’album multi-gatefold « Yes » songs. » Convenu que l’on est une montagne et un est un arbre. Mais la forme de l’arbre et de la montagne presque dupliquer l’autre, jusqu’à la taille et la forme de l’écart dans la structure à droite à mi – chemin de l’arbre.

Aussi, regardez le placement des images à
l’intérieur du cadre. Aussi, il y a cela dans La peinture de Dean …




Et l’image correspondante du Film Avatar ! 


L’image de Dean est sur la gauche. Avatar de l’est sur la droite. La Cour insiste beaucoup sur le fait que Avatar rochers s ‘flottants sont recouverts de végétation, tandis que Dean sont à nu. 20 Cependant, au – delà, la composition des deux a plusieurs similitudes:
1) les blocs flottants
2) la ligne de blocs commence à la position droite, puis vire à gauche
3) un grand arbre au milieu du cadre et 4) un autre grand masse flottante apparaît dans le quadrant supérieur gauche. Cela semble indiquer que le travail de Dean a été copié et modifié, ce qui en ferait une œuvre dérivée, et qui aurait exigé la permission de Dean.

Les scientifiques ont remontés l’histoire de Pandora, cet arbre serait le premier se son espèce, il aurait pousser dans un cratère volcanique naturel qui c’est petit à petit refroidit. Cet arbre est de la même espèce que l’arbre des voix, il développe un immense réseaux électrochimique pour survivre aux champs magnétiques des arches dans lesquels il y a de l’unobtanium. C’est le plus vieux spécimen d’arbre sur Pandora.



ROGER DEAN (ci-dessus) Dessin Original 


DÉTAIL DES ILES FLOTTANTES –

Heaven & Earth est le vingt et unième album studio du groupe de rock progressif anglais,
d’abord publié le 16 Juillet 2014. Il est leur premier album avec le chanteur Jon Davison dans le line-up du groupe.


YES Tales from Topographic Oceans  (Album complet)


YES 
C
onfidente et créateur du fantastique, Roger Dean sur son héritage artistique et la forme des choses à venir..
Roger Dean détient de fortes opinions sur la façon dont son art est représenté et affiché. La principale préoccupation de Dean au cours des dernières années a été que son œuvre est reproduite avec l’intégrité avec laquelle il a été créé à l’origine.



Sa Page Officiel Facebook Roger Dean


 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *