(2002) The City of Arts and Sciences, Valencia Spain

Share Button

The City of Arts and Sciences
is a cultural center in Valencia in Spain

The complex, designed by architect and engineer Santiago Calatrava,
as well as by Félix Candela.


The Oceanogràfic is a Spanish oceanarium located within the City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia. Inaugurated in 2002, it is the property of it, which is a public enterprise of the Valencian Generality.


Date & rsquo; opening : 14 February 2003


  • l’Hemisphèrique : like d & rsquo; eye. Contains an IMAX theater, a planetarium. Features & rsquo; an area & rsquo; about 14 000 m2.
  • the Mused of Sciences Príncipe Felipe: shaped dinosaur skeleton. C & rsquo; is an interactive museum of science. It features & rsquo; an area & rsquo; about 40 000 m2 spread over three floors.
  • l’Umbracle : botanical garden covered d & rsquo; d & rsquo floating arches; where the & rsquo; one can admire the complex.
  • l’Oceanographic : oceanarium shaped lily. Work of the & rsquo; architect Félix Candela, c & rsquo; is & rsquo; s largest aquarium d & rsquo; with Europe 110 000 m2 42 million liters of & rsquo; water.
  • the Palace of Arts Reina Sofía : shaped boat. Contains several rooms dedicated to arts and music.

    The Valencia de l'Opéra The spectacular building dedicated to the promotion of the performing arts. Measuring over 70 meters high, the Arts Centre is divided into four separate rooms, all with the latest technology designed to stage all kinds of & rsquo; opera, music and theater performances.

  • the bridge of’Gold Assault : bridge 180 m long passing over the gardens of the Turia.
  • l’Agora : a covered parking. Building, metal structure 80 m high and occupying an area of 5 000 m2, was opened by welcoming the & rsquo; open tennis of the Valencian Community in November 2009.

valence-41

The City of Arts and Sciences is organized around three main themes : Arts, Sciences, and nature. Organic, abstract spines and ribs of the upper part of the Prince Felipe Museum of Sciences in the City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia, Spain. This spectacular and futuristic complex, inaugurated in 2002 and directed by the great architects Santiago Calatrava and Félix Candela and the Alberto Domingo and Carlos Lázaro engineers. All the buildings were designed by Calatrava except Oceanographic Museum was done by Candela. Designed by Santiago Calatrava's City of Arts and Sciences is an ensemble of five areas in the dry river bed of the Turia river now diverted to Valencia, in Spain.

dv0_4051-edit

valence-36 valence-52

Since the years 1980, the part corresponding to the city center was transformed into gardens and walking areas for city dwellers. The mouth of this old bed offers contemporary construction site of the city of sciences. The s & rsquo complex, covers an area of 350 000 m2. The concept of this site is to bring together in one place open to all leisure and science. It is a unique concept of its kind in Europe that stretches for two kilometers on the old river Turia to attract tourists to Valencia for anything other than to soaking up the sun and enjoy the beaches. The purpose of this space was to create a center dedicated to leisure and research, satisfying curiosity and desires of visitors. This project is thus converted into an immense work in international dimension. its architect, Santiago Calatrava, from Valencia, wanted all eyes turn to the city of Valencia. His mission was accomplished and the 'Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias "is now modern and avant-garde representation of the city. This project was implemented in 1991 by the Socialist Joan Lerma embauchât renowned architect Santiago Calatrava to realize. At the beginning, This first project was only a Science City which included a museum, a planetarium and a large telecommunications tower that would exceed the Eiffel Tower 50 meters with a cost of 150 millions of euros.





499346760

475490299


valence-37

 

valence-38

499346746

 

valence-34

valence-43



dv0_3989-edit

360 degree panorama of Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia, Valencia, Spain
360° degree view of the Palace of the Arts Queen Sofia, Valence, Spain

 

475490303

sb10066789i-001

dv0_4026-edit

499346740

valencia-11

Prince Felipe Museum of the Sciences on & rsquo; Hemispheric left and on the right the City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia,in Spain.

200411496-001

dv0_3879-edit

dv0_3927-edit



94433108

valence-50 valence-51

city_arts_sciences_nw150410_6

511582395

sb10070025s-001-1

506622402

499346762

dv0_4074-edit

cityofartsandsciences_en-au2253312510


 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

2 thoughts on “(2002) The City of Arts and Sciences, Valencia Spain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

(2002) La Cité des Arts et des Sciences, Valence Espagne

Share Button

La Cité des Arts et des Sciences
est un centre de culture à Valence en Espagne

Le complexe, dessiné par l’architecte et ingénieur Santiago Calatrava,
ainsi que par Félix Candela.


L’Oceanogràfic est un océanarium espagnol situé au sein de la Cité des arts et des sciences de Valence. Inauguré en 2002, il est la propriété de celle-ci, qui est une entreprise publique de la Généralité valencienne.


Date d’ouverture : 14 février 2003


  • l’Hemisphèrique : en forme d’œil. Contient une salle de cinéma IMAX, un planétarium. Dispose d’une superficie d’environ 14 000 m2.
  • le Musée des Sciences Príncipe Felipe: en forme de squelette de dinosaure. C’est un musée interactif de science. Il dispose d’une superficie d’environ 40 000 m2 repartis sur trois étages.
  • l’Umbracle : jardin botanique couvert d’arcs flottants d’où l’on peut admirer le complexe.
  • l’Océanograpfique : océanarium en forme de nénuphar. Œuvre de l’architecte Félix Candela, c’est l’aquarium le plus grand d’Europe avec 110 000 m2 et 42 millions de litres d’eau.
  • le palais des Arts Reina Sofía : en forme de bateau. Contient plusieurs salles dédiées aux arts et à la musique.

    Le Valencia de l’Opéra Le bâtiment spectaculaire dédié à la promotion des arts de la scène. Mesure de plus de 70 mètres de hauteur, le Palais des Arts est divisé en quatre salles distinctes, toutes dotées des dernières avancées technologiques conçues pour mettre en scène toutes sortes d’opéra, de musique et de représentations théâtrales.

  • le pont de l’Assaut de l’Or : pont de 180 m de long passant au-dessus des jardins de la Turia.
  • l’Ágora : une place couverte. Le bâtiment, structure métallique de 80 m de haut et occupant une surface de 5 000 m2, a été inauguré en accueillant l’open de tennis de la Communauté valencienne en novembre 2009.

valence-41

La Cité des arts et des sciences s’organise autour de trois thématiques principales : les arts, les sciences, et la nature. Organique, épines abstraites et les côtes de la partie supérieure du Musée des Sciences Prínce Felipe à la Cité des Arts et des Sciences de Valence, Espagne. Ce complexe spectaculaire et futuriste, inauguré en 2002 et réalisé par les grands architectes Santiago Calatrava et Félix Candela ainsi que les ingénieurs Alberto Domingo et Carlos Lázaro. Tous les bâtiments ont été dessinés par Calatrava sauf le musée océanographique qui a été fait par Candela. Conçu par Santiago Calatrava La Cité des Arts et des Sciences est un ensemble de cinq zones dans le lit de rivière à sec de la rivière Turia maintenant détourné à Valence, en Espagne.

dv0_4051-edit

valence-36 valence-52

Depuis les années 1980, la partie correspondant au centre-ville avait été transformée en jardins et lieux de promenade pour les citadins. L’embouchure de cet ancien lit offre le site de construction contemporain de la cité des sciences. Le complexe s’étend sur une surface de 350 000 m2. Le concept de ce site est de rassembler en un même lieu ouvert à tous les loisirs et la science. C’est un concept unique en son genre en Europe qui s’étend sur deux kilomètres sur l’ancienne rivière Turia afin d’attirer les touristes à Valence pour autre chose que de se dorer la pilule au soleil et profiter des plages. Le but de cet espace était de créer un centre dédié aux loisirs et à la recherche, en satisfaisant la curiosité et les envies des visiteurs. Ce projet s’est ainsi converti en une œuvre immense à dimension internationale. Son architecte, Santiago Calatrava, originaire de Valence, souhaitait que tous les regards se tournent vers la ville de Valence. Sa mission a été accomplie et la « Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias » est aujourd’hui la représentation moderne et avant-gardiste de la ville. Ce projet a été mis en place en 1991 par le socialiste Joan Lerma qui embauchât l’architecte de renom Santiago Calatrava pour le réaliser. Au départ, ce premier projet était uniquement une Cité des Sciences qui comptait un musée, un planétarium et une grande tour de télécommunications qui devait dépasser la Tour Eiffel de 50 mètres avec un coût de 150 millions d’euros.





499346760

475490299


valence-37

 

valence-38

499346746

 

valence-34

valence-43



dv0_3989-edit

360 degree panorama of Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia, Valencia, Spain
360° degrés panorama du Palais des Arts de la Reine Sofia, Valence, Espagne

 

475490303

sb10066789i-001

dv0_4026-edit

499346740

valencia-11

Le Musée des Sciences du Prince Felipe sur l’Hémisphérique gauche et sur la droite la Cité des Arts et des Sciences de Valence,en Espagne.

200411496-001

dv0_3879-edit

dv0_3927-edit



94433108

valence-50 valence-51

city_arts_sciences_nw150410_6

511582395

sb10070025s-001-1

506622402

499346762

 dv0_4074-edit

cityofartsandsciences_en-au2253312510


 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

2 commentaires sur “(2002) La Cité des Arts et des Sciences, Valence Espagne

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *