Ant Farm – House of the Century (1972) Texas

Share Button

century004

ANT FARM
Mojo Lake, Angleton, Texas, 1972
(Chenango lake) 

23920 FM 521 Rd, Angleton, TX 77515, United States
6GVP+92 Chenango, Texas, United States

architects : Doug Michels & Chip Lord

In 1971, a wealthy young couple (Marylin et Alvin Lubetkin), fascinated by the Ant Farm approach, carte blanche to the group of architects for the construction of a house weekend.. Designed and built by Richard Jost Up’ in 1972 near Angleton, in Texas. The ferrocement residence received an award citation from the progressive architecture 1973. opening sequence: Mayan ruins in Guatemala and Mexico.

(Doug Michels et Chip Lord) with Richard Jost.

 MAKING OF RICHARD JOST 

RICHARD JOST

Ant Farm, Poole House Remodel San Francisco. California, 1974.

century016

The House of the Century
Ant Farm 1972-2007 – Comp Plywood varnish, painting, mechanical printing
pen on cardboard 27.5 x 43 x 32 cm

This project was commissioned by a wealthy young family (Marylin et Alvin Lubetkin) in love with Ant Farm's work, who gave the group carte blanche to design a weekend house.


Marilyn Oshman

Houston with one of the first models of the Maison du siècle circa 1971.

Called “The house of the century”, it was built in Ferrocement, in an artisanal way and evoking the organic architectures already experienced by the group in lighter pneumatic architectures. The house was published in the journal Progressive Architecture, from which she received an award and presents a large series of advertising materials (in addition to its provocative name) to build capacity for the future, which will make it the home of the century (from 1972 at 2072).


Ant Farm is a group of & rsquo; American architects who produced experimental works 1968 at 1978.

century014


Made 1973 lakefront Mojo near Houston, Texas, this "house of the century" includes living spaces on the ground floor and a tower.


Richard Jost talks about the building process of the house of the century.. in Texas


Designed and built by Doug Michels and Chip Lord from the avant-garde design collective of San Francisco Ant Farm, with architect Richard Jost, this lakeside retreat near Houston, commissioned by a patron, has an evocative organic form, with round living and kitchen spaces flanking a ladder-accessible tower that contains a stacked bathroom and bedrooms. Constructed from steel mesh and layers of chicken wire that have been plastered, waterproofed and coated with cement mixture, sand and water known as gunite, the structure has large porthole windows and an interior of wooden floors and integrated wooden counters and tables . A fireplace with an exposed fireplace was used to heat the house; the TV antenna at the top of the tower mocked a then popular Pop Art reference.


CONSTRUCTION PHOTOS
1972


The structure lasted for about a decade, during a flood in the middle of the years 1980 largely destroyed the interior, leaving the structure in its current state, semi-ruined. Like all great architecture, this evokes several interpretations: in tribute to the Apollo program in Houston, as the front of a Ford for years 1930, and even as a phallic symbol of the age of sex drugs and rock and roll for years 1960. He also predicted 21st century interests, such as the creation of biomorphic forms now performed on computer, constructing buildings using design methods & construction, experimenting with low-cost materials borrowed from other industries and reducing the size of a home. for reasons of durability and accessibility. Well documented in several YouTube videos by Richard Jost, this house is as much, if not, more, of this century that the last.


In 2010, This short film was acquired by the permanent collection of the Department of Architecture and Design Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) At New York, NEW.



The House of the Century in 1973 before being ravaged by flood waters in 1985.

century005


Interior of the house of the century: cuisine (to the left), dining room (In the center) and living room (to the right) (Tom Fox / photographer)


century013

Ant Farm Citizens Time Capsule

Citizens Time Capsule, 1975. Entrance sign and Oldsmobile Vista Cruiser station wagon before burial, Lewiston, New York. Printing from a negative 35 mm black and white scanned. Earl W State Park. Brydges Artpark. Part of the Artpark Archival Collection at the Burchfield Penney Art Center Archives.

Cadillac Ranch (1974)

Members of the collective thought that & rsquo; architecture and the media could be created by n & rsquo; anyone using inexpensive materials and easily accessible and ad hoc taught d & rsquo; person to person & rsquo; other. They created inflatable environments in many events, schools, conferences and festivals, including free Rolling Stones concert at Altamont.


At about the same time was starting Ant Farm, Sony portapaks was launched on the market. This portable camera was autonomous, battery powered and could be held by a person, which was a new ability to & rsquo; time. As the & rsquo; said Chip Lord, there was a feeling that if we demand the tools, we could influence the speech. When Ant Farm got its hands on the new portable cameras and used their skills to customize a country van, the “From media” was born.


Founded in 1968 San Francisco by Chip Lord and Doug Michels, Ant Farm was an alternative architecture practice, graphic design and environmental design, which also included activists Curtis Schreier and occasionally Douglas Hurr and Mark Hudson. Ant Farm was an innovative group in the context of the culture-cons who worked with the media since the late 1960. His media events, on site facilities, performance and video tapes combine Pophumor sassy with cultural and political criticism. Ant Farm was dissolved in 1978 When & rsquo; a fire destroyed his studio at Pier 40 San Francisco.


In 1970, Ant Farm visited the nation in a Chevy truck equipped as a mobile television studio, registering their journey and demonstrate their inflatables to various stops along the way. Unlike a sedentary lifestyle and mainstream, broadcast news, Antfarmla mobility facilitated the & rsquo; sensory input costs and enabled a direct connection to many different people. According to the foundation Ant Farm member Chip Lord, the van and media inflatables illustrated "a larger theme in against -culture of nomadics, constantly moving , but somehow to the community in this process. »


Inflatables Nomades 1970’s.

Early work d & rsquo; Ant Farm were mainly filled & rsquo; hot air … As in, they were heavily composed of & rsquo; inflatables designed by individual. What began with the & rsquo; experimentation cargo parachutes became an "environment" giant inflatable, where people could be dragged to the & rsquo; interior, either play above. Chip Lord realized later that c & rsquo; was a direct response to the brutalism, l & rsquo; dominant architecture of rectangular concrete behemoth of & rsquo; time.


L & rsquo; "dreamcloud" architecture was described by the artists and the people who & rsquo; have experienced as temporary, nomadic, malleable and even sensual. A French critic compared the inflatables to a softening erection. They placed these huge bubbles in a variety d & rsquo; unexpected places such as deserts, parking, concerts, and d & rsquo campus university.


In the community culture of & rsquo; time, festival venues become short-term cities, and inflatables have imagined people new architectural possibilities utopian. While "the & rsquo; architecture square" was bound by the limits and laws, inflatables allowed d & rsquo; have a new dimension where n & rsquo; there are no rules.


The experimental d & rsquo collective, art and design "Antfarm" was founded in 1968 by Chip Lord and Doug Michels. During their residency at CalArts Design School, they gave lectures and workshops. Right here, a photo and a & lsquo; Ant Farmer’ at work, cutting skylights in the roof of the van media CalArts.

A Texas Media Van.

 Ant Farm, indoor Video Console 1971


This historic video tour 1970 when Truckstop Tour d & rsquo; Ant Farm Media Van shown with all mobile components shown in & rsquo; Tulane University, to New Orleans. Search shower heated to & rsquo; solar energy, kitchen trailer and & rsquo; Ice-9 inflatable Mark Hudson, Doug Michels and Doug Hurr was the & rsquo; crew on this tour stop Truckstop.

Cars are Entertainment chapter of Automerica book by Chip Lord, 1967.
All rights reserved © Curtis Schreier

Ant Farm Media Van crew in Los Angeles at Cal Arts, 1970 LtoR Doug Michels, Hudson Marquez, Betsy Ross, Ben Holmes, Randy Eberle, Craig Hodgetts © Chip Lord

From left to right: Doug Michels, Hudson Marquez, Betsy Ross Edison, Ben Holmes

and Randy Eberle.

With Media Van, The Angels (1971),  2011 d & rsquo digital drawing; archives, 24 x 36 Courtesy Chip Lord Perhaps the most literal of these vehicles was the Media Van, a Chevy turned TV-studio on wheels that the group has traveled throughout the United States to show their work, using a bubble skylight and video recording equipment to document their journey along the way.


Ant Farm Media Van discovered.

Discovered at the beginning of & rsquo; year 2008, Media Van was redirected by Lord, Schreier and Tomb as "internal post-combustion vehicle" containing a Digital Huqquh. Then he was exposed in the exhibition at SFMOMA “The Art of Participation” organized by Rudolf Freiling. Participants could "plug in" to Huqquh and donate d & rsquo; a digital file to the time capsule evolving. In February 2009, temporal capsule contained more 4000 photos and digital music files.

Ant Farm Media Van v.08 in situ SFMOMA



Media Burn (extract) Chip Lord

Although built in durable materials, the house is reminiscent by its organic shapes of the inflatable structures made by Ant Farm, in particular the ICE-9 prototype.
Using the principles of self-construction and an artisanal method of ferrocement (cement projection on mesh reinforcement), the architects came up with this playful and suggestive form of pop object emerging in the heart of a natural landscape.

the Time Capsules of Ant-Farm and LST, an exhibition exploring the changing cultural attitudes vis-à-vis conservation, confidentiality and the perception of time and space. Founded in San Francisco in 1968, Ant Farm was a group of avant-garde architecture, design and media art whose mission was to promote alternative thinking and redesign of public consciousness through "performance" specific architectural site and media events, many of which incorporated, but also subverted, American popular iconography to serve as vehicles of cultural introspection.

The project also explores the theme of architecture as a space of exchange and communication. Here as elsewhere, Ant Farm cultivated a particular mode of exchange with sponsors, through photographic montages or drawings with colored pencils, deliberately contrary to all architectural conventions. The House of the Century won a great success during its production and received the jury prize awarded by the magazine Progressive Architecture. Damaged several times by floods, Today it is almost destroyed.

And the Time Capsule itself is designated to be kept up & rsquo; in 2030 when it is exposed again by SFMOMA. In the last month, Life Without Buildings followed the redevelopment of the van Ant Farm Media v.08 (Time Capsule), presented as part of the & rsquo; exhibition The Art of Participation: 1950 Now to the & rsquo; exhibition of the Museum & rsquo; modern art in San Francisco.




 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “Ant Farm – House of the Century (1972) Texas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ant Farm House of the Century 1972 Texas USA

Share Button

ANT FARM
century004
Mojo Lake, Angleton, Texas, 1972
(lac de Chenango) 

Architectes

(Doug Michels et Chip Lord)

en collaboration avec Richard Jost.

En 1971, un jeune couple fortuné (Marylin et Alvin Lubetkin), fasciné par la démarche d’Ant Farm, laisse carte blanche au groupe d’architectes pour la construction d’une maison de week-end..  Conçu et construite par Richard Jost  Jusqu’ en 1972 près d’Angleton, au Texas. La résidence de ferrocement a reçu une citation de récompense de l’architecture progressive en 1973. Séquence d’ouverture: ruines mayas du Guatemala et du Mexique.

 MAKING OF RICHARD JOST  


RICHARD JOST



House of the Century
Ant Farm 1972-2007 Maquette Plâtre, contre-plaqué vernis, adhésifs,
peinture 15 x 27.8 x 27.8


Ant Farm, Poole House Remodel  San Francisco. California, 1974.


century016The House of the Century
Ant Farm 1972-2007 – Maquette Contre-plaqué vernis, peinture, impression mécanique
sur carton plume 27.5 x 43 x 32 cm


Ce projet a été commandé par une jeune famille fortunée (Marylin et Alvin Lubetkin) amoureuse du travail de Ant Farm, qui a donné carte blanche au groupe pour concevoir une maison de week-end. Appelée « La maison du siècle », elle a été construite en Ferrociment, de manière artisanale et évoquant les architectures organiques déjà expérimentées par le groupe dans les architectures pneumatiques plus légères. La maison a été publiée dans la revue Progressive Architecture, à partir de laquelle elle a reçu un prix et présente une grande série de documents publicitaires (en plus de son nom provocateur) afin de renforcer sa capacité pour l’avenir, ce qui en fera le foyer du siècle (de 1972 à 2072).


Ant Farm est un groupe d’architectes américain qui produisit des œuvres expérimentales de 1968 à 1978.
century014


Réalisée en 1973 au bord du lac Mojo non loin de Houston au Texas, cette « maison du siècle » comprend des espaces de vie au rez-de-chaussée et une tour.

century005


Richard Jost parle du processus de construction de la maison du siècle.. au Texas 






Conçu et construit par Doug Michels et Chip Lord du collectif de design avant-gardiste de San Francisco Ant Farm, avec l’architecte Richard Jost, cette retraite au bord du lac près de Houston, commandée par un mécène, a une forme organique évocatrice, avec des espaces de vie et de cuisine ronds flanquant une tour accessible par échelle qui contient une salle de bains et des chambres empilées.

Construite à partir de treillis d’acier et de couches de grillage de poulet qui ont été plâtrés, imperméabilisés et enduits du mélange de ciment, de sable et d’eau connu sous le nom de gunite, la structure a de grandes fenêtres de hublot et un intérieur de planchers en bois et de comptoirs et tables en bois intégrés . Une cheminée avec une cheminée apparente a été utilisée pour chauffer la maison; l’antenne de télévision au sommet de la tour se moquait d’une référence Pop Art alors populaire.

PHOTOS DE CONSTRUCTION
1972

La structure a duré environ une décennie, lorsqu’une inondation au milieu des années 1980 a détruit en grande partie l’intérieur, laissant la structure dans son état actuel, semi-ruiné. Comme toute grande architecture, celle-ci évoque plusieurs interprétations: en hommage au programme Apollo de Houston, en tant que devant d’une Ford des années 1930, et même en tant que symbole phallique de l’ère des drogues du sexe et du rock and roll des années 1960. Il a également prédit des intérêts du XXIe siècle, tels que la création de formes biomorphiques désormais effectuées sur ordinateur, la construction de bâtiments à l’aide de méthodes de conception & construction, l’expérimentation de matériaux à faible coût empruntés à d’autres industries et la réduction de la taille d’un logement. pour des raisons de durabilité et d’accessibilité. Bien documenté dans plusieurs vidéos YouTube par Richard Jost, cette maison est autant, sinon plus, de ce siècle que la dernière.





En 2010, ce court métrage a été acquis par la collection permanente du Département d’Architecture et de Design du Musée d’Art Moderne (MoMA) à New York, NY.






century013

 





Cadillac Ranch (1974)

À peu près au même moment où Ant Farm démarrait, le Sony Portapak a été lancé sur le marché. Cet appareil photo portable était autonome et alimenté par batterie et pouvait être tenu par une personne, ce qui était une nouvelle capacité à l’époque. Comme l’a dit Chip Lord, il y avait le sentiment que si nous revendiquons les outils, nous pourrions influencer le discours. Lorsque Ant Farm a mis la main sur ces nouveaux appareils photo portables et utilisé leurs compétences pour personnaliser une camionnette pays, le « Media Van » est né.

Media Van

Fondée en 1968 à San Francisco par Chip Lord et Doug Michels, Ant Farm était une pratique alternative en architecture, en graphisme et en design environnemental, qui incluait également les activistes Curtis Schreier et occasionnellement Douglas Hurr et Hudson Marquez. Ant Farm était un collectif innovant dans le contexte de la contre-culture qui travaillait avec les médias depuis la fin des années 1960. Ses événements médiatiques, installations sur site, performances et bandes vidéo combinent Pophumor impertinent avec la critique culturelle et politique. Ant Farm a été dissous en 1978 lorsqu’un incendie a détruit son studio au Pier 40 à San Francisco.


Les membres du collectif pensaient que l’architecture et les médias pouvaient être créés par n’importe qui utilisant des matériaux bon marché et facilement accessibles et enseignés ad hoc d’une personne à l’autre. Ils ont créé des environnements gonflables dans de nombreux événements, écoles, conférences et festivals, notamment le concert gratuit des Rolling Stones à Altamont.



En 1970, Ant Farm a visité la nation dans une camionnette Chevy équipée comme un studio de télévision mobile, enregistrant leur voyage et de démontrer leurs inflatables à divers arrêts le long du chemin. Contrairement à un mode de vie sédentaire et mainstream, nouvelles de diffusion, Antfarmla mobilité facilitait l’apport sensoriel frais et permettait une connexion directe avec de nombreuses personnes différentes. Selon la fondation Ant membre Farm Chip Seigneur, la camionnette et structures gonflables médias illustrés « un thème plus important dans la contre -culture de nomadics, constamment en mouvement , mais en quelque sorte faire la communauté de ce processus. »



Inflatables Nomades 1970’s.

Les premiers travaux d’Ant Farm étaient principalement remplis d’air chaud … Comme dans, ils étaient fortement composés d’inflatables conçus par individu. Ce qui a commencé avec l’expérimentation des parachutes de cargaison est devenu un «environnement» gonflable géant, où les gens pouvaient soit traîner à l’intérieur, soit jouer au-dessus. Chip Lord réalisa plus tard que c’était une réponse directe au brutalisme, l’architecture dominante de béhémoth en béton rectangulaire de l’époque.

L’architecture «dreamcloud» a été décrite par les artistes et les personnes qui l’ont expérimentée comme temporaire, nomade, malléable et même sensuelle. Un critique français a comparé les inflatables à une érection adoucissante. Ils ont placé ces bulles énormes dans une variété d’endroits inattendus tels que des déserts, des parkings, des concerts, et des campus d’université.

Dans la culture communautaire de l’époque, les lieux de festival deviendraient des villes à court terme, et les structures gonflables ont fait imaginer aux gens de nouvelles possibilités architecturales utopiques. Alors que «l’architecture à angle droit» était liée par des limites et des lois, les structures gonflables permettaient d’avoir une nouvelle dimension là où il n’y a pas de règles.


Le collectif expérimental d’art et de design «Antfarm» a été fondé en 1968 par Chip Lord et Doug Michels. Au cours de leur résidence à la Calarts Design School, ils ont donné des conférences et des ateliers. Ici, une photo et un ‘Ant Farmer’ au travail, coupant les puits de lumière dans le toit de la camionnette média de CalArts.


Fourgonnette de médias fourmilière © Ant Farm

 © Ant Farm
Console vidéo intérieure, 1971


Cette vidéo historique tournée en 1970 lors du Truckstop Tour d’Ant Farm montre le Media Van avec tous les composants nomades démontrés à l’Université de Tulane, à la Nouvelle-Orléans. Recherchez la douche chauffée à l’énergie solaire, la remorque de cuisine et l’Ice-9 gonflable Hudson Marquez, Doug Michels et Doug Hurr étaient l’équipage sur cette étape de la tournée Truckstop.


De gauche à droite: Doug Michels, Hudson Marquez, Betsy Ross Edison, Ben Holmes
et Randy Eberle. Avec Media Van, Los Angeles (1971),  2011 Tirage numérique d’archives, 24 x 36 Courtoisie Chip Lord Peut-être le plus littéral de ces véhicules était le Media Van, un Chevy tourné TV-studio sur roues que le groupe a voyagé à travers les États-Unis pour montrer leur travail, en utilisant une lucarne à bulle et un équipement d’enregistrement vidéo pour documenter leur voyage le long le chemin.



Ant Farm Media Van découvert.. 
Découvert au début de l’année 2008, le Media Van a été réorienté par Lord, Schreier et Tomb en tant que «véhicule post-combustion interne» contenant un Media Huqquh. Puis il a été exposé au SFMOMA dans l’exposition « L’art de la participation » organisée par Rudolf Freiling. Les participants pouvaient «brancher» au Huqquh et faire don d’un fichier numérique à la capsule du temps en évolution. En février 2009, la capsule temporelle contenait plus de 4000 photos et fichiers musicaux numériques.


Et le Time Capsule lui-même est désigné pour être conservé jusqu’en 2030 quand il sera exposé à nouveau par SFMOMA. Au cours des derniers mois, Life Without Buildings a suivi le réaménagement de la fourgonnette Ant Farm Media v.08 (Time Capsule), présentée dans le cadre de l’exposition The Art of Participation: 1950 to Now de l’exposition du Musée d’art moderne de San Francisco .

L’Ant Farm Media Van v.08 in situ à SFMOMA



Media Burn (extrait) de Chip Lord






le Time Capsules de Ant Farm et LST, une exposition explorant les attitudes culturelles changeantes vis-à-vis de la conservation, la confidentialité et la perception du temps et de l’espace. Fondée à San Francisco en 1968, Ant Farm était un groupe avant-gardiste d’architecture, de design et d’art médiatique dont la mission était de promouvoir la pensée alternative et la refonte de la conscience publique à travers des «performances» architecturales spécifiques au site et des événements médiatiques, dont beaucoup incorporé, mais aussi subversé, iconographie américaine populaire afin de servir de véhicules d’introspection culturelle.



Bien que construite en matériaux pérennes, l’habitation rappelle par ses formes organiques les structures gonflables réalisées par Ant Farmnotamment le prototype ICE-9.
En utilisant les principes d’autoconstruction et une méthode artisanale de ferrociment (projection de ciment sur armature de grillage)
, les architectes parvinrent à cette forme ludique et suggestive objet pop surgissant au cœur d’un paysage naturel.

Le projet explore aussi le thème de l’architecture comme espace d’échange et de communication. Ici comme ailleurs, Ant Farm cultiva un mode d’échange particulier avec ses commanditaires, par le biais de montages photographiques ou de dessins aux crayons de couleur, volontairement contraires à toutes les conventions de l’architecture. La House of the Century remporta un très grand succès lors de sa réalisation et reçu le prix du jury décerné par la revue Progressive Architecture. Endommagée à plusieurs reprises par des inondations, elle est Aujourd’hui quasiment détruite.



Concept Drawing for House of the Century –

Dessin Acrylique, pastel, crayon graphite, encre et collage sur papier
27.7 x 60.8 cm

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Un commentaire sur “Ant Farm House of the Century 1972 Texas USA

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *