Darryl Starbird, Hot-Rod Oklahoma United States

Share Button

Darryl Starbird


MUSEUM


Darryl Starbird is an American designer and builder of custom cars and hot rods Known for his innovative and futuristic car designs, often with bubbles.
Address : 55251 E OK-85A, Afton, OKLAHOMA 74331, United States.


1956 – Chevrolet Corvette X-Sonic
Ron Aguirre designed this Chevrolet
Ron started working on the body. He added quad headlights and a new front grille, as well as custom rear fins and tail lights. Ed Roth was called again to do a painting job, with interior and exterior covers covered with gold naugahyde. This incarnation of the car was featured in the magazine.




In 1963, the car was designed to be remotely controlled. A custom center console has been added, with switches to operate the ignition, the front hydraulic system, the bubble top and the lights. To control a rocker switch was used in the center console connected to an electric motor which covers the steering column. Entry into the car was via buttons located in the fuel tank door, and a huge bank of relays and receivers allowed the remote control system to work.

 

 



In 1962, the car has undergone a radical transformation. No more sweet kustom, and in its place, the radical body. The main extractor was the bubble top, made by House of Plastics in San Bernadino, in California. The front part was completely restyled, with hidden headlights and a homemade grille.

Ron ends up getting bored showing the car, so Ed Roth brought it to some shows, and it was then rented as a show car for a magazine. When it was returned to Ron, it was not in good condition, so he stored it in his garage before deciding to sell it.

In the early 90, the car was rediscovered, minus most of Kustom's parts that needed to be dismantled. Fortunately, Pat Ganahl recognized the car and explained its historical significance to him. The car now belongs to Emmanuelle Benoit, a high-end restaurateur, who plans to put it back in full show condition. However, no start date is given for the start of the restoration.



Some of his best known cars include: la aforementioned, Electra, The Cosma Ray, Big T and Lil Coffin.


the National Hall of Fame Museum Rod & Custom Car de Darryl Starbird à Afton, in Oklahoma

Address : 55251 E OK-85A, Afton, OK 74331, United States



Also in the Museum : by Reactor Mach II

Who appeared on several TV shows… And that's great, I wrote an article about her

The Reactor – Gene Winfield, California






Built and designed by Darryl Starbird in 1979


1976 Mechanism AMC Pacer
All changes in the grids
front and rear hand special cast iron
Custom bubble top
Chevrolet 350 with Turbo transmission 400
Jaguar – Rear axle, Pacer -Train Before,
Fully chromed interior:
Brown and yellow naugahyde 4 places,
Couture par Mike Standifer
Painting: “House of Color” Pearl Yellow par Rick Starbird
wheels: Starwires 10 ”




(Small model) PREDICTA

This is the configuration of the car after being restored by Darryl Starbird and as it is now in his museum. An old kit that was fun to build.


Alain aforementioned



Darryl Starbird and Gene Howard with the Predicta. Provided by Richard Fuerholze.

The Predicta is one of the most famous bubble roof customs of history !

Darryl Starbird commence la construction de la Predicta en 1959, the base is a Thunderbird 1957 he completely transformed to create this unique design show car.
It may be noted among other: adding back wings Buick 1959, new front and rear (Roll Pan) without bumpers, on the front stands 4 headlights performed shouted a calender”bullets” chrome, on the back we find a row of Cadillac lights 1959. Baroque calenders will be quickly replaced by horizontal chrome bars. In 1960, Starbird presents Predicta the Oakland Roadster Show or she won a phenomenal success, because it appears in Craft blankets and Motor Life and becoming at the time one of the ten most beautiful custom of 1960. Then she became famous worldwide thanks to the model that will be the Monogram 1/25 th, is republished regularly since. After being massacred in a psychedelic version of the mid-1970's, the Predicta is finally restored in the late 1990's in the version of the early 1960's reproduced by the Monogram kit.



 






 



Source :
►►►►
►►►►
►►►►
https://rdzphotographyblog.com/2019/06/19/afton-oklahoma-may-2019-darryl-starbirds-national-rod-custom-car-hall-of-fame/


 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Darryl Starbird, Hot-Rod Oklahoma Etats-Unis

Share Button

Darryl Starbird  


MUSEUM  


Darryl Starbird est un concepteur et constructeur américain de voitures personnalisées et de Hot Rod Connu pour ses conceptions de voitures innovantes et futuristes, souvent dotées de bulles.
Adresse : 55251 E OK-85A, Afton, OKLAHOMA 74331, États-Unis.


1956 – Chevrolet Corvette X-Sonic
Ron Aguirre a conçu cette Chevrolet
Ron se mit à travailler sur la carrosserie. Il a ajouté des phares quad et une nouvelle calandre à l’avant, ainsi que des ailettes et des feux arrière personnalisés à l’arrière. Ed Roth a été appelé à nouveau pour faire un travail de peinture, avec les couvertures intérieures et extérieures couvertes de naugahyde d’or. Cette incarnation de la voiture était en vedette dans le magazine.




En 1963, la voiture a été conçue pour être contrôlée à distance. Une console centrale personnalisée a été ajoutée, avec des commutateurs pour faire fonctionner l’allumage, le système hydraulique avant, le haut à bulle et les lumières. Pour piloter un interrupteur à bascule a été utilisé dans la console centrale connectée à un moteur électrique qui couvre la colonne de direction. L’entrée dans la voiture se faisait par des boutons situés dans la porte du réservoir de carburant, et une énorme banque de relais et de récepteurs permettait au système de contrôle à distance de fonctionner.

 

 



En 1962, la voiture a subi une transformation radicale. Finie la douce kustom, et dans sa place, la carrosserie radicale. L’extracteur principal était le haut à bulles, fabriqué par House of Plastics à San Bernadino, en Californie. La partie avant était complètement restylée, avec des phares cachés et une calandre faite maison.

Ron finit par s’ennuyer à montrer la voiture, alors Ed Roth l’apporta à quelques spectacles, et il fut alors loué comme voiture d’exposition pour un magazine. Quand il a été rendu à Ron, il n’était pas en bon état, alors il l’a stocké dans son garage avant de décider de la vendre.

Au début des années 90, la voiture a été redécouverte, moins la plupart des pièces de Kustom et qui devaient être démantelées. Heureusement, Pat Ganahl a reconnu la voiture et lui a expliqué sa signification historique. La voiture appartient désormais à Emmanuelle Benoit, un restaurateur haut de gamme, qui prévoit de le remettre en condition de plein spectacle. Cependant, aucune date de début n’est donnée pour le début de la restauration.



Certaines de ses voitures les plus connues comprennent: la Predicta, l’Electra, le Cosma Ray, le Big T et le Lil Coffin.


le Musée du Temple de la Renommée National Rod & Custom Car de Darryl Starbird à Afton, en Oklahoma 

Adresse : 55251 E OK-85A, Afton, OK 74331, États-Unis



Aussi dans le Musée : le Reactor Mach II

Qui est apparu sur plusieurs programmes télévisés…  Et çà tombe très bien j’ai  fais un article sur elle 

 The Reactor – Gene Winfield, Californie






Construite et conçu par Darryl Starbird en 1979


1976 Mécanisme AMC Pacer
Toutes les modifications dans les grilles
avant et arrière à la main en fonte spéciale
Dessus de bulle personnalisé
Chevrolet 350 avec transmission Turbo 400
Jaguar – Train Arrière, Pacer -Train Avant,
Intérieur entièrement chromé:
Naugahyde marron et jaune 4 places,
Couture par Mike Standifer
Peinture: “House of Color” Pearl Yellow par Rick Starbird
Roues: Starwires 10 ”




(Petit modèle)  PREDICTA

Ceci est la configuration de la voiture après avoir été restauré par Darryl Starbird et comme il est maintenant dans son musée. Un vieux kit qui était amusant à construire.


Alain Predicta



Darryl Starbird et Gene Howard avec la Predicta. Photo fournie par Richard Fuerholze.

La Predicta est l’un des customs en toit à bulle les plus célèbre de l’histoire !

Darryl Starbird commence la construction de la Predicta en 1959, la base est une Thunderbird 1957 qu’il transforme complètement jusqu’à créer cette show car au design unique.
On peut noter entre autres: l’ajout d’ailes arrière de Buick 1959, des nouvelles face avant et arrière (Roll Pan) sans pare-chocs, sur la face avant se place 4 phares scandant une calandre réalisée de”balles” chromées, sur l’arrière nous trouvons un alignement de feux de Cadillac 1959. Ses calandres baroques seront rapidement remplacées par des barres chromées horizontales. En 1960, Starbird présente la Predicta au Oakland Roadster Show ou elle remporte un succès phénoménal, elle apparait en couvertures de car Craft et Motor Life et devient à l’époque l’un des dix plus beau custom de 1960. Ensuite elle devient célèbre dans le monde entier grâce à la maquette qu’en fera Monogram au 1/25 eme, qui est réédité régulièrement depuis. Après avoir été massacrée dans une version psychédélique au milieu des 1970’s, la Predicta est enfin restaurer à la fin des 1990’s dans la version du début des années 1960’s reproduite par le kit Monogram.



 






 



Source : 
►►►►
►►►►
►►►►
https://rdzphotographyblog.com/2019/06/19/afton-oklahoma-may-2019-darryl-starbirds-national-rod-custom-car-hall-of-fame/


 

 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.