House of the Future Disneyland California

Share Button
monsanto008
monsanto004
monsanto001

Marvin Goody & Richard Hamilton
Created by two Architects

monsanto038

monsanto002

Monsanto's House of the Future (Monsanto, House of the Future) was a Tomorrowland attraction at Disneyland California. It was opened to 1957 at 1967 and sponsored by Monsanto whose main field of activity was then the production of plastic. The attraction offered a visit to a futuristic house, allegedly in the year 1986. The house was located at the entrance to Tomorowland in front of the north building near the castle. It was in the form of a Latin cross on stilts. A garden with a pond was located under the house. The entire framework of the house was made of plastic and the interior presented revolutionary objects such as microwave ovens or television screens. (not operational at the time). With the opening in 1959 de Matterhorn Bobsleds, just behind, the sight of the house standing in front of the Matterhorn replica had become a “obligation” amateur photographers.


Monsanto House of the Future, Marvin Goody, Richard Hamilton, Robert Whittier et Frank Heger, 1950.


monsanto005

monsanto007

L & rsquo; attraction 1957 proposed a futuristic house 1986 (is 30 years later) from Tomorowland to Disneyland in California it was opened from 1957 at 1967.

monsanto016

The MHOF was among the most important of many 20th century prototypes for low-cost factory-built housing and was one of many showrooms. As type of building – compact with less structural constraints than public or commercial buildings – the shape of the house was an ideal laboratory for experimentation in the design, materials and construction. It was considered one of the most important vehicles for the study of architectural ideas in the twentieth century. In this project and in many others over the years 1950 and 1960, MIT has played a key role in advancing architectural innovation.


monsanto011

monsanto012
monsanto010

monsanto013

monsanto015
monsanto032

The house survived the New Tomorrowland of 1967 but closed shortly because Monsanto preferred to sponsor its new attraction : Adventure Thru Inner Space.

Disneyland 1967 – Adventure Thru Inner Space




Then demolished they could have taken it apart without breaking everything.. but what mess !

Contrary to what was advanced in the attraction, the house took two weeks to be destroyed and not a day. Workers had to cut the plastic with a chainsaw and legend has it that the destruction ball bounced off the house without destroying it.

The house closed in 1967. The building was so solid that when the demolition crews failed to demolish the house with wrecking balls, torches, chainsaws and jackhammers, the building was finally demolished using strangled chains to crush it into smaller parts. The plastic structure was so strong that the half-inch steel bolts used to mount it to its foundation broke before the structure itself. The reinforced concrete foundation has never been removed and remains in its original location, now the Pixie Hollow, where it was painted green and is used as a planter.

Monsanto House of the Future in Lego


A Video 360 and a trip to the House of the Future in Disneyland Park !


Buy one 3D model by Alban De Jerphanion


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Maison du Futur Disneyland Californie

Share Button
monsanto008
monsanto004
monsanto001

Marvin Goody & Richard Hamilton
Créée par deux Architectes 

monsanto038

monsanto002

La Maison du Futur de Monsanto (Monsanto, House of the Future) était une attraction de Tomorrowland à Disneyland en Californie. Elle fut ouverte de 1957 à 1967 et sponsorisée par Monsanto dont le domaine d’activité principal était alors la production de plastique. L’attraction proposait une visite d’une maison futuriste, prétendument en l’année 1986. La maison était située à l’entrée de Tomorowland devant le bâtiment nord à proximité du château. Elle se présentait sous la forme d’une croix latine sur pilotis. Un jardin avec un bassin était situé sous la maison. L’intégralité de l’ossature de la demeure était en plastique et l’intérieur présentait des objets révolutionnaires tels que les fours à micro-ondes ou les écrans-télévision (non opérationnel à l’époque). Avec l’ouverture en 1959 de Matterhorn Bobsleds, juste derrière, la vue de la maison se découpant devant la réplique du Cervin était devenue une “obligation” des photographes amateurs.


Monsanto House of the Future, Marvin Goody, Richard Hamilton, Robert Whittier et Frank Heger, 1950.


monsanto005

monsanto007

L’attraction de 1957 proposait une maison Futuriste de 1986 (soit 30 ans plus tard) de Tomorowland à Disneyland en Californie elle fut ouverte de 1957 à 1967.

monsanto016

Le MHOF figurait parmi les plus importants des nombreux prototypes du XXe siècle pour des logements à bas prix construits en usine et était l’une des nombreuses maisons d’exposition. En tant que type de bâtiment – compact avec moins de contraintes structurelles que les bâtiments publics ou commerciaux – la forme de la maison était un laboratoire idéal pour l’expérimentation dans la conception, les matériaux et la construction. Il a été considéré comme l’un des véhicules les plus importants pour l’étude des idées architecturales au XXe siècle. Dans ce projet et dans de nombreux autres au cours des années 1950 et 1960, le MIT a joué un rôle clé dans l’avancement de l’innovation architecturale.


monsanto011

monsanto012
monsanto010

monsanto013

monsanto015
monsanto032

La maison survécut au Nouveau Tomorrowland de 1967 mais a fermé peu de temps car Monsanto préféra sponsoriser sa nouvelle attraction : Adventure Thru Inner Space.

Disneyland 1967 – Adventure Thru Inner Space




Démolie ensuite ils auraient pu la démonter sans tout casser.. mais quel gâchis !

Contrairement a ce qui était avancé dans l’attraction, la maison mit deux semaines à être détruite et non pas une journée. Les ouvriers durent découper le plastique à la tronçonneuse et la légende voudrait que la boule de destruction ait rebondi sur la maison sans la détruire.

La maison a fermé en 1967. Le bâtiment était si solide que lorsque les équipes de démolition n’ont pas réussi à démolir la maison à l’aide de boulets de démolition, de torches, de tronçonneuses et de marteaux-piqueurs, le bâtiment a finalement été démoli à l’aide de chaînes étranglées pour l’écraser en plus petites parties. La structure en plastique était si solide que les boulons en acier d’un demi-pouce utilisés pour la monter sur sa fondation se sont cassés avant la structure elle-même. La fondation en béton armé n’a jamais été enlevée et reste à son emplacement d’origine, maintenant le Pixie Hollow, où elle a été peinte en vert et est utilisée comme jardinière.

La Maison du Futur Monsanto en lego


Une Vidéo à 360° et un petit tour à la Maison du Futur dans le Parc de Disneyland !


Acheter un Modèle 3D par Alban De Jerphanion


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.