Truss Wall House – Ushida Findlay Architects JAPON

Share Button

Kathryn Findlay (1953-2014)

1979 A graduate of the Architectural Association, London 1998 Professor at Tokyo University 1999 Visiting Professor at UCLA, The Angels 1986.
Creating Ushida Finlay Partnership in Tokyo.
Eisaku Ushida (1954)
1976 A graduate of the University of Tokyo 1999 – Visiting Professor at UCLA, The Angels.
Ushida Findlay Architects (UFA)
is an agency associated architects, Japanese and English, founded in 1986 and London-based.




Interview with renowned architect Kathryn Findlay – Ushida Findlay Architects (UFA) is an agency associated architects, Japanese and English, founded in 1986 and London-based. The architect Kathryn Findlay, passed away 60 years, was creative of space age homes surreal Japan and co-creator of Orbit tower at the London Olympic Park.

At once earthy and hi-tech, rustic and urban, the houses she built in Tokyo in years 1990, with her husband, Eisaku Ushida, were an obvious physical primitive style of his future. Recalling the buildings to the north wall of mud in Africa and New Mexico, crossed something directly Jetsons, they appeared as objects of other countries in the streets of the suburbs of the city.

Forming a series of cave-shaped spaces in a serpentine loop white, le Truss Wall House , completed 1993, has made elaborate feats with concrete before computer modeling to create an ubiquitous curvilinear forms. It was commissioned by the owner of Truss Wall System, a method of construction of composite curves concrete, which until then had been used for decorative applications, such as the manufacture of corrugated curtains concrete and sculptures dragon.

Ushida Findlay and took the fantasy theme a little further, building a hollow shell dotted with constellations of circular windows, with a deck made of what looked like pink marshmallows. He was half alive, and the building has since taken his life: small planting bed pushed fully home with a thick coat of ivy.


In 1987, Japanese architect Eisaku Ushida, graduated from Tokyo University (1976) and Scottish architect Kathryn Findlay, were trained at the Architectural Association (1979). Both are former partners of Arata Isozaki (between 1976 and 1982).

Their architecture is situated at the crossroads between Bachelard's concept of space, exploring its symbolic components, psychoanalytic, not to say "psycho-geographical", and a purely scientific research and geometric shape. for Ushida & Findlay, This detour through the basic sciences, focused on the geometry of the chaos and nonlinear mathematical, is the way to bring true independence of the architectural object.

This allows them also – by an architecture very similar to the formal explorations of Frederick Kiesler («Endless House»), Antoni Gaudi, organic spaces Bruce Goff, sculptures by André Bloc, as well as those designed by Häusermann and Chanéac in Years 1960 propose a possible synthesis between the subjective desire to free form and the need to establish objectively.

L’architecture, the landscape and sculpture open here on the road that leads to new forms of spatiality, traversed by repeating units as the Moebius strip and the spiral, a growth model in nature, which retains the internal analogies, at the same time, inner and outer inseparable.

Their organic forms take place in a set of topological space twists that galvanize and stimulate perception multisensory (Truss Wall House). Their architecture is the projection, in physical space, psychological desires of its inhabitants (Soft and Hairy House). He claims the continuity between the body and space.

Spatial awareness and the unconscious merged in the same cognitive field, where there is an interference involving intuition and mathematical modeling. The relationship between the body as space and mental perception of this space is the center of their architecture.

Ushida Findlay's method the wall allows a variety of independent forms, within the structural integrity of concrete. Ushida Findlay and explored these possibilities in the design of this experimental house.

The plasticity of the system allowed an unlimited topological manipulation between solid and void. So, functional criteria have been met by emulating the flow of soft viscera packed in a container and frozen for a moment to gain a balanced flow.

By replacing the standard architectural language, wherein the elements are "hinged", by this "fluid medium" Ushida & Findlay intended to reach a deeper layer of architectural language borrowing from the mathematics of topology.

The courtyard was laid with balloon tiles, doors embossed with fractals veins and the whole building was finished in a mortar finished texture brush, creating a continuous surface within. The essence of the finished building can not be captured by video or photographed, it must be experienced in movement and over time.


Truss Wall House Machida-city, Tokyo, Japan, 1993


GoogleMap:






 





 

Home Sweet hairy
Soft and Hairy House by Ushida Findlay
Tsukuba-city, Ibaraki, Japan, 1994


The Soft and Hairy House, a modern Japanese house in the new science city of Tsukuba in Japan, designed by the architectural partnership of Ushida and Kathryn Findlay. Wedged between two wings of a house, There is a bathroom in the form of oversized egg with portholes that come out in the yard.


The Soft and Hairy House, a modern Japanese house in the new science city of Tsukuba in Japan, designed by the architectural partnership of Ushida and Kathryn Findlay. The seating area in a curved corner of the house has semicircular seats equipped with tube-shaped cushions covered with curved leather. The central sections unfold like saddles and footrest. Above, bundled linen sheets filter and diffuse ceiling lights.


Home Sweet hairy Tsukuba-city, Ibaraki, Japan, 1994


Intrigued by the provocative statement of Salvador Dali on the architecture of the future, customers – a young couple with architectural journalists – had ordered a house “soft and hairy” d'Ushida et Findlay. Covered with a carpet of wild grasses the same species that grows on the surrounding desert –

the House, surrounded by patio, was designed as an embodiment of the couple: the body of man and the female body wrapped around the body of the child represented by the shape of the arm-like bathroom. The House – as a landscape where the familiar and the foreign man dresses – was fully programmed on the basis of his psychoanalytic implications.

For Ushida and Findlay, This work helped to project a surreal line of thinking in architecture. Although minimalism, a dominant architectural trend in Japan, strives to "capture the actual", they tried here, how to Dali, to "materialize the dream" and build a mixture of "reality" in the same space factor which are inside and outside of architecture. This new “reality” shows a wave periphery, as if it had been the abstract and the real “real”. construct and a mixture of “reality” in one and the same space factor which are inside and outside of the architecture.

This new “reality” shows a wave periphery, as if it had been the abstract and the real “real”. construct and a mixture of “reality” in one and the same space factor which are inside and outside of the architecture. This new “reality” shows a wave periphery, as if it had been the abstract and the real “real”.



Home for the Third Millennium London, Britain, 1994


This house is a prototype designed for an exhibition at the Architecture Foundation in London. Ushida Findlay suggested a home for the future when the network electronic devices envelope around the world a new layer “e Gaia”.

The cities have been allayed, dissolving its functions in campaign or computer screens. People spend their time very differently. This house was designed for this type of living and working, located in a rural environment. The house and the landscape are merged into one.

The roof is a three-dimensional extension, (appearing and returning), the ground plane. The plan is based on a logarithmic spiral and elevation is based on the sinusoidal curve. This method amalgam two types of geometry in three-dimensional shapes, has the potential to generate many other new forms. Inside, the house includes a series of oval pods for rooms, the studies, eating places and bathrooms with, between them, more flexible living spaces.

 


Doha Foundation Art and Official Residence, Doha, Qatar 2005 –



Kathryn Findlay systems, Doha, architects and futuristic architecture.





ArcelorMittal Orbit tower of the London Olympic Park 2012,
on which Kathryn Findlay collaborated with Anish Kapoor

His final Collaboration, ArcelorMittal Orbit in the London Olympic Park,
was one of his dearest.


 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Truss Wall House – Ushida Findlay Architects JAPON

Share Button

Kathryn Findlay (1953-2014)

1979 Diplômée de l’Architectural Association, Londres 1998 Professeur à l’Université de Tokyo 1999 Professeur invité à UCLA, Los Angeles 1986.
Création de Ushida Finlay Partnership à Tokyo.
Eisaku Ushida (1954)
1976 Diplômé de l’Université de Tokyo 1999 – Professeur invité à UCLA, Los Angeles.
Ushida Findlay Architects (UFA)
est une agence d’architectes associés, japonais et anglais, fondée en 1986 et basée à Londres.




Entretien avec l’architecte renommé Kathryn Findlay – Ushida Findlay Architects (UFA) est une agence d’architectes associés, japonais et anglais, fondée en 1986 et basée à Londres. L’architecte Kathryn Findlay, décédée à 60 ans, a été créatrice de maisons d’âge spatial surréalistes au Japon et co-créatrice de la tour Orbit au parc olympique de Londres.

À la fois terreux et hi-tech, rustique et urbain, les maisons qu’elle a construites à Tokyo dans les années 1990, avec son mari, Eisaku Ushida, étaient un manifeste physique de son futur style primitif. Rappelant les bâtiments à paroi de boue du nord de l’Afrique et du Nouveau-Mexique, ont traversé quelque chose directement des Jetsons, ils sont apparus comme des objets d’autres pays dans les rues des banlieues de la ville.

En formant une série d’espaces en forme de grotte dans une boucle blanche sinueuse, le Truss Wall House , complété en 1993, a réalisé des exploits élaborés avec du béton avant que la modélisation informatique ne crée de formes curvilignes omniprésentes. Il a été commandé par le propriétaire du système Truss Wall, une méthode de construction de courbes composites en béton, qui jusqu’alors n’avaient été utilisées que pour des applications décoratives, telles que la fabrication de rideaux ondulés en béton et des sculptures de dragons.

Findlay et Ushida ont pris le thème fantastique un peu plus loin, construisant une coquille creuse parsemée de constellations de fenêtres circulaires, avec une terrasse faite de ce qui ressemblait à des marshmallows roses. Il était à moitié vivant, et le bâtiment a depuis pris sa vie: le petit lit de plantation a poussé la maison entièrement avec un manteau épais de lierre.


En 1987, l’architecte japonais Eisaku Ushida, diplômé de l’Université de Tokyo (1976) et l’architecte écossais Kathryn Findlay, ont été formés à l’Architectural Association (1979). Les deux sont des anciens associés d’Arata Isozaki (entre 1976 et 1982).

Leur architecture est située au carrefour entre une conception bachelardienne de l’espace, qui explore ses composantes symboliques, psychanalytiques, à ne pas dire «psycho-géographiques», et une recherche purement scientifique et géométrique de la forme. Pour Ushida & Findlay, ce détour par les sciences de base, axé sur la géométrie du chaos et des mathématiques non linéaires, est le moyen d’introduire une véritable indépendance de l’objet architectural.

Cela leur permet également – par une architecture qui ressemble beaucoup aux explorations formelles de Frederick Kiesler («Endless House»), Antoni Gaudi, les espaces organiques de Bruce Goff, les sculptures d’André Bloc, ainsi que celles conçues par Häusermann et Chanéac dans Les années 1960 proposer une synthèse possible entre le désir subjectif de libérer la forme et la nécessité de l’établir objectivement.

L’architecture, le paysage et la sculpture s’ouvrent ici sur le chemin qui entraîne de nouvelles formes de spatialité, traversées par des motifs récurrents comme la bande de Moëbius et la spirale, un modèle de croissance dans la nature, qui conserve les analogies internes qui, en même temps, intérieur et extérieur inséparables.

Leurs formes organiques se déroulent dans un jeu de torsions topologiques qui galvanisent l’espace et stimulent sa perception multisensorielle (Truss Wall House). Leur architecture est la projection, dans un espace physique, des désirs psychologiques de ses habitants (Soft and Hairy House). Il prétend la continuité entre le corps et l’espace.

La conscience spatiale et l’inconscient ont fusionné dans un même champ cognitif, où il y a une ingérence impliquant l’intuition et la modélisation mathématique. La relation entre le corps comme espace et la perception mentale de cet espace est au centre de leur architecture.

Ushida findlay La méthode de la muraille permet une variété de formes indépendantes, dans les limites de l’intégrité structurelle du béton armé. Ushida et Findlay ont exploré ces possibilités dans la conception de cette maison expérimentale.

La plasticité du système a permis une manipulation topologique illimitée entre solide et vide. Ainsi, les critères fonctionnels ont été satisfaits en émulant le flux de viscères souples emballés dans un récipient et congelés à un moment afin d’acquérir une fluidité équilibrée.

En remplaçant le langage architectural standard, dans lequel les éléments sont «articulés», par ce «fluide fluide» Ushida & Findlay destiné à atteindre une couche plus profonde d’emprunt de langue architecturale à partir des mathématiques de la topologie.

La cour a été posée avec des carreaux à ballonnet, les portes gaufrées avec des veines fractales et l’ensemble du bâtiment a été fini dans une texture de mortier fini à la brosse, créant une surface continue à l’intérieur. L’essence du bâtiment fini ne peut pas être capturée par vidéo ou photographié, il doit être expérimenté en mouvement et au fil du temps.


Truss Wall House Machida-city, Tokyo, Japon, 1993


GoogleMap:






 





 

Maison douce et poilue
Soft and Hairy House by Ushida Findlay
Tsukuba-city, Ibaraki, Japon, 1994


The Soft and Hairy House, une maison japonaise moderne dans la nouvelle ville scientifique de Tsukuba au Japon, conçue par le partenariat architectural d’Ushida et Kathryn Findlay. Coincé entre deux ailes d’une maison, il y a une salle de bain en forme de œuf surdimensionnée avec des hublots qui sortent dans la cour.


The Soft and Hairy House, une maison japonaise moderne dans la nouvelle ville scientifique de Tsukuba au Japon, conçue par le partenariat architectural d’Ushida et Kathryn Findlay. Le coin salon dans un coin incurvé de la maison comporte des sièges semi-circulaires équipés de coussins en forme de tube recouverts de cuir incurvés. Les sections centrales se déploient comme des selles et des repose-pieds. Au-dessus, les draps de toile groupés filtrent et diffusent les feux de plafond.


Maison douce et poilue Tsukuba-city, Ibaraki, Japon, 1994


Intrigué par la déclaration provocatrice de Salvador Dali sur l’architecture du futur, les clients – un jeune couple de journalistes d’architecture – avaient commandé une maison “douce et poilue” d’Ushida et Findlay. Couvert d’un tapis de graminées sauvages la même espèce qui se développe sur le désert environnant –

la maison, entourée de son patio, a été conçue comme un mode de réalisation du couple: le corps de l’homme et le corps de la femme enroulé autour de la corps de l’enfant représenté par la forme de la salle de bain en forme de bras. La maison – comme un paysage où l’homme familier et l’étranger s’habille – a été entièrement programmée sur la base de ses implications psychanalytiques.

Pour Ushida et Findlay, ce travail a permis de projeter une ligne de pensée surréaliste dans l’architecture. Bien que le minimalisme, une tendance architecturale prédominante au Japon, s’efforce de «dématérialiser le réel», ils ont tenté ici, à la manière de Dali, de «matérialiser le rêve» et de construire un mélange de «réalité» dans un même facteur spatial qui sont à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de l’architecture. Cette nouvelle “réalité” montre une périphérie vague, comme si elle avait été abstraite du monde et le réel “réel”. et construire un mélange de “réalité” dans un seul et même facteur spatial qui sont à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de l’architecture.

Cette nouvelle “réalité” montre une périphérie vague, comme si elle avait été abstraite du monde et le réel “réel”. et construire un mélange de “réalité” dans un seul et même facteur spatial qui sont à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de l’architecture. Cette nouvelle “réalité” montre une périphérie vague, comme si elle avait été abstraite du monde et le réel “réel”.



Maison pour le troisième millénaire Londres, Grande-Bretagne, 1994


Cette maison est un prototype conçu pour une exposition organisée à la Fondation Architecture à Londres. Ushida Findlay a proposé une maison pour le futur lorsque le réseau de périphériques électroniques enveloppe dans le monde entier une nouvelle couche de “Gaia électronique”.

Les villes auraient été dissipées, dissolvant ses fonctions dans les écrans de campagne ou d’ordinateur. Les gens passeraient leur temps de manière très différente. Cette maison a été conçue pour ce type de vie et de travail, situé dans un environnement rural. L’habitation et le paysage sont fusionnés en un seul.

Le toit est une extension tridimensionnelle, (apparaissant et retournant), du plan de masse. Le plan est basé sur une spirale logarithmique et l’élévation est basée sur la courbe sinusoïdale. Cette méthode qui amalgame deux types de géométrie en formes tridimensionnelles, a le potentiel de générer de nombreuses autres formes nouvelles. À l’intérieur, la maison comprend une série de gousses ovales pour les chambres, les études, les lieux de restauration et les salles de bains avec, entre elles, des espaces de vie plus souples.

 


Fondation Doha Art et Résidence officielle, Doha, Qatar 2005 –



Kathryn Findlay Systèmes, Doha, architectes et l’architecture futuriste.





La tour Orbit d’ArcelorMittal au parc olympique de Londres 2012,
sur laquelle Kathryn Findlay a collaboré avec Anish Kapoor

Sa collaboration finale, sur l’orbite ArcelorMittal dans le parc olympique de Londres,
était l’une de ses plus chères.


 

 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.