Dean Jeffries – Mantaray, Monkeemobile

Share Button

Dean (Edward) Jeffries  (1933-2013 )

Dean Jeffries was an American designer and manufacturer of custom cars, as well as a stuntman and stunt coordinator for Los Angeles-based movies and TV shows, in California.

Dean Jeffries Hot Rod – Pinstriping Pin-up

Dean Jeffries was one of the pioneers of America, a man who inspired three generations of Hotrodders, the dragsters, of car manufacturers and customizations with his talent, his vision and his genius. With its pistols, brushes and metalworking tools. Dean Jeffries built his MantaRay to compete in the Grand Prize of the Tournament of Fame, which will be awarded to the Oakland Roaster Show in 1964. After working on the first Cobra for Carroll Shelby in 1962, Jeffries began work on his Mantaray project using parts of the chassis from a pre-war Maserati Grand Prix car he had acquired from his father-in-law, Jeffries used 86 pieces of aluminum to form Mantaray's bodywork, by carefully welding the panels to a complicated arrangement of steel tubes.

The Monkeemobile and the MantaRay were his most famous works.

The Mantaray

It was built on the chassis of an old Maserati Grand Prix racing car Formula 1.

Jeffries is perched on top of his famous Mantaray, documenting its complex construction.

The car was finished with a Plexiglas Bubbletop made by Jeffries using a tube to blow air into molten plastic until it bubbles to the size it needs. The engine he chose was a Ford V-8 with Cobra valve covers associated with a transmission to 4 gears.

The finished car was taken to the Oakland show on 14 February.

After learning to radiate while parking in Germany with the American army, Dean worked alongside Kenneth “By Dutch” Howard and Barris Kustom before opening Dean Jeffries Automotive Styling in North Hollywood. He has made a name for himself for his outrageous stripes and flame paintings and for building breathtaking customs like the Mantaray, opposite the "Oakland Roadster Show" but 64.

Edward ” Dean”  Jeffries Mantaray Custom Concept Car (1963)

Dean Jeffries' Mantaray in action and towing a dragster.


Mantaray Car 3D (Take 3D glasses )

3D


Jeffries, under contract with Model Products Corporation (MPC) at the time, spoke to CEO George Toteff about the project. A vehicle brand has not yet been chosen for the project. M. Toteff then told his friend Jim Wangersde about these developments. M. Wangers was promoting and advertising Pontiac at the time and saw the show as a huge promotion opportunity for Pontiac. After concluding the deal, Jim Wangers supplied two GTO convertibles 1966 with four basic guns 389 with automatic transmissions to convert to Monkeemobiles. MPC has in turn received exclusive rights to market a model of the Monkeemobile kit. They would end up selling more than 7 million copies of these kits.

George Barris Custom (1925-2015)

After “Monkeemania”, the production offered to Jeffries to buy back the two copies for 1 000 dollars. One of the kings of “custom”, George Barris, bought one that he ended up selling 400 000 dollars and 2008. The other copy went around the world, foolishly ending up in Puerto Rico before being redeemed in 1992 by a collector for 2 000 dollars. The two cars are known today and continue to make the show, occasionally !

The Monkeemobile is a modified Pontiac GTO designed and built by designer Dean Jeffries for The Monkees , a pop-rock band and a TV show. The Monkees in May 1967 : Micky Dolenz, Davy Jones, Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork. The Monkees is an American pop rock band, trained in 1965 and dissolved in 1970. The group is created in order to launch the television series The Monkees, whose protagonists are the members of the group.

The car has a forward tilt divided into two windshield parts , a convertible passenger car with upper panels, modified rear quarter panel and front bumper, exaggerated rear lights, set of four bucket seats and an additional third row bench where there was originally a trunk, a mounted rear parachute and a GTO emblem on the front grille. The origins of the Monkeemobile started in 1966 when Dean Jeffries was commissioned to design and build a car for a new TV show called “The Monkees”.


3D MonkeeMobile


 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Dean Jeffries – Mantaray, Monkeemobile

Share Button

Dean (Edward) Jeffries  (1933-2013 )

Dean Jeffries était un concepteur et fabricant américain de voitures personnalisées, ainsi qu’un cascadeur et coordonnateur de cascades pour des films et des émissions de télévision basés à Los Angeles, en Californie.

Dean Jeffries Hot Rod – Pinstriping Pin-up

Dean Jeffries a été l’un des pionniers de l’Amérique, un homme qui a inspiré trois générations de Hotrodders, de dragsters, de constructeurs automobiles et de personnalisations avec son talent, sa vision et son génie. Avec ses pistolets, ses pinceaux et ses outils de travail des métaux. Dean Jeffries a construit son MantaRay pour participer au grand prix du Tournoi de la renommée qui sera décerné au Oakland Roaster Show en 1964. Après avoir travaillé sur le premier Cobra pour Carroll Shelby en 1962, Jeffries a commencé à travailler sur son projet Mantaray en utilisant des parties du châssis d’une voiture d’avant-guerre Maserati Grand Prix qu’il avait acquise auprès de son beau-père, Jeffries a utilisé 86 pièces d’aluminium pour former la carrosserie de Mantaray, en soudant soigneusement les panneaux sur un agencement compliqué de tubes d’acier.

Le Monkeemobile et le MantaRay étaient ses œuvres les plus célèbres.

The Mantaray

Il a été construit sur le châssis d’une ancienne voiture de course Maserati Grand Prix Formule 1.

Jeffries est perché au sommet de sa célèbre Mantaray, documentant sa construction complexe.

Le monoplace était fini avec un Bubbletop en plexiglas fabriqué par Jeffries en utilisant un tube pour souffler de l’air dans du plastique fondu jusqu’à ce qu’il fasse des bulles à la taille dont il avait besoin. Le moteur qu’il a choisi était un Ford V-8 avec des couvercles de vannes Cobra associés à une transmission à 4 vitesses.

La voiture finie a été emmenée au spectacle d’Oakland le 14 février.

Après avoir appris à rayonner en stationnant en Allemagne avec l’armée américaine, Dean a travaillé aux côtés de Kenneth “Von Dutch” Howard et de Barris Kustom avant d’ouvrir Dean Jeffries Automotive Styling à North Hollywood. Il s’est taillé une réputation pour ses travaux de rayures et de peintures à la flamme scandaleux et pour la construction de coutumes à couper le souffle comme le Mantaray, gagnant du «Oakland Roadster Show» en 64.

Edward ” Dean”  Jeffries Mantaray  Custom Concept Car (1963)

La Mantaray de Dean Jeffries en action et remorquage d’un dragster.


Mantaray Car 3D (Munissez-vous de Lunettes 3D )

3D


Jeffries, sous contrat avec Model Products Corporation (MPC) à l’époque, a parlé du projet à son PDG George Toteff. Une marque de véhicule n’a pas encore été choisie pour le projet. M. Toteff a ensuite dit à son ami Jim Wangersde ces développements. M. Wangers travaillait à la promotion et à la publicité de Pontiac à l’époque et considérait le spectacle comme une énorme occasion de promotion pour Pontiac. Après avoir conclu le marché, Jim Wangers a fourni deux convertibles GTO 1966 à quatre canons de base 389 avec des transmissions automatiques à convertir en Monkeemobiles. MPC a à son tour reçu des droits exclusifs pour commercialiser un modèle de kit du Monkeemobile. Ils finiraient par vendre plus de 7 millions d’exemplaires de ces kits.

George Barris Kustom (1925-2015)

Après la “Monkeemania”, la production proposa à Jeffries de racheter les deux exemplaires pour 1 000 dollars. L’un des rois du “custom”, George Barris, en racheta un qu’il finit par vendre 400 000 dollars en 2008. L’autre exemplaire fit le tour du monde, finissant bêtement à Porto Rico avant d’être racheté en 1992 par un collectionneur pour 2 000 dollars. Les deux voitures sont aujourd’hui connues et continuent à faire le show, occasionnellement !

Le Monkeemobile est une GTO de Pontiac modifiée conçue et construite par le designer Dean Jeffries pour The Monkees , un groupe de pop-rock et une émission de télévision. Les Monkees en mai 1967 : Micky Dolenz, Davy Jones, Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork. The Monkees est un groupe américain pop rock, formé en 1965 et dissous en 1970. Le groupe est créé afin de lancer la série télévisée The Monkees, dont les protagonistes sont les membres du groupe.

La voiture dispose d’un incliné vers l’avant divisé en deux parties pare-brise , une voiture de tourisme convertible panneaux supérieur, modifiés custode arrière et pare-chocs avant, feux arrière exagérées, ensemble de quatre sièges baquets et un banc troisième rangée supplémentaire où il y avait à l’origine un tronc, un arrière parachute monté et un emblème GTO sur la grille avant. Les origines du Monkeemobile ont commencé en 1966 lorsque Dean Jeffries a été chargé de concevoir et de construire une voiture pour une nouvelle émission de télévision intitulée “The Monkees”.


3D MonkeeMobile


 

 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.