Original Lincoln Futura to Today

Share Button

Lincoln Futura
1950-1955

The Lincoln Futura is a concept car made by the Lincoln division of the Ford Motor Company in the middle of the years 1950.

TheLincoln Futura d’on board , then private public presentation at the Plaza Hotel Congress, Chicago 5-9 January, 1955.

In 1959, theFuture plays an important role in the filmIt Started with a Kiss starring Debbie Reynolds and Glenn Ford.



It was originally designed by stylists from the company Bill Schmidt and John Najjar, built entirely manually by Ghia in Turin for the price of 250 000 $ of the time and presented to the public in 1955. The design of the Futura was very original according to the classic stylistic standards of the years 1950 with its double plastic canopy derived from that of military jets of the time, its headlights generously wrapped in the bodywork of the wings and its rear fins.


Unlike many projects or prototypes usually presented as a full-scale model, the Futura was an operational vehicle built on a chassis of Lincoln Mark II and fitted with a Lincoln engine 368 cubic inch which fitted certain models of the Mercury brand.

A single model, this concept car was the subject of reconstructions of varying qualities but a molding was made on the original by Bob Butts and used to create at least one very precise replica. The construction of this functional replica is the subject of an episode of the television series of Netflix Car Masters : rust to gold (Car Masters: Rust to Riches)

Its original color was an iridescent white using cultured pearls as pigments to obtain this optical effect..



For technical reasons, the car had to be repainted in red, the original iridescent color badly passing the image.


Despite its manufacturing cost of a quarter of a million dollars, the Futura was sold to Barris for only a thousand dollars by the Ford Motor Company. Impossible to insure since never approved nor even legally stamped, the Futura stayed outside for several years behind the Harris store, where it deteriorated.

Bill Cushenberry is responsible for making the necessary modifications to the bodywork. Three fiberglass copies motorized by the bodies of three Ford Galaxies 1966 are made by Barris for the series they are covered with velvet-like flocking in the years 1970.

George Barris makes a fourth and final replica, this time in metal and based on a Ford Thunderbird 1958.

Barris said he turned the Lincoln into just 15 days for 15 000 $.

Bob Kane (Batman author) and George Barris

Originally, stylist Dean Jeffries won the final contract 1965 more, unable to deliver the vehicle on time, he loses the project in favor of Barris. In 1966, the Futura is modified by the Designer George Barris to become the Batmobile of the Batman television series of the years 1960 and that of the Film of 1966. After this appearance in the cinema, the car could have been forgotten, even destroyed, like many concept cars of its time. However, it ended up in the hands of George Barris, a custom car designer. Having little time, Barris believes that the general aesthetic of the Futura will do the trick and, on the basis of the car started by its competitor, decides the unusual shape of the Lincoln's fins will make an ideal starting point for the requested Batmobile.





The film ” BATMAN ” 1966


Photo Copyright by Sergio Goldvarg
Thunderbird (1957)

SOLD 4,62 million from the original Batmobile's 1966 built by George Barris sold at auction by Barret Jackson.

At the Barrett-Jackson Classic Car Auction 19 January 2013, Scottsdale, Arizona, Barris sells the original Batmobile to a certain Rick Champagne for 4,62 millions of dollars.

It is also temporarily exhibited at the Cayman Motor Museum, on the island of Grand Cayman in Florida.

After converting his Futura to Batmobile, Barris remains owner of his car, and rent it to the studio as needed according to filming needs. The finished series, Barris recovers this first Batmobile and exhibits it in his private museum in California.



A real replica with the original molds of George Barris created by Gotham Garage.

Bob Butts, for its part produces a conductive replica of the Futura

BOB BUTTS 1966 BATMOBILE II REPLICA

Dunham's car even has a little history of television itself, because Racop says it was built by the late Bob Butts for the Viper show. This show quickly featured a Dodge Viper from 1994 which could turn into a police car known as the Defender.

The alt attribute of this image is empty, its file name is BATMOBILE0029.jpg.

A replica of the Batmobile




Detroit, USA. Feb 24, 2017. 1966 Indoor Batmobile, a 1955 Ford Lincoln Futura concept from the TV series ‘Batman’, on display at Detroit Autorama.



The Batmobile is one of the most recognizable pop culture vehicles in history – an incredible feat for a car that was already ten years old when the show started.



The Batmobile Documentary Livestream Warner Bros. Entertainment


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Lincoln Futura d’origine jusqu’à Aujourd’hui

Share Button

Lincoln Futura
1950-1955

La Lincoln Futura est un concept car réalisé par la division Lincoln de la Ford Motor Company au milieu des années 1950.

Le Lincoln Futura d’ abord , puis présentation publique privée au Congrès Plaza Hôtel, Chicago 5-9 Janvier, 1955.

En 1959, la Futura joue un rôle important dans le film It Started with a Kiss avec Debbie Reynolds et Glenn Ford en vedette.



Elle est à l’origine dessinée par les stylistes de la compagnie Bill Schmidt et John Najjar construite entièrement manuellement chez Ghia à Turin pour le prix de 250 000 $ de l’époque et présentée au public en 1955. Le design de la Futura était très original selon les normes stylistiques classiques des années 1950 avec sa verrière double en plastique dérivée de celle des jets militaires de l’époque, ses phares avant généreusement enveloppés dans la carrosserie des ailes et ses ailerons arrière.


Contrairement à de nombreux projets ou prototypes présentés ordinairement à l’état de maquette grandeur nature, la Futura était un véhicule opérationnel construit sur un châssis de Lincoln Mark II et pourvu d’un moteur Lincoln 368 cubic inch qui équipait certains modèles de la marque Mercury.

Un modèle unique, ce concept-car a été l’objet de reconstitutions de qualités variables mais un moulage a été réalisé sur l’original par Bob Butts et utilisé pour créer au moins une réplique très précise. La construction de cette réplique fonctionnelle fait l’objet d’un épisode de la série télévisée de Netflix Car Masters : de la rouille à l’or (Car Masters: Rust to Riches)

Sa couleur originale était d’un blanc iridescent utilisant des perles de culture comme pigments pour obtenir cet effet optique.



Pour des raisons techniques, la voiture dut être repeinte en rouge, la couleur iridescente originelle passant mal à l’image.


Malgré son coût de fabrication d’un quart de million de dollars, la Futura a été vendue à Barris pour seulement mille dollars par la Ford Motor Company. Impossible à assurer puisque jamais homologuée ni même légalement estampillée, la Futura est restée plusieurs années à l’air libre derrière le magasin de Harris, où elle s’est détériorée.

Un dénommé Bill Cushenberry est chargé de faire les modifications nécessaires sur la carrosserie. Trois copies en fibre de verre et motorisées par les organes de trois Ford Galaxie 1966 sont réalisées par Barris pour la série elles sont recouvertes d’un flocage façon velours dans les années 1970.

George Barris réalise une quatrième et dernière réplique, cette fois en métal et basée quant à elle sur une Ford Thunderbird 1958.

Barris a déclaré avoir transformé la Lincoln en seulement 15 jours pour 15 000 $.

Bob Kane (Batman auteur) and George Barris

À l’origine, c’est le styliste Dean Jeffries qui remporta le contrat fin 1965 mais, incapable de livrer le véhicule dans les délais impartis, il perd le projet au profit de Barris. En 1966, la Futura est modifiée par le Designer George Barris pour devenir la Batmobile de la série télévisée Batman des années 1960 et celle du Film de 1966. Après cette apparition au cinéma, la voiture aurait pu être oubliée, voire détruite, comme nombre de concept-cars de son époque. Néanmoins, elle a fini entre les mains de George Barris, un créateur de voitures custom. Disposant de peu de temps, Barris estime que l’esthétique générale de la Futura fera l’affaire et, sur la base de la voiture entamée par son concurrent, décide que la forme inhabituelle des ailerons de la Lincoln fera un point de départ idéal pour la Batmobile demandée.





Le Film  ” BATMAN ” 1966


Photo Copyright by Sergio Goldvarg
Thunderbird (1957)

VENDU 4,62 millions de la Batmobile originale de 1966 construite par George Barris vendue aux enchères par Barret Jackson.

Lors de la vente aux enchères de voitures de collection Barrett-Jackson du 19 janvier 2013, à Scottsdale, Arizona, Barris vend la Batmobile originelle à un certain Rick Champagne pour un montant de 4,62 millions de dollars.

Elle est également provisoirement exposée au Cayman Motor Museum, sur l’île de Grand Cayman en Floride.

Après la conversion de sa Futura en Batmobile, Barris reste propriétaire de sa voiture, et la loue au studio au besoin en fonction des nécessités de tournage. La série terminée, Barris récupère cette première Batmobile et l’expose dans son musée privé de Californie.



Une vraie réplique avec les moules originaux de George Barris créée par Gotham Garage.

Bob Butts, réalise de son côté une réplique conductible de la Futura

BOB BUTTS 1966 BATMOBILE II REPLICA

La voiture de Dunham a même un peu d’histoire de la télévision elle-même, car Racop dit qu’elle a été construite par feu Bob Butts pour l’émission Viper. Cette émission a rapidement présenté une Dodge Viper de 1994 qui pourrait se transformer en voiture de police connue sous le nom de Defender.

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est BATMOBILE0029.jpg.

Une réplique de la Batmobile




Detroit, USA. Feb 24, 2017. 1966 Batmobile intérieur, un 1955 Ford Lincoln Futura concept à partir de la série TV ‘Batman’, sur l’affichage à l’Autorama Detroit.



La Batmobile est l’un des véhicules de la culture pop les plus reconnaissables de l’histoire un exploit incroyable pour une voiture qui avait déjà dix ans au début du salon.



The Batmobile Documentary Livestream Warner Bros. Entertainment


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.