Monos Wheels Monowheels, Dynasphère

Share Button



The Christie wheel under construction – 1923
Monocycle Patent Artwork 1894 – Nikki Marie Smith

the engines appear recurrently, mono wheels also will evolve. They will be very many. Gender diversity will now close, sometimes far from the current models.




http://justacarguy.blogspot.com/2019/11/the-kraken-trike-with-2-hubless-wheels.html


we can clearly see that the sphere in question is actually a wheel, huge and Central, wherein are placed passengers. Dr Purves has developed several models with various improvements and combinations : car, for two people, and even a project for five users ! The engines were sometimes electric, or more often thermal, with a motor placed in front of the driver. One of the specificities of this machine is its somewhat oscillating stability.


A rare and little video of the time in order to see what can be a trip to DYNASPHERE
Demonstration in 1932.



The Dynasphere on Brean Sands The inventor's son is in command.


A wheel, giantess ! centrifugal force, and that's how this thing there was devised to 1930.


A unique and mythical vehicle ! a first approach to the single wheel motor invented by Alfred E. From Harlingue to 1912


But this is probably the machine Garavaglia which is the ancestor of all the equipment :
it was presented at the exhibition in Milan 1904. These wonderful rolling crazy in their strange machines.


A version of a man in the Dynasphere.

One was supplied with electricity, probably using lead acid batteries.

Image courtesy of David & Peter Hastings.
Dr JH Purves, inventor, with a model Dynosphere. Note the enclosed cab.

Dr Purves said that the use of a wheel instead of four gave a great energy saving. That seems very doubtful. Dr John Purvis had established the West of England Electricity Company, so it probably was not a solitary eccentric. Future versions were designed to be controlled using machines to move the car from side, by tilting the wheel.


Dynasphere on the cover of Popular Science, May 1932.



An American Mono-Trace 1897. This is the design of Vernon D Mono-Trace, Virginia. It consists of something like a normal bicycle mounted inside the Ferris wheel. This image was published in the French journal La Nature 1897. He said: “inventor says his unicycle is absolutely stable, and can be easily controlled by a simple tilt of the body to the left or right”.



The Monowheel was invented by a Swiss engineer named Gerdes
(photo) in the early 1920.


Monowheel, 1933. Walter Nilsson inside the wheel

Un Mono – track is a vehicle with a single track wheel like a unicycle. However, instead of remaining above the wheel, the rider is either to’ inside or beside him. The wheel is a ring, usually driven by smaller wheels pressing against its inner edge. Most are single passenger vehicles, although the multi-passenger models were built. Hand-cranked and monowheels pedals were built in the late 19th century; most built in the 20th century were motorized. Some modern manufacturers refer to these vehicles like unicycles , although the term is sometimes used to describe motorized unicycles. Today, monowheels are usually built and used for fun and entertainment, but from years 1860 until the years 1930, they have been proposed for use as a serious transportation.



Mono-trace (1931)


Years 1920 at 1930 saw the development of the first motorized unicycles. The trade press reported these inventions . In 1931, in France, a Swiss engineer built a much smaller craft. The Motoruota was the most sustainable model Monowheel of his time. Right here, in 1931, with a Swiss customer, M. Gerdes in Arles, France en route to Spain. Un Mono – track is a vehicle with a single track wheel like a unicycle. However, instead of remaining above the wheel, the rider is either to’ inside or beside him. The wheel is a ring, usually driven by smaller wheels pressing against its inner edge. Most are single passenger vehicles, although the multi-passenger models were built.


Hand-cranked and monowheels pedals were built in the late 19th century; most built in the 20th century were motorized. Some modern manufacturers refer to these vehicles like unicycles , although the term is sometimes used to describe motorized unicycles. Today, monowheels are usually built and used for fun and entertainment, but from years 1860 until the years 1930, they have been proposed for use as a serious transportation.

Vintage Mono-Trace



Mono-Trace : Inspired by Ben Wilson

Technik Museum Sinsheim

Modern Steam Monobike 1896. by Stefano Marchetti


Modern Steam Monobike 1896. by Stefano Marchetti



Surviving parts of a vehicle wheel Taylor – Hemmings Auto Blog photo



The tanks of the extreme !

Even for devices clearly intended to kill, one can not help laughing or smiling when you see some of the absolutely extreme tanks concepts that are sometimes out of the brains of some military engineers. Source : Dark Roasted Blend.

The magazine Motorcycle 1927. The friction drive wheel can be seen behind the heel.



From a small child – probably 3 or 4 years. The child stands on a wheel and smiles at the camera.


Dicycles and Diwheels on water and land both fast and slow. In 1947, the Diwheel Vereycken was patented in Belgium. It is distinguished by the fact of using twin wheels, integral with one another, for stability.


https://www.facebook.com/Ina.fr/videos/1309864695726613/





Alfred E. D’Harlingue 1917



On the Harlingue Monowheel A diagram of a rather different version,
clearly drawing from patent.



Dyno-Wheel Drive New Motor Bus


The engine Marco Furlanetto and Sidecar

Gothic Bike





Stuntman Jumpin’ Joe Gerlach in his personalized Monowheel, c. years 1970


Motorized Wheel Surf

Wheelsurf Monowheel manufactured in the Netherlands


Star Wars Episode III, Revenge of the Sith, George Lucas, 2005 - Installation of two extracts, the vehicle Tsmeu-6 General Grievous, enemy of the Jedi, that confronts Obi-Wan Kenobi.







Most of the transportation will take only a few kilometers from home to work, but they will do just fine for a walk in a city park or moving around the office. In all cases, they have the unusual air and for that alone deserves your attention. Ecological and fun, this is an amphibious bicycle prototype that should be a hit in its marketing.


Designed to travel on both road and on the water, Di-Cycle may soon invade the bike paths and channels.

Bonus

Tarso Marques Concept

TMC Dumont


Tmc Dumont is coming
Official launch of the book that we just finished, and was shipped to the United States where we process the world championship.
I am extremely proud of my team, our sponsors and collaborators, were over 40 people involved in this project and thanks to this incredible team j & rsquo; was able to realize the dream of this project that I & rsquo; have in my head for over 15 years.



Monowheel

MonoWheel Harley Davidson


 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “Monos Wheels Monowheels, Dynasphère

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Monos Roues Monowheels, Dynasphère

Share Button



Le volant à roue Christie en construction – 1923
Monocycle Patent Artwork 1894 – Nikki Marie Smith

les moteurs apparaissent de façon récurrente, les mono roues vont également évoluer. Elles seront très nombreuses. La diversité des genres sera tantôt proche, tantôt éloignée des modèles actuels.




http://justacarguy.blogspot.com/2019/11/the-kraken-trike-with-2-hubless-wheels.html


on voit nettement que la sphère dont il s’agit est en réalité une roue, énorme et centrale, dans laquelle se placent les passagers. Le docteur Purves a mis au point plusieurs modèles avec diverses améliorations et combinaisons : monoplace, pour deux personnes, et même un projet pour cinq utilisateurs ! Les motorisations furent parfois électriques, ou plus souvent thermique, avec un moteur placé devant le conducteur. Une des spécificités de cet engin est sa stabilité quelque peu oscillante.


Une rare et petite vidéo de l’époque pour bien voir ce que peut donner un voyage en Dynasphère
Démonstration en 1932.



The Dynasphere sur Brean Sands Le fils de l’inventeur est aux commandes.


Une roue, géante ! la force centrifuge, et voilà comment cet engin là fut imaginé vers 1930.


Un véhicule unique et mythique ! une première approche du monoroue à moteur imaginée par Alfred E. D’Harlingue vers 1912


Mais c’est probablement la machine de Garavaglia qui est l’ancêtre de tous ces engins :
elle fut présentée à l’expo de Milan en 1904. Ces merveilleux fous roulants dans leurs drôles de machines.


Une version d’un homme dans la Dynasphere.

Celui-ci était alimenté électriquement, en utilisant probablement les batteries au plomb-acide.

Image gracieusement fournie par David & Peter Hastings.
Dr JH Purves, l’inventeur, avec un modèle Dynosphere. Notez la cabine fermée.

Dr Purves a affirmé que l’utilisation d’une roue au lieu de quatre a donné une grande économie d’énergie. Cela semble très douteux. Dr John Purvis avait mis en place l’Ouest de l’Angleterre Electricity Company, donc il était sans doute pas un excentrique solitaire. Les futures versions étaient destinées à être piloté à l’aide de machines pour déplacer la cabine d’un côté, en inclinant la roue.


Dynasphere sur la couverture de Popular Science, mai 1932.



Un Américain Mono-Trace 1897. Ceci est la conception de Vernon D Mono-Trace, en Virginie. Il se compose de quelque chose comme une bicyclette normale monté à l’intérieur de la grande roue. Cette image a été publiée dans la revue scientifique française La Nature en 1897. Il a dit: “l’inventeur affirme que son monocycle est absolument stable, et peut facilement être piloté par une simple inclinaison du corps vers la gauche ou la droite”.



Le Mono-trace a été inventé par un ingénieur suisse nommé Gerdes
(photo) dans le début des années 1920.


Monowheel, 1933. Walter Nilsson inside the wheel

Un Mono – trace est un véhicule à une roue à voie unique semblable à un monocycle. Cependant, au lieu de rester au-dessus de la roue, le cavalier se trouve soit à l’ intérieur ou à côté de lui. La roue est un anneau, généralement entraîné par des roues plus petites pressant contre son bord intérieur. La plupart sont des véhicules à un seul passager, bien que les modèles multi-passagers ont été construits. Hand-coudés et monowheels à pédales ont été construits à la fin du 19ème siècle; plus construit au 20e siècle ont été motorisés. Certains constructeurs modernes se réfèrent à ces véhicules comme monocycles , bien que ce terme est parfois utilisé pour décrire des monocycles motorisés. Aujourd’hui, monowheels sont généralement construits et utilisés à des fins d’amusement et de divertissement, mais à partir des années 1860 jusqu’aux années 1930, ils ont été proposés pour être utilisés comme transport sérieux.



Mono-trace (1931)


Les années 1920 à 1930 voient se développer les premiers monocycles motorisés. La presse spécialisée fait état de ces inventions . En 1931, en France, un Ingénieur suisse construit un engin beaucoup plus modeste. Le Motoruota était le modèle le plus durable Mono-trace de son temps. Ici, en 1931, avec un client suisse, M. Gerdes à Arles, France en route vers l’Espagne. Un Mono – trace est un véhicule à une roue à voie unique semblable à un monocycle. Cependant, au lieu de rester au-dessus de la roue, le cavalier se trouve soit à l’ intérieur ou à côté de lui. La roue est un anneau, généralement entraîné par des roues plus petites pressant contre son bord intérieur. La plupart sont des véhicules à un seul passager, bien que les modèles multi-passagers ont été construits.


Hand-coudés et monowheels à pédales ont été construits à la fin du 19ème siècle; plus construit au 20e siècle ont été motorisés. Certains constructeurs modernes se réfèrent à ces véhicules comme monocycles , bien que ce terme est parfois utilisé pour décrire des monocycles motorisés. Aujourd’hui, monowheels sont généralement construits et utilisés à des fins d’amusement et de divertissement, mais à partir des années 1860 jusqu’aux années 1930, ils ont été proposés pour être utilisés comme transport sérieux.

Vintage Mono-Trace



Mono-Trace : Inspiré de Ben Wilson

Technik Museum Sinsheim

Modern Steam Monobike 1896. by Stefano Marchetti


Modern Steam Monobike 1896. by Stefano Marchetti



Surviving parties du Taylor un véhicule de roue – Hemmings Auto Blog photo



Les tanks de l’extrême !

Même pour des engins clairement destinés à tuer, on ne peut s’empêcher de rire ou de sourire quand on voit certains des concepts de chars d’assaut absolument extrêmes qui sont parfois sortis des cerveaux de quelques ingénieurs militaires. Source : Dark Roasted Blend.

De la revue Motorcycle 1927. La roue d’entraînement par friction peut être vu derrière son talon.



D’un petit enfant – probablement 3 ou 4 ans. L’enfant se tient sur une roue et sourit à la caméra.


Dicycles et Diwheels sur l’eau et la terre à la fois rapide et lente. En 1947, le Diwheel Vereycken a été breveté en Belgique. Il se singularise par le fait d’utiliser deux roues jumelles, solidaires l’une de l’autre, pour une meilleure stabilité.


https://www.facebook.com/Ina.fr/videos/1309864695726613/





Alfred E. D’Harlingue 1917



Le D’Harlingue Mono-trace Un schéma d’une version assez différente,
clairement depuis le dessin de brevet.



Dyno-Wheel Drive New Motor Bus


Le moteur de Marco Furlanetto et le Sidecar

Gothic Bike





Stuntman Jumpin’ Joe Gerlach dans sa Monoroue personnalisée, c. années 1970


Motorized Wheel Surf

Wheelsurf Monowheel fabriqué aux Pays-Bas


Star Wars Episode III, Revenge of the Sith, George Lucas, 2005 – Montage de deux extraits, le véhicule Tsmeu-6 du général Grievous, ennemi des Jedi, qui affronte Obi-Wan Kenobi.







La plupart de ces moyens de transport ne vous prendra que quelques kilomètres de la maison au travail, mais ils vont faire tout aussi bien pour une promenade dans un parc de la ville ou se déplaçant autour du bureau. Dans tous les cas, ils ont l’air inhabituel et pour cela seul méritent votre attention. Écologique et ludique, voilà un prototype de vélo amphibie qui devrait faire un carton lors de sa commercialisation.


Conçu pour rouler aussi bien sur route que sur l’eau, le Di-Cycle pourrait bientôt envahir les pistes cyclables et les canaux.

Bonus

Tarso Marques Concept

TMC  Dumont


Tmc Dumont is coming
Lancement officiel de cet ouvrage que nous venons de terminer, et a été expédié aux États-Unis où nous avons procédé le championnat du monde.
Je suis extrêmement fier de toute mon équipe, tous nos sponsors et collaborateurs, ont été plus de 40 personnes impliquées dans ce projet et grâce à cette équipe incroyable j’ai réussi à réaliser le rêve de ce projet que j’ai dans la tête depuis plus de 15 ans.



Monowheel

MonoWheel Harley Davidson


 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Un commentaire sur “Monos Roues Monowheels, Dynasphère

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.