Prototype Aurora Motor Company (1957) USA

Share Button


aurora002
L & rsquo; Aurora was designed and built by an American priest, Alfred A. Juliano, in 1957.

aurora005
aurora009

aurora006

 


The company Aurora Motor Company, partly funded by the parish priest, went bankrupt and it n & rsquo; there was that & rsquo; one manufactured prototype. by Juliano, who had studied art, had always been fascinated by automotive design, he even got a scholarship to study General Motors Harley Earl, but then he had already been ordained a priest.. Juliano wanted to create the safest car in the world. L’Aurora, asked two years of design work and took him three years to construct.


The body was fiberglass and plastic glazing. The estimated retail price was 10.000 $, which placed 3.000 $ below the most expensive car that time : the Cadillac Eldorado coupe (sold 13.000 $). Specially designed for long trips on motorways, the car had some technical refinements, including a transparent tinted plastic roof, called “astrodome”… and hydraulic jacks controlled dashboard, that allowed to raise the car for maintenance or to change a wheel.

aurora003 aurora004
aurora007 aurora008

aurora010
aurora001



 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prototype Aurora Motor Company (1957) USA

Share Button


aurora002
L’Aurora a été dessinée et construite par un prêtre américain, Alfred A. Juliano, en 1957.

aurora005
aurora009

aurora006

 


La société Aurora Motor Company, en partie financée par la paroisse du prêtre, fit faillite et il n’y eut qu’un seul prototype fabriqué. par Juliano, qui avait fait des études artistiques, avait toujours été fasciné par le design automobile, il avait même obtenu une bourse de General Motors pour étudier avec Harley Earl, mais il avait alors déjà été ordonné prêtre.. Juliano voulait créer la voiture la plus sûre du monde. L’Aurora, lui demanda deux années de travail de conception et lui prit trois années pour sa construction.


La carrosserie était en fibre de verre et les vitres en plastique. Le prix de vente public estimé était de 10.000 $, ce qui la plaçait 3.000 $ en dessous de la voiture la plus coûteuse de cette époque : la Cadillac Eldorado coupé (vendue 13.000 $). Spécialement conçue pour les longs déplacements sur autoroute, la voiture disposait de quelques raffinements techniques, dont un toit en plastique teinté transparent, appelé « astrodome »… et des crics hydrauliques commandés du tableau de bord, qui permettaient de soulever la voiture pour les opérations de maintenance ou pour changer une roue.

aurora003 aurora004
aurora007 aurora008

aurora010
aurora001



 

 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *