Randy Grubbs Moto Scooter Blastolene Decoliner

Share Button


Randy Grubbs

Randy Grubbs

The undisputed king is Randy Grubbs. He is the man who built Jay Leno's tank car, the Decoliner and the Decoson, which are wonderfully bright testaments to what can be achieved with a little metal and a big hammer.

Piaggio Fly 150 (Bi-Pod) MP3 (Tri-Pod)


Auctions to present a prototype Decopod

Par Andrea McCann Times Sentinel Managing Editor 28 January 2015

Like an airplane without wings, this body scooter unique aluminum. A prototype, it is the first of only four decopodes created. A scooter original Art Deco aluminum, called Decopod, to their collection at an auction 8 mars au Boone County Fairgrounds.


The purchase of the prototype would be the best motorcycle avid collector Jay Leno, which has the second and third Decopods among dozens of motorcycles ranging from old machines to the most modern machines. “There were only four made”, said Rik Smits, Resident Zionsville, who organized the auction. “Jay Leno has two and three, and the fourth auctioned recently. “It was on” Storage Wars “. In season three, episode 18, Barry Weiss has mounted. “

The Decopod is built on a scooter frame. It has a brushed aluminum – the other three were brilliant Decopods, according Smits – teardrop-shaped body which is rounded at the front and rear tapers. It has an Art Deco grid, a small windshield, a flashing and an electric start.





The Piaggio DecoPod 3 wheels





 

TRIPOD
















Randy Grubb transforms its incredible fantasies in the harsh reality, warped metal in his garage south Oregon.


This first episode of Garage Randy Grubb shows the construction of Randy new leaders – d’oeuvre et sale. Learn more about how art deco Decoliner gave birth to the evolution of scooters Decopod. See full Randy and go is the first round in the Deco-Tripod (built on a chassis Piaggio MP3), and the birth of the new beautifully elegant Decoson, built on a Harley-Davidson Sportster chassis 1984 and controlled by Steve Boone, Northwest Harley-Davidson, Olympia, Washington.



The evolution of Decopod :

The first Decopod, Model A, was smooth, with rivets used around doors and cockpit. The panels were welded and deposited smooth. He presented a single light 1937 Ford and had two doors.

Model B has a rear panel tower construction, double headlights and two doors. It is built on a chassis Piaggio Fly 150 (Piaggio Vespa scooters made.) It is fully polished.
model C, final under construction at the time of the press, is a spectacular vehicle that will be auctioned by Barrett-Jackson in Scottsdale, Arizona, the 12-20 January 2013. It is built on a new chassis and Piaggio has fluids tower panels front to back and has a single door, a lighthouse, a polished stop rail, and hundreds of rivets. It is fully polished.

The concept was born when Décopod Randy Grubb and Don Tippit spoke what their next creation would. Which started talking fondly of his memories of old scooters, Randy and imagination was triggered by the motorcycle Art Deco 1930 Henderson Streamliner. From this brainstorming, the Décopod was born: a fun and fully functional game – cruise path on the highway and a great accessory matching the Decoliner for Randy to get around car shows.

Illustrations of the Decoliner and Decopods Don Tippit
Design by Randy Grubb et Don Tippit


 





Le Blastolene Decoliner, wonder of retro-futuristic motorhome..


The Decoson is based on a 1984 Harley-Davidson Sportster if most had to be either modified or removed original bike to allow the New and remarkably beautiful body of the Decoson to take shape.



Randy Grubb is definitely the best manufacturer of aluminum as you will find anywhere in the Western Hemisphere, his work with wheeled vehicles 4, 3 and 2 using the bauxite-based metal is legendary and after taking a look at his latest creation, But I can not think of it as just an artist.
The rear suspension had to go for a stiff tail, the handle bars were removed and new heavier drag bars have been added. All gauges, switches and electronics were lowered, the original seat was discarded and the gas tank cut his upper half to make way for the new shell. Interesting fact, handlebars are mounted inside the new body, so you reach the bike to direct.

The opening of the front wheel is also designed to allow the flow of air on the Harley v-twin air cooled, Randy added a series of lobes on both sides to allow hot air to escape and a small windscreen to push a curtain of air on the rider's head at higher speed.


BUS Blastolene Decoliner BY RANDY GRUBB

Dare we say, Decoliner this is a masterpiece:
A great achievement, the style and the inimitable magic.
This "almost" camper, is the work of an artist of development, American Randy Grubb, and the delight of onlookers who are lucky enough to cross their path.

Feature of this vehicle: it has two operating stations, including one on the roof.

the Decoliner, one piece by an American craftsman-artist, Randy Grubb, under the brand Blastolene. "Blastolene is a collective of independent artists who help each other in their creative process, by sharing their expertise ", the designer explains in a video where we see him home, surrounded by his achievements, including a motorcycle and a curious kart.

A wheel on the Roof !

There is little doubt that the homologation rules are different in the US. In Europe, it would be unthinkable to ride on the road with a vehicle of this type. But Randy Grubb has not so far failed to technical constraints. It thus indicates having worked from a GMC motorhome chassis 1973, the only one to be low enough to allow him to design a cockpit not exceeding 13 feet (nearly 4m high). One imagines that the vehicle height is not the only constraint he met.

The Decoliner is not quite a motorhome. There is good inside seating, kitchenette, but no sleeping or bathroom. But there is not so much the question. The first characteristic of Decoliner, is all about style. Outside, recalls its metal shell aluminum Airstream caravans, in a shiny chrome finish that evokes more generally futuristic years 1940 and 1950. With curious portholes knobbed aligned on its side, Nautilus holds the Decoliner, while inside, the particularly successful design combines wood and metal in soft and bright colors.


The Decoliner a street in Portland, USA 2011.




BLASTOLENE DECOLINER CUSTOM BUILT – Jay Leno’s Garage


>> See here <<<

Randy Grubb invents a magic double-decker bus..

This magic bus, as well as other original inventions, were exhibited at the big national roadster show in Pomona, in California, at the end of january 2019.
The magic bus plans to travel the private members of a local club, back and forth through the city and the countryside of San Francisco.



 



Randy Grubbs – Frogman’s Rocket 3





Randy Grubb & Frogman associate to a Quad V8


 



The filmmaker Ray Ratrod fate of dry lakes in California with the builder Bob Maddox rocket car jet pulse with the crew of the West Merlin and did a test with the racing machine " 900 pounds of thrust ". This machine is out of this world !


Le Pulse Jet Lakester, built by Randy Grubb and “Rocketman” Bob Maddox, is a drop-lakester tank with a super twist: it has the equivalent of a V-1 jet engine attached to what looks like-and is the largest Exhaust pipe you've seen. The “buzz bomb” V-1 was developed by the Germans in World War II and used bomb attacks on England.

Bob Maddox first had the idea to attach a rocket when he tried to overtake another skydiving while they rushed toward the ground in a group jump. He is now the principal regulator of the nation on the pulse motors and built models to supply bicycles, skateboards, cars, and now, This large-scale engine for lakester race car.

 


Source :
https://www.designboom.com/design/randy-grubb-magic-double-decker-bus-02-06-2019/


 

 

 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

One thought on “Randy Grubbs Moto Scooter Blastolene Decoliner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Randy Grubbs Moto Scooter Blastolene Decoliner

Share Button


Randy Grubbs 

 

Randy Grubbs 

Le roi incontesté est Randy Grubbs. Il est l’homme qui a construit le wagon-citerne de Jay Leno, le Decoliner et le Decoson, qui sont des testaments merveilleusement brillants à ce qui peut être réalisé avec un peu de métal et un gros marteau.

Piaggio Fly 150 (Bi-Pod) MP3 (Tri-Pod)


Enchères pour présenter un prototype Decopod

Par Andrea McCann Times Sentinel Managing Editor 28 janvier 2015

Comme un avion sans ailes, ce scooter à corps en aluminium unique. Un prototype, c’est le premier de seulement quatres decopodes créés. Un scooter Art Déco d’origine en aluminium, appelé Decopod, à leur collection lors d’une vente aux enchères du 8 mars au Boone County Fairgrounds.


L’achat du prototype serait le meilleur collectionneur de moto avide Jay Leno, qui possède le deuxième et le troisième Decopods parmi ses dizaines de motos qui vont des machines anciennes aux machines les plus modernes. “Il n’y avait que quatre réalisés”, a déclaré Rik Smits, résident de Zionsville, qui a organisé la vente aux enchères. “Jay Leno a deux et trois, et le quatrième vendu aux enchères récemment. “Celui-ci a été sur” Guerres de stockage “. Dans la saison trois, épisode 18, Barry Weiss l’a monté. “

Le Decopod est construit sur un cadre scooter. Il a un aluminium brossé – les trois autres Decopods ont été brillants, selon Smits – corps en forme de larme qui est arrondis à l’avant et se rétrécit en arrière. Il est équipé d’une grille Art Deco, d’un petit pare-brise, d’un clignotant et d’un démarrage électrique.





Le DecoPod Piaggio 3 roues 





 

TRIPOD
















Randy Grubb transforme ses fantasmes incroyables dans la dure réalité, gauchi métal dans son garage sud de l’Oregon.


Ce premier épisode de Garage Randy Grubb montre la construction de Randy nouveaux chefs – d’oeuvre et sale. En savoir plus sur la façon dont l’art déco Decoliner a donné naissance à l’évolution des scooters Decopod. Regardez Randy complète et allez est le premier tour dans la déco-trépied (construit sur un châssis Piaggio MP3), et la naissance du nouveau magnifiquement élégant Decoson, construit sur un châssis Harley-Davidson Sportster 1984 et commandé par Steve Boone, Northwest Harley-Davidson, Olympia, Washington.



L’évolution du Decopod :

Le premier Decopod, le modèle A, était lisse, avec des rivets utilisés autour des portes et le cockpit. Les panneaux ont été soudés et déposés lisses. Il a présenté un seul phare 1937 Ford et avait deux portes.

Modèle B dispose d’une construction tour panneau à l’arrière, les phares doubles et deux portes. Il est construit sur un châssis Piaggio Fly 150 (Piaggio fait des scooters Vespa.) Il est entièrement poli.
Modèle C, en cours de construction finale au moment de la presse, est un véhicule spectaculaire qui va être vendu aux enchères par Barrett-Jackson à Scottsdale, Arizona, le 12-20 Janvier 2013. Il est construit sur un nouveau châssis Piaggio et est dotée de panneaux tour fluides avant vers l’arrière et a une porte unique, un phare, un rail de butée polie, et des centaines de rivets. Il est entièrement poli.

Le concept Décopod est né lorsque Randy Grubb et Don Tippit parlaient ce que leur prochaine création serait. Dont a commencé à parler avec émotion de ses souvenirs de vieux scooters, et l’imagination de Randy a été déclenchée par la moto Art Deco 1930 Henderson Streamliner. A partir de ce brainstorming, le Décopod est né: un jeu amusant et entièrement fonctionnel – chemin de croisière sur l’autoroute et un accessoire grand correspondant à la Decoliner pour Randy de se déplacer dans les salons automobiles.

Illustrations de la Decoliner et les Decopods par Don Tippit
Design by Randy Grubb et Don Tippit


 





Le Blastolene Decoliner, merveille de camping-car rétro-futuriste..


Le Decoson il est basé sur une 1984 Harley-Davidson Sportster si la plupart des devaient être soit modifié ou supprimé vélo d’origine pour permettre la Nouveau et remarquablement beau corps du Decoson pour prendre forme.



Randy Grubb est certainement le meilleur fabricant d’aluminium que vous trouverez partout dans l’hémisphère occidental, son travail avec les véhicules à roues 4, 3 et 2 utilisant le métal à base de bauxite est légendaire et après avoir jeté un coup d’oeil à sa création la plus récente, je ne peux pas Mais pensez à lui comme un peu un artiste.
La suspension arrière devait aller en faveur d’une queue rigide, les barres de manette ont été enlevées et de nouvelles barres de traînée plus abondantes ont été ajoutées. Toutes les jauges, les interrupteurs et l’électronique ont été abaissés, le siège d’origine a été jeté et le réservoir d’essence a coupé sa moitié supérieure pour faire place à la nouvelle coque. Fait intéressant, les guidons sont montés à l’intérieur du nouveau corps, de sorte que vous atteignez le vélo pour le diriger.

L’ouverture de la roue avant est également conçue pour permettre l’écoulement de l’air sur le Harley v-twin refroidi par air, Randy a ajouté une série de lobes des deux côtés pour permettre à l’air chaud de s’échapper et un petit pare-brise pour pousser un rideau d’air Sur la tête du cavalier à des vitesses plus élevées.


BUS Blastolene Decoliner BY RANDY GRUBB

Osons le dire, ce Decoliner est un chef-d’œuvre:
Une très belle réalisation, au style et à la magie inimitable.
Ce “presque” camping-car, est l’œuvre d’un artiste de l’aménagement, l’Américain Randy Grubb, et fait le bonheur des badauds qui ont la chance de le croiser sur leur route.

Particularité de ce véhicule: il possède deux postes de conduite, dont un sur son toit.

Le Decoliner, une pièce unique réalisée par un artisan-artiste américain, Randy Grubb, sous la marque Blastolene. “Blastolene est un collectif d’artistes autonomes qui s’entraident dans leur démarche créative, en partageant leur expertise”, explique le concepteur dans une vidéo où on le voit chez lui, entouré de ses réalisations, dont une moto et un curieux kart.

Un Volant sur le Toit !

On se doute que les règles d’homologation sont bien différentes aux USA. En Europe, il serait impensable de rouler sur la route avec un véhicule de ce type. Mais Randy Grubb n’a pas pour autant manqué de contraintes techniques. Il indique ainsi avoir travaillé à partir d’un châssis de camping-car GMC de 1973, le seul à être assez bas pour lui permettre de concevoir un poste de conduite ne dépassant pas 13 pieds (soit près de 4m de hauteur). On imagine que la hauteur du véhicule n’est pas la seule contrainte qu’il ait rencontrée.

Le Decoliner n’est pas tout à fait un camping-car. On trouve bien à l’intérieur un salon, un coin cuisine, mais pas de couchage ni de cabinet de toilette. Mais là n’est pas tellement la question. La caractéristique première du Decoliner, c’est avant tout son style. A l’extérieur, sa coque métallique rappelle l’aluminium des caravanes Airstream, dans une finition de chrome rutilant qui évoque plus généralement le design futuriste des années 1940 et 1950. Avec les curieux hublots bulbés alignés sur son flanc, le Decoliner tient du Nautilus, tandis qu’à l’intérieur, l’aménagement particulièrement réussi associe bois et métal dans des tons doux et lumineux.


Le Decoliner dans une rue de Portland, USA 2011.




BLASTOLENE DECOLINER CUSTOM BUILT – Jay Leno’s Garage 


>> Voir ici   <<<

Randy Grubb invente un bus magique à impériale..

Ce bus magique, ainsi que d’autres inventions originales, ont été exposés au grand salon national des roadsters à Pomona, en Californie, à la fin du mois de janvier 2019.
Le bus magique prévoit de faire voyager les membres privés d’un club local, va et vient à travers la ville et la campagne de San Francisco.



 



Randy Grubbs – Frogman’s Rocket 3





Randy Grubb & Frogman s’associent pour un Quad V8


 



Le cinéaste Ratrod Ray sort des lacs asséchés en Californie avec le constructeur Bob Maddox de la voiture de fusée à jet d’impulsion avec l’équipage de l’Ouest Merlin et fait un essai avec la machine de course « 900 livres de poussée ». Cette machine est hors de ce monde !


Le Pulse Jet Lakester, construit par Randy Grubb et “Rocketman” Bob Maddox, est un lakester drop-tank avec une super torsion: il a l’équivalent d’un moteur à réaction V-1 attaché à ce qui ressemble à-et est-le plus grand Pipe d’échappement que vous avez déjà vu. La “bombe buzz” V-1 a été développée par les Allemands dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale et a utilisé des attentats à la bombe sur l’Angleterre. 

Bob Maddox a d’abord eu l’idée de s’attacher à une fusée quand il tentait de rattraper un autre parachutisme alors qu’ils se précipitaient vers le sol dans un saut de groupe. Il est maintenant l’autorité principale de la nation sur les moteurs à impulsions et a construit des modèles pour alimenter les vélos, les planches à roulettes, les voitures, et maintenant, ce moteur à grande échelle pour une voiture de course lakester.

 


Source :
https://www.designboom.com/design/randy-grubb-magic-double-decker-bus-02-06-2019/


 

 

 

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Un commentaire sur “Randy Grubbs Moto Scooter Blastolene Decoliner

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.