Ed Roth – Hot Rod Orbitron (1964) USA

Share Button

built in 1964
the Orbitron was designed to resemble a space age dragster..

orbitron014
The nose, the hood and the bubble were absent, just as most of the interior trim. The car was covered in paint “primer”, but the chassis was almost entirely intact. The restoration lasted 6 month..


L’ORBITRON (1964)orbitron023

 

orbitron012

 

built in 1964, then disappeared 10 years later (1974)


l & rsquo; one of the most extraordinary and spectacular Hot Rod – l’Orbitron, was recently described by the American automotive press as
“The Most Incredible Barn Trouver Ever.”

Hot Rod Magazine calls it "the most incredible barn find ever". Orbitron de Ed “Big Daddy” Roth, created in 1964 and lost soon after, for almost 35 years, was recently discovered in Mexico, serving as an improvised dumpster in front of an adult.

Michael Lightbourn saved the hot rod to the fiberglass body and Beau Boeckmann, President of Galpin Auto Sports, acquired it specifically to restore it to its former glory.

The restoration included the safeguard of the transmission of the engine and the original carburetor, as well as the color change of 2 600 individual pieces. GAS was able to find a duplicate of vintage television and blue fur.


L & rsquo; Orbitron was indeed discovered in the Mexico & rsquo; last year and was the & rsquo; object during the end of the & rsquo; year 2008 d & rsquo; a complete renovation. He just joined d & rsquo; other creations “Big Daddy Roth” in the “Galpin Collection” located in Van Nuys-Los Angeles, in California…

This lost artifact of & rsquo; s peak & rsquo; Custom era is alive… and Hot Rod Magazine titled directly in its latest edition that & rsquo; s it & rsquo; d & rsquo was, an incredible miracle that car to discover this myth since lost 1974 !

the Ed “Big Daddy” Roth Orbitron, without its famous big bubble at the top of & rsquo; s cabin located & rsquo; extreme rear, served trash, opposite d & rsquo; a seedy sex shop, the “The cowboy.”

Michael Lightbourn surnamed “le scout du West Texas” for his ability to find abandoned automotive treasures, discovered and rescued the Hot-Rod who was missing his acrylic bubble, but was otherwise fairly complete, including its original 327ci V8 engine and wheels Astro ! Beau Boeckmann of Galpin Motors director received the car, shortly after his rescue in Mexico and returning to Texas… and decided to completely restore this Hot Rod such that & rsquo; to & rsquo; origin in the workshops of Galpin Auto Sports (garage of & rsquo; TV show “Pimp my Ride”) with inputs from various experts, whose few surviving workers Ed workshops “Big Daddy” Roth, who were part of the construction of this machine in 1964.


The nose features a strange colored headlight housing, rouge, vert, blue with a white headlight on the side. As in a game of & rsquo; pre-electronic age, these lights are working as a television tube… and, When & rsquo; they are on set, they create a beam of white light ! And it works !!! Other key features, acrylic bubble, the flashy paint “blue candy” and inside fur, under the hood is mounted a small-block Chevy Corvette 327ci powered by 3 Stromberg carburetors & rsquo; 97. The transmission is a two-speed PowerGlide.


The body is a combination of plywood and cons of fiberglass with a deliberately asymmetrical design, mounted on a chassis & rsquo; 56 Chevy modified with a train before T & rsquo; Bucket, while the 4 brake drums are removed from a Buick ! The rims are “Astro” chrome. Roth always regretted d & rsquo; have covered the engine.


The hood is fiberglass with & rsquo; GDP, so that & rsquo; it was still closed for aesthetic issues… so the chrome engine and painted n & rsquo; has never been highlighted. In fact, Paul McCartney had to cross the stage in the & rsquo; Orbitron with Ringo at his side… and they don & rsquo; have failed to put the engine running, forgetting that & rsquo; it should not turn the key, but press a button… Other key features, acrylic bubble, the flashy paint “blue candy” and inside fur.


The vehicle was completed in April 2008 and is presented here in Europe first !

orbitron002 orbitron001
orbitron003 orbitron004
orbitron005 orbitron006



orbitron009


Galpin Auto Sports, located at 15600 Roscoe Blvd. in Van Nuys, California s & rsquo; specializes in customizing all new vehicles and d & rsquo; opportunity, including vintage cars…

Galpin Motors is the largest Ford dealer for the 18th consecutive year, and was founded in 1946. Galpin is comprised of & rsquo; a family of brands, including : Ford, Aston Martin, Jaguar, Honda, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda, Volvo et Saturn.

orbitron020 orbitron021
orbitron016 orbitron022
orbitron018 orbitron017

In the years 1960, Roth was at his peak, selling worldwide, millions of decorated t-shirts of his automotive creations pattern.
C & rsquo; is when the firm “Revell kits” offered a bridge & rsquo; or to re-create its vehicles in plastic models based on its own designs and creations.
Over the years, he worked with a variety of marking big charactersts of “Kustom Kulture”, real living icons, dont Robert Williams, Ed “Newt” Newton (who made the first sketches of the & rsquo; the Orbitron “Pasadena Art Center”, a reputable school of automotive design) and especially Von Dutch…
these two artists working together to implement the “Brucker Movie World”, a family theme park, famous in California in the years 1970.


orbitron026 orbitron027



 

Virginia Maneval

I am the daughter of Jean Benjamin Maneval, famous urban architect who notably created the Bulle Six Coques, a plastic house from the pop years. You can also find me on my Facebook page Bubblemania.fr or on my page La Bulle Six Coques by Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ed Roth – Hot Rod Orbitron (1964) USA

Share Button

Construite en 1964
l’Orbitron a été conçu pour ressembler à un dragster de l’ère spatiale..

orbitron014
Le nez, le capot et la bulle étaient absents, tout comme la plupart de la garniture intérieure. La voiture était couverte de peinture en « primer », mais le châssis était presque entièrement intact. La restauration a duré 6 mois..


L’ORBITRON (1964)orbitron023

 

orbitron012

 

Construite en 1964, puis totalement disparu 10 années plus tard (1974)


l’une des plus extraordinaire et spectaculaire Hot-Rod – l’Orbitron, a été récemment qualifié par la presse automobile américaine comme étant 
« The Most Incredible Barn Trouver Ever. »

Hot Rod Magazine appelle cela «la plus incroyable trouvaille de grange jamais trouvée». Orbitron de Ed « Big Daddy » Roth, créé en 1964 et perdu peu de temps après, pendant près de 35 ans, a récemment été découvert au Mexique, servant de benne à ordures improvisée devant un adulte.

Michael Lightbourn a sauvé le hot rod au corps en fibre de verre et Beau Boeckmann, président de Galpin Auto Sports, l’a acquis spécifiquement pour lui rendre son ancienne gloire.

La restauration comprenait la sauvegarde de la transmission du moteur et du carburateur d’origine, ainsi que le changement de couleur de 2 600 pièces individuelles. GAS a été en mesure de trouver un duplicata de télévision vintage et de fourrure bleue. 


L’Orbitron a en effet été découvert à Mexico l’année dernière et a fait l’objet durant la fin de l’année 2008 d’une rénovation complète. Il vient de rejoindre d’autres créations de « Big Daddy Roth » dans la « Galpin Collection » située à Van Nuys-Los Angeles, en Californie…

Cet artefact perdu de l’apogée de l’ère du Custom est revenu à la vie… et Hot Rod Magazine a directement titré dans sa dernière édition qu’il s’agissait d’un miracle automobile incroyable que de découvrir ce mythe perdu depuis 1974 !

Le Ed « Big Daddy » Roth Orbitron, dépourvu de sa fameuse grande bulle au sommet de l’habitacle situé à l’extrème arrière, servait de poubelle, en face d’un sex-shop miteux, le « El Vaquero. »

Michael Lightbourn surnommé « le scout du West Texas » pour sa capacité à trouver des trésors automobiles abandonnés, a découvert et secouru ce Hot-Rod à qui il manquait sa bulle acrylique, mais qui était par ailleurs assez complet, en ce compris son moteur V8 327ci original et ses roues Astro ! Beau Boeckmann directeur de Galpin Motors a acquis la voiture, peu après son sauvetage au Mexique et son retour au Texas… et a décidé de faire restaurer complètement ce Hot-Rod tel qu’à l’origine dans les ateliers de Galpin Auto Sports (le garage de l’émission télévisée « Pimp my Ride ») avec la contribution de divers experts, dont les quelques ouvriers survivants des ateliers de Ed « Big Daddy » Roth, qui faisaient partie de la construction de cet engin en 1964.


Le nez intègre un étrange logement de phares colorés, rouge, vert, bleu avec un phare blanc sur le côté. Comme dans un jeu de l’ère pré-électronique, ces feux fonctionnent comme un tube de télévision… et, lorsqu’ils sont allumés ensemble, ils créent un faisceau de lumière blanche ! Et ça marche !!! Autres caractéristiques clés, la bulle acrylique, la peinture flashy « bonbon bleu » et un intérieur en fourrure, sous le capot est monté un small-bloc Chevy Corvette 327ci alimenté par 3 carburateurs Stromberg ’97. La transmission est une PowerGlide à deux vitesses.


La carrosserie est un mélange de contre-plaqué et de fibre de verre avec un design volontairement asymétrique, montée sur un châssis de ’56 Chevy modifié avec un train avant de T’Bucket, tandis que les 4 freins sont des tambours prélevés sur une Buick ! Les jantes sont des « Astro » chromées. Roth a toujours regretté d’avoir couvert le moteur.


Le capot est en fibre de verre avec l’intérieur brut, de sorte qu’il était toujours fermé pour des questions esthétiques… de sorte que le moteur chromé et peint n’a jamais été mis en valeur. En fait, Paul Mc Cartney devait traverser la scène dans l’Orbitron avec Ringo à ses cotés… et ils n’ont pas réussi à mettre le moteur en marche, oubliant qu’il ne fallait pas tourner la clé, mais appuyer sur un bouton… Autres caractéristiques clés, la bulle acrylique, la peinture flashy « bonbon bleu » et un intérieur en fourrure.


Le véhicule a été terminé en avril 2008 et est ici présenté en première européenne !

orbitron002 orbitron001
orbitron003 orbitron004
orbitron005 orbitron006



orbitron009


Galpin Auto Sports, situé au 15600 Roscoe Blvd. à Van Nuys, Californie s’est spécialisé dans la personnalisation de tous les véhicules neufs et d’occasion, y compris les voitures de collection… 

Galpin Motors est le plus grand distributeur Ford pour la 18e année consécutive et a été fondé en 1946. Galpin est composé d’une famille de marques dont : Ford, Aston Martin, Jaguar, Honda, Lincoln, Mercury, Mazda, Volvo et Saturn.

orbitron020 orbitron021
orbitron016 orbitron022
orbitron018 orbitron017

Dans les années 1960, Roth était au sommet de sa gloire, vendant dans le monde entier, des millions de t-shirts décorés du motif de ses créations automobiles.
C’est alors que la firme « Revell kits » lui offrit un pont d’or afin de re-créer ses véhicules en maquettes plastiques sur la base de ses propres dessins et créations.
Au fil des années, il a travaillé avec une variété de personnages marquants de la « Kustom Kulture », de vraies icônes vivantes, dont Robert Williams, Ed « Newt » Newton (qui a réalisé les premiers croquis de l’Orbitron au « Pasadena Art Center », une école réputée de Design automobile) et surtout Von Dutch…
ces deux artistes travaillant de concert pour la réalisation du « Brucker Movie World », un parc à thème familial, très connu en Californie dans les années 1970.


orbitron026 orbitron027

  



 
Avatar

Virginie Maneval

Je suis la Fille de Jean Benjamin Maneval, célèbre architecte urbaniste qui a notamment créé la Bulle Six Coques, une maison en plastique des années pop. Vous pouvez aussi me retrouver sur ma page Facebook Bubblemania.fr ou sur ma page La Bulle Six Coques de Jean Benjamin Maneval.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *